Erlanger Health System Employee Reviews about "level 1 trauma"

Updated Sep 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 247 reviews

3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Erlanger Health System CEO William Jackson
William Jackson
31 Ratings
Pros
  • "Life at a level 1 trauma center is rough no matter what you do there(in 9 reviews)

  • "Erlanger is the premier level 1 trauma center in downtown Chattanooga(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "HR doesn’t want to help employees, pay isn’t very good for the job you do, not enough quality help and always short staffed(in 12 reviews)

  • "High turnover with patient care techs(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Erlanger Health System and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "level 1 trauma"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      High pressure but good people

      Aug 14, 2013 - Resident in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Life at a level 1 trauma center is rough no matter what you do there. However it also attracts some of the best professionals there are.

      Cons

      Stress levels run high and there aren't many outlets to get it out.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good intent, poor execution

      Sep 22, 2020 - Clinical Staff Leader RN in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      level 1 trauma center, keeps you on your toes

      Cons

      No pay raise for non benefited positions even if performance continuesly improves. Not always keep their promises.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Struggling to maintain staff

      Sep 5, 2020 - Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Level 1 trauma center that provides experience deal with a massive variety of patients

      Cons

      Low pay Difficulty keeping staff Unsafe patient ratios

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Best hospital in Chattanooga!

      Oct 6, 2014 - Surgery in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We are a level 1 trauma center and a teaching hospital. We have the number one stroke center in the Southeast. I love the fact that we are constantly striving to improve patient care and surgical procedures. Our current CEO has turned this hospital around from serious challenges. Our atmosphere is one of "it is okay to ask questions, we rather you ask than make a mistake". I love that. Great health benefits, some of the most affordable I know of. Employee benefits like insurance, retirement accounts etc are really good.

      Cons

      the culture is still in transformation with our new leadership. There is a lingering mistrust of the upper management but I believe that in time it will lessen. certain departments of hospital seem less organized than others.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Low salary, few perks

      Jan 7, 2015 - RN in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The coworkers are generally great to work with, as are the doctors. Challenging level 1 trauma. Making a difference to some of the poorest people in the region.

      Cons

      Management, no doubt. Low salaries, despite challenging environment at a level one trauma center. Zero paid holidays, you're forced to use PTO anytime you take off, even during holidays when your department is closed. Management makes ridiculous salaries and bonuses while RNs have lowest salaries in the region. They act like they're doing you a huge favor giving 1-2% raise every few years. The only perks come from other companies in the area which offer discounts to erlanger employees.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Unfortunate treatment of employees

      Nov 24, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work and wonderful resources. Erlanger is the premier level 1 trauma center in downtown Chattanooga. If you want to learn and see new and exciting things each day, its the place to work.

      Cons

      Erlanger is first to cut benefits, pay, and overtime opportunities. While I was employed there they froze PTO accrual, stopped overtime opportunities and defaulted on raises. Erlanger continues to cut employee benefits on grounds of financial difficulty while launching numerous multimillion dollar expansion and building projects.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Not great for nursing

      Feb 14, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Level 1 trauma nursing experience

      Cons

      High Nurse to patient ratio with high acuity patients, Management doesn’t step in to help, Always short staffed, they expect you to come in on the day of a funeral(literally they didn’t understand why I couldnt), parking is awful and unsafe at that ……………… not to mention their security guards are not even armed! So, that doesn’t help with any of the safety issues/concerns. I could go on and on,but you get the point......

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Never Work Here Unless You are Upper Management

      Jun 22, 2017 - Registered Nurse in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the coworkers are amazing. Teaching hospital and level 1 so loads of experience. Residents are great to have around 24/7.

      Cons

      Erlanger pays as little as it can get by with. They have pulled the rug out from the staff and retirees because of "too little profit" only to give that money in the form of huge bonuses to upper management. So obviously, moral is not good. Management literally *times* how long it takes you to do certain things, from housekeeping on up and you then have to document why it took you longer if you miss by a few minutes. Because we all know there are never any interruptions/ snark. I worked as an RN for a couple of decades there, btw. At one time I was proud to work there. Now they treat the staff like numbers, expect you to do the job of 3 people and not make mistakes, and the system for charting and giving drugs, etc is the most incompetent program I've ever seen or dealt with. Management most assuredly finds ways to get rid of the staff that have been there the longest, especially when they still paid a small pension (which they don't anymore.) Those RN's who are higher on the pay scale will be replaced with a new grad gleefully. For example, if you are out sick/call in more than 4 times in 2, yes 2 years, you are fired. Nurses are expected to be PCT's, secretaries as well. I am certainly ready to help with anything, even housekeeping if my work is done. My point is they won't hire enough staff to keep the unit, equipment, and patients clean, but anytime there is an infection, it's because the nurse didn't wash their hands. They actually have spies to watch you as you go in and out of rooms. But no one goes in and sees you wash your hands in front of the patient, so you get dinged for not using that horrible skin splitting alcohol rub from the bottle outside the room. We had some PRN nurses who also travelled, worked strikes, worked places like Grady in ATL, hospitals similar in NYC, LA, Philly... while on strike! and said it wasn't as hard as working at Erlanger. If you can work here, you can work anywhere, so don't let them take your confidence away when they tell you what a bad job you do. That's how they keep the staff that don't move on. Bust their self esteem up and make them think they could never get another job and how lucky they are to have the one they have.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Not what I thought it would be

      May 26, 2015 - Patient Care Technician in Chattanooga, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      ~ Level 1 trauma center. ~ Lots of different areas to work in

      Cons

      ~ Way underpaid. Almost insulting. ~ They are so understaffed that there is no quality patient care. Nurses and tech have to many patients to fulfill each one's needs.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Erlanger Health System Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Erlanger Health System? Share Your Experiences

    or