Esri Reviews | Glassdoor

Esri Reviews

Updated May 3, 2017
81 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Esri President Jack Dangermond
Jack Dangermond
62 Ratings

81 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • average salary, not a great career path of upward mobility (in 30 reviews)

  • No career growth unless you chart your own course (in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Great company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Esri full-time

    Pros

    The teams are great and everyone seems committed to the work, the company, and their colleagues. You can volunteer to take on new projects and work with multiple departments to learn new skills.

    Cons

    It's busy with new projects and changes arising every week. If you aren't flexible or don't want a challenge, this isn't the place for you.

    Esri Response

    Mar 1, 2017

    We agree! It's exciting that we have the opportunity to collaborate with interesting colleagues around the world. Thank you for noting that we can define our own career path by taking on new ... More


  2. "HR Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Recruiter in Redlands, CA
    Current Employee - Human Resources Recruiter in Redlands, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Esri full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    private ownership, fantastic benefits, great people

    Cons

    None that i can think of at this time

    Advice to Management

    Never had a down year...keep doing what you are doing

    Esri Response

    May 12, 2017 – Esri

    We appreciate your feedback! Thank you for your 10+ years of service.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "a pretty sweet place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Redlands, CA
    Current Employee - Business Development in Redlands, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Esri full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, laid back, family oriented, closely working together and great communication

    Cons

    average salary, not a great career path of upward mobility


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great company-- the only limit is your energy level and willingness to build great connections and business"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Owner in Redlands, CA
    Former Employee - Product Owner in Redlands, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Esri full-time

    Pros

    Freedom to build the products and business that the market wants. You'll notice lots of 20-30 year employees, So once you start you may find yourself staying.

    Cons

    Lots freedom means lots of ambiguity.... if you don't like the sound of that, well...also, may be a struggle to get the human resources you need when working in new markets

    Esri Response

    Mar 1, 2017

    Thank you for your feedback. Best of luck in your future endeavors!


  6. "Positive experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Engineer in Redlands, CA
    Former Employee - Product Engineer in Redlands, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great company culture
    ESRI is hoping to hire interns full-time
    A lot of other interns which gives you a community of people to explore the area with
    Professional development and commitment to intern experience (including a few staff members dedicated to you)

    Cons

    Hard to get an internship as an undergrad mostly dedicated for people who could easily get full-time jobs elsewhere
    Redlands, though it has its redeeming qualities, doesn't have too too much to offer

    Advice to Management

    Try to modernize. I know that it's not necessarily fair but comparable companies have cool couches, ping pong tables and things like that. ESRI has a lot of cubicles.

    Esri Response

    Jan 18, 2017 – Human Resources

    We're so thrilled you had such a great #esriexperience! We're taking applications now for this summer's internship program, so if you know someone who may be a fit have them check out ... More


  7. Helpful (5)

    "It's a love/hate relationship at times, but mostly love!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Engineer in Redlands, CA
    Current Employee - Product Engineer in Redlands, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Esri full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    If you are driven and take pride in your work and want to make Quality software for millions of users, then this is a place to thrive. If you want to blend in and be beige like the building interior colors you can probably do that too and make a good living, but you will be noticed as such by your colleagues, rather than by the flat management structure (some of us call this culture). I'm sure you've all read reviews that were negative, but this place is really fantastic. My bosses always told me to make my own career here and that is what I've tried to do. It's worked out for me.

    -Benefits are great as well.

    Cons

    You accrue vacation instead of just getting 4 weeks on Jan 1 every year.

    There are some politics, but they aren't like national politics so it's not that hard to maneuver with common sense approaches.

    Advice to Management

    Compensate the 20% of R&D that actually puts the effort in (works at midnight or code freeze times or meets deadlines and deliverables consistently) to make the products we sell. I'm tired of losing friends to Google or Amazon or whoever else is huge and pays better.

    Esri Response

    Dec 16, 2016 – Human Resources

    We appreciate your feedback. Your comment about making your own career at Esri is on point. It's rewarding to be in an environment where we have the opportunity to really focus on work we enjoy ... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Loved it"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Redlands, CA
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Redlands, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Esri full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Learned a lot working there. Good people. Good work life balance. Lots of opportunities to take on new interesting work.

    Cons

    They're a little below the industry average for software engineer pay. But really it was worth it for what I learned there and for the mellow atmosphere.

    Esri Response

    Nov 9, 2016 – Human Resources

    We're so happy to hear you had a great experience while working here! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and best of luck in your new career endeavor.


  9. "Summer Intern"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Redlands, CA
    Former Employee - Intern in Redlands, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Esri (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - cohesive intern class
    - great town to live in
    - work environment was flexible
    - interns were entrusted with meaningful work

    Cons

    - As far as I was concerned there is nothing worth mentioning in this section.

    Esri Response

    Oct 26, 2016 – Human Resources

    Great to hear! And your experience of having meaningful work is something we strive for with all our interns. Whether it's building a new app or seeing their work on the plenary stage in front of ... More


  10. "Great Place"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Product Engineer Intern in Redlands, CA
    Former Employee - Product Engineer Intern in Redlands, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The work environment is friendly and productive. There is a real connection to the users and it makes the work feel meaningful and fulfilling. The management is flat so it is fairly easy to have ideas heard. All teams practice scrum.

    Cons

    It can take a little time to get introduced to the product. Redlands is a nice town but it can get a little hot in the summer and it never rains.

    Advice to Management

    I don't really have much to say other than keep it up. It clear that Esri has shaped the GIS community and that wouldn't have been the case if Esri didn't focus so much on what the users want. Overall, I think Esri does a great job listening.

    Esri Response

    Sep 28, 2016 – Human Resources

    We're glad to hear your internship experience was a great one! Thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments. Good luck in your future career endeavors.


  11. Helpful (1)

    "Great employer. Determine your own future"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Manager in Redlands, CA
    Current Employee - Technical Manager in Redlands, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Esri full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Self initiated. Very little handholding Can take on addl tasks or responsibilities to make yourself more aware of cross functional teams and begin building your reputation as a problem solver

    Cons

    You take control yourself - fine for most of us that are mature enough to do so Some of the newer staff expect a "career path" but the entire company is yours to excel in

    Advice to Management

    More regular company briefings would be good

    Esri Response

    Sep 28, 2016 – Human Resources

    We agree! One of the rewards of being an Esri employee is the ability to work on projects of interest that will help us grow as individuals while contributing to business needs. Thank you for taking ... More


Showing 81 of 478 reviews
Reset Filters