Essence Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

Essence Communications Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Michelle Ebanks
5 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant to the President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Essence Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dynamic group of people, always making the impossible happen, led by the President, one of the most dynamic women I've met to date. She is completely hands on and cares about the people working with her. Feels like family with a purpose.

    Cons

    Working miracles with minimal staff. So much more could be accomplished if there were more staff on board.

    Advice to Management

    Keep everyone motivated with more perks and acknowledgements.

    Essence Communications2014-11-18
  2. "Disorganized Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Essence Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Snacks in the kitchen. Impromptu happy hours.

    Cons

    No clear strategy. Top down. Employees below VP not valued.

    Advice to Management

    Stop thinking only your ideas matter. Create an org structure. Share a strategic plan.

    Essence Communications2019-08-14
  3. Helpful (2)

    "RUN."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Essence Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The name Essence Magazine is the only pro.

    Cons

    Unprofessional from beginning to the end.

    Essence Communications2019-06-29
  4. "Like a family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Art Director in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Essence Communications full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very fun, jokes and friends

    Cons

    Lacking Growth Opportunities, far from city

    Essence Communications2019-01-25
  5. "Executive Assistantant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Essence Communications full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This company gave me a great opportunity to advance my skill set. Very project oriented environment and the management team worked close with the staff. Best work experience I ever had.

    Cons

    I worked there for 18 years. It was very hard to get an official management position before I left.

    Advice to Management

    You should look within your staff to promote. You trained many good people, but you tend to overlook them.

    Essence Communications2016-04-20
  6. "Digital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Essence Communications for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Got to pitch and write various news stories. The staff is absolutely amazing, Def a family environment and great snacks from top executives every Friday. Great structure

    Cons

    The boss worked with was a diva. You work hard to please but everyday their attitude was different

    Advice to Management

    Some staff are included in the magazine but it makes others feel as if they are not worthy. You should rotate and not use your same favorites

    Essence Communications2015-11-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Essence Communications full-time

    Pros

    ESSENCE is well known in the industry and is great to have on your resume. Lots of perks including meeting celebrities and being at the hub of music, fashion and entertainment if that's your thing.

    Cons

    CATTY CATTY CATTY! Professionalism goes straight out the door in certain departments and its almost embarrassing that grown women can be so petty. Also, they promise a lot more than than can offer ( advancement, salary, etc) so come in with a personal plan and execute.

    Advice to Management

    Managers should have people skills.

    Essence Communications2015-09-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Image is everything; substance sometimes falters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Essence Communications full-time

    Pros

    The teams are very dedicated to nurturing and promoting the brand as the premier publication for African American women. They work very hard and are loyal overall.

    Cons

    There is definitely an underlying political power struggle because the company leader has created an environment of ultimate control. You are either one of "her people" or an outcast.

    Advice to Management

    Stop leading by tacit fear and stop worrying about advancing your agenda and legacy. Think about being more fair and open to ideas that may not always put you in the most favorable light.

    Essence Communications2014-08-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Essence Magazine Is a Decent Place to Work for One Year or Less . . . But Don't Stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Essence Communications

    Pros

    Great camaraderie with fellow employees. I worked at Essence for several years, and during that time, I had great relationships with colleagues who still remain friends

    Cons

    The editor in chief fires people frequently, and that, of course, creates an environment of uncertainty and anxiety. I know that the editor is on a firing rampage because of general budget cutbacks in the industry and because of the sour economy, but nonetheless, it's quite stressful to feel as if a pink slip is coming at any moment.

    Advice to Management

    After each wave of layoffs, stop reassuring employees that there will be no more pink slips! Also, give your writers more lead time on their stories. In general, the senior management should be personable and friendly to the employees.

    Essence Communications2008-12-15
  10. "its not the right place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Noida
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Essence Communications for less than a year

    Pros

    nothing, food, less work, less time, no tax paying

    Cons

    dirty politics, low salary, work is acknowledged

    Advice to Management

    manage a hierarchy

    Essence Communications2016-05-08
Found 12 reviews