Essence Group - Missouri Reviews | Glassdoor

Essence Group - Missouri Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
W. Michael Long
6 Ratings
  1. "Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sale Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Essence Group - Missouri full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great company, patient satisfaction is a number one priority. Sales reps were rewarded for exceptional performance. I always had a sense of pride for this company, their service to patients and their healthcare plans. We were a close knit team and we always had access to upper management if needed. They really listened to our ideas and encouraged feedback to improve.

    Cons

    Unfortunately the positions in the area were eliminated.

    Essence Group - Missouri2013-08-14
  2. "Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Essence Group - Missouri full-time

      Pros

      Very good company to work for.

      Cons

      Management not up to the task.

      Advice to Management

      Improve your hiring practices.

      Essence Group - Missouri2016-08-27
    • "Good Industry, Bad Leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Essence Group - Missouri full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Casual work attire and improved office decor

      Cons

      Everything but the casual work attire

      Advice to Management

      Longivity doesn't equate to effectiveness

      Essence Group - Missouri2014-04-26
    • Helpful (3)

      "Spare yourself the pain - Avoid Essence Healthcare/Lumeris (LHO) if you have any IT skills"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maryland Heights, MO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Essence Group - Missouri full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Some nice people work here and it's small enough that you get exposed to lots of different areas. Cafeteria is pretty good and reasonable prices

      Cons

      Direction from managers is contradictory. Processes are poor and lack 'maturity'. Areas cannot work together. Employees who 'don't work well with others' are tolerated and given free reign. The organization cannot 'learn' from past mistakes and seemingly simple tasks are difficult. I.T. is not this hard. Health benefits are the worst I have ever seen ($5000 deductible). 401k getting worse in 2014. Wouldn't know a...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Clean up your IT management and listen to the professional staffers. Live the values that you claim to embrace. Have your benefits reflect this. Get HR to perform their benefits / training / recruiting functions. Maybe this would reduce the rampant turnover.

      Essence Group - Missouri2014-01-11
    • Helpful (2)

      "High turnover, terrible health benefits, terrible 401k benefits, constantly changing corporate vision"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Essence Group - Missouri full-time

      Pros

      You get paid for filling a cubicle, and mid-level managers smile at you and say good morning, but rarely mean it because there are so many daily fires to put out

      Cons

      The benefits are diminishing quickly, wasteful spending on projects, mid-high level managers never leave, everyone beneath them leaves out of frustration with seeing no changes. I'll be leaving soon.

      Advice to Management

      Start holding your mid to high level managers accountable. Good people have been coming and going for years, working under bad mid-level managers who always have a reason as to why they're not the source of the problem. You can't expand a business on managers who are content with just being average.

      Essence Group - Missouri2013-12-21
    • Helpful (1)

      "Nice Place - Poor Benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Health Plan Employee in Saint Louis, MO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Essence Group - Missouri full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      There is a decent cafeteria in the building. The lower level employees are generally nice and we all complain about the same things. It's comfortable.

      Cons

      The new health plans for employees for 2014 are awful. Management doesn't care. The Lumeris people in the building all complain too. There are much better places to work.

      Advice to Management

      If you are going to be a health insurance company, you should have better health insurance for your employees. The ones you just offered are not in line with other area employers. I'll be leaving soon.

      Essence Group - Missouri2013-11-22
    • "Exciting Company with a Great Mission!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Essence Group - Missouri full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      This company has a very fast paced environment, very challengingand exciting. The company employs incredibly intelligent and motivated people. They have done a great job finding top talent across the country.

      Cons

      Because of the ever changing landscape of the Healthcare market the company moves very fast and it can be hard to keep up at times.

      Advice to Management

      The drive of the executive team is invigorating and motivating to the organziation keep up the good work.

      Essence Group - Missouri2013-07-09
    • "Fantabulous Work Place ever Worked - unfortunately had Relocated to another City for my Fiancee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee -  in San Diego, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Essence Group - Missouri full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Congenial Work Place. Better Benefits with Pay and Techinically Challenging assignments for employees .CoWorkers were very submissive and adept at problem solving skills. Professional Ettiquette,ethics at its best in this Organization.Logical and completely unbiased decision-making.Properly engaged employees to meet company goals with a sense of belonging.

      Cons

      Lack of team building activities which fosters relationship between employees and bridge gaps to enhance the ease of communication.

      Advice to Management

      Though it was Organized well to certain extent but still it should actively promote Organization effectiveness and should focus on create strong team environment.

      Essence Group - Missouri2013-06-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "No work / life balance"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Essence Group - Missouri full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Smart and talented coworkers. Relax dress code. Pay and benefits okay. Access to a lot of new technologies. Free gym in other building. No assigned parking.

      Cons

      Weekend work is the rule, not the exception. High turnover. Projects are poorly planned.

      Advice to Management

      Stop 70 hour weeks.

      Essence Group - Missouri2013-05-20
    • Helpful (3)

      "Decent Pay, Great People, No Respect"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sr in Saint Louis, MO
      Doesn't Recommend
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Essence Group - Missouri full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Decent pay. Work with current technology. There were a lot of great people. The cubes are a great size and the office is clean. They did a lot of activities throughout the year to keep people interested.

      Cons

      Few respect for employee personal time. It's very common to work through the weekend and late nights with very little notice. Senior management kept spinning the same message that an end was in sight. Hard work not recognized and people with no clue get promoted. Frequent drama.

      Advice to Management

      Slow down and pay attention. CARE about people as they're not just a goat to be used.

      Essence Group - Missouri2013-04-23
    Found 12 reviews