Essence Healthcare Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
40%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Essence Healthcare President and CEO Richard Jones (no image)
Richard Jones
16 Ratings
  1. "Best medicare plan with a company who truly cares about their clients"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Lynnwood, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Essence Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great training, great management fun company....and my pay checks were amazing!

    Cons

    The company pulled out of Washington State and laid everyone off!

    Essence Healthcare2018-05-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Needs Help"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Administrator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Essence Healthcare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you know how to stay off the radar, you can work forever and just collect a paycheck, if that's what you are looking for.

    Cons

    Too many leaders that have no idea what they are doing or how to manage people. Everything is a fire drill and everyone is too busy to notice or care that everyone is miserable and just trying to find a way out. And just because they are working so frantically hard doesn't mean they are actually getting anything done, they are just being frantic.

    Continue reading
    Essence Healthcare2019-10-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "developer"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Essence Healthcare part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good to work, co-workers are helpful

    Cons

    no compensations and wfh options

    Essence Healthcare2018-12-20
  4. Helpful (2)

    "No loyalty"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Correspondent Coordinator in Maryland Heights, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Essence Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People in Claims Department extremely nice.

    Cons

    Was in a serious car accident which required months of inpatient and rehab treatment then company let me go for no good reason.

    Continue reading
    Essence Healthcare2018-05-17
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Don't bother"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Essence Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Cafe and free parking. Most coworkers are good people.

    Cons

    Pay and merit increases not competitive

    Continue reading
    Essence Healthcare2018-03-28
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Run, run far, run fast in the opposite direction of this employer"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Essence Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    The pay checks cleared the bank

    Cons

    The management is reminescent of Spanky and Our Gang. Who wants to be leader this time? Human resources is a joke on the order of a daytime serial soap opera. There is a revolving door for all employees who actually attempt to contribute to building the company into something worthwhile and reputable. The core group of 'management' makes certain that anyone who finds an error that is potentially embarrassing to their department or the company is given menial tasks then has their job eliminated. That just leaves the incompetents and yes men to do the work so nothing ever really changes. The pay is decent on first glance but the daily nastiness and back stabbing an employee has to deal with makes it totally not worthwhile.

    Continue reading
    Essence Healthcare2018-01-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service representative"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Essence Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity to work form home and flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Salary not competitive with job duties... ie leg work for each dept basically doing all the work for each dept for them getting paid less and the dept you are doing the leg for makes more money and don't really have to do anything by the time CRR's route the call the dept such as Grievances, Appeals and Enrollment

    Essence Healthcare2017-10-08
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Medical Service Rep"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Essence Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company really cares for their members. Company did get 1st in Klas.

    Cons

    Raises are yearly and for hourly employees, you get pennies. Insurance is horrible!

    Essence Healthcare2017-06-23
  9. "Review previous employment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Practice Workflow Specialist in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Essence Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team work, great compensation, great benefits

    Cons

    Limited personal interaction in this role, I enjoy personal interaction

    Essence Healthcare2017-01-31
  10. "5 Star plan - 5 star rating"

    5.0
    Benefits Specialist in Maryland Heights, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Essence Healthcare for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked in sales department. Managers and team was exceptional. Felt welcome

    Cons

    None really. All is well here.

    Continue reading
    Essence Healthcare2016-12-06
Found 27 reviews