Essence Photo & Video Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
87%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Essence Photo & Video President Michael Gajewski (no image)
Michael Gajewski
7 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    Great Experience

    Jul 2, 2019 - Lead Photographer in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Essence is organized and matches the client to the photographer very well.

    Cons

    They are limited in their ability to increase pay.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Contractor, more than 3 years

    Good place to shoot weddings

    Jul 5, 2012 - Wedding Photographer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Plenty of work, as photographer shot over 30 weddings a year for 4 years until I had to move to Dallas, pay was always on time, pay by the day not the hour which I liked. Very fun people to work with but yet had zero tolerance for sloppy work and mistakes which is vital in the wedding industry - it's someone's wedding after all! Very low turnover so you got to know and work with a very experience bunch of photographers. Company does only weddings so has lots of good techniques.

    Cons

    The place had hardly any turnover but if a photographer got "burned out" they were asked to leave right away, leaving some hard feelings in a couple of cases but I was more on Essence side casue again it is someone's wedding we are talking about. Another thing that was bad but important to do is they asked the photographers to catalog, organize and edit their photos before turning in which some photographers might think is busy work.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Former Employee

    I worked for Essence For 2 yrs and LOVED my job!

    Nov 9, 2016 - Office Assistant/Trade Show Sales in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They are family owned and truly care about the staff and the customers. I really felt like part of the family. I worked in the office part of the time and also worked a lot of the wedding trade shows. The pay was excellent and I would still be working there if I hadn't gotten busier at my full time job. I still refer my brides from the salon to Essence for their wedding photos.

    Cons

    I really can't think of any cons... they do expect you to work hard and do the very best for the customer but that is not really a con, it is just how things should be done :)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    I worked there for 5 years

    Feb 6, 2014 - Photographer in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They are family owned and are very nice to work with

    Cons

    they train and expect a lot to make the bride happy

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Contractor, more than 10 years

    Great Family owned studio

    Mar 31, 2017 - Senior Photographer in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I shot for Essence for nearly 12 years and one of the reasons I stayed so long was because I always felt like I was being supported by the owners. Even when the economy wasn't doing so well they always kept me booked and the paychecks always arrived on time. It's a really great company for young and hungry photographers to get their footing in the industry.

    Cons

    photographers are responsible for for editing their own weddings. Some people prefer this but it really eats up a lot of time for no additional pay.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Contractor

    Photobooth Operator

    Oct 15, 2017 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a photo booth operator I was responsible for picking up the photo booth, driving to the wedding venue, setting up the booth, operating the booth, putting together the photo album and handing it to the bride near the end of the wedding. Once you're all set up, it's really easy work and most people going in the photo booth are happy and having a good time. Plus you get to watch the progression of alcohol during the wedding and it's hilarious. The company itself was very relaxed (good or bad)

    Cons

    - Drunk photo booth users seldom get a little to rowdy and difficult to deal with - Often unclear instructions on where to set up photo booth in venue - Having to drive long distances to venues - late nights

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Satisfactory

    Dec 27, 2010 -  in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people at Essence are great to work with and be around. They provide superior customer service and strive to ensure customers are satisfied and receive a quality product.

    Cons

    There is no level for monetary growth. Unless you are a manager, pay is hourly and minimum wage. Great company to gain experience, but not to stay at in the long run.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Contractor, more than 3 years

    A great place to work!

    Mar 30, 2018 - Videographer in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Relaxed, easygoing management. Good communication. Free meals at weddings.

    Cons

    Sometimes my feet would hurt from standing all day.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Not a good company

    Jan 7, 2011 - Videographer/Editor in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Technically in my field I went to college for. Pay can be ok if you're willing to put in extra work.

    Cons

    Dishonest people overall. Are constantly looking for ways to replace you with an intern or someone extremely cheaper. No benefits, very little pay. Not a very good place to work for will take advantage of you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Assembly Line

    Nov 11, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere where middle management tries their best to take care of new hires. They are pretty up-front about the fast turn over rate.

    Cons

    Shady business practices where corners are cut at every opportunity. There is no sense of loyalty or better business practices.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 11 Reviews

Popular Careers with Essence Photo & Video Job Seekers

Photographer
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Essence Photo & Video? Share Your Experiences

Essence Photo & Video logo
or