Essendant Customer Service Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Essendant Customer Service Representative Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Essendant CEO Ric Phillips (no image)
Ric Phillips
2 Ratings
  1. "I worked for United Stationers, now Essendant, I love the company and would recommend it to anyone seeking employment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in City of Industry, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with and would love to work for them again.

    Cons

    There are no down sides None.

    Advice to Management

    Always had a good relationship with Management, work well with all, they listen when I had any questions, they help to make my job easier.

    Essendant2019-10-04
  2. "Not a bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good working hours. good staff. good management

    Cons

    low-end wages. not much growth. not many incentives opportunities. Changes to the company mean I had to take advantages of more secure opportunities

    Essendant2019-02-03
  3. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dedicated Customer Service Representative in Greenville, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Essendant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great support from supervisors and leads. Work environment is fun, everyone gets along and is helpful. Awesome benefits, vacation days, etc. Pay is decent.

    Cons

    Not many opportunities to move up.

    Essendant2017-10-19
  4. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Suwanee, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    weekly pay, great product purchase discount

    Cons

    Micro management, distrust , low employee morale, gossiping managers

    Advice to Management

    Hire people that your employees can trust that have an education and professionalism

    Essendant2017-07-19
  5. "Good Company, Dramatic Call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Suwanee, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great insurance, paid days off, alot of potlucks and holiday meals, off on weekends

    Cons

    very messy as far as gossiping and shady management. the supervisors are not professional, very catty enviornment

    Advice to Management

    be more professional, lead by example, dont be shady and send subliminal emails to employees also care for your associates more

    Essendant2017-01-09
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Don;t Waste Your Time- Customer Care Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Suwanee, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time

    Pros

    They have great benefits, A very nice building a stocked break room and seem to be growing... Security at the door is friendly and very helpful.Customer Care Associate also only work Monday thru Friday and that is a plus.

    Cons

    They hired me and the on-boarding was a little different. Never heard of a company that wants your have school diploma if you have a college degree. And they have a company doing the background check but you have to produce this diploma on your own.Then you take the standard drug tests, background check etc. You go to training and now the fun begins. We were tested on our second day of training on their systems.... Not only were we not supplied with the manuals that we were told would be used for the testing but never during the interview process or the in the offer letter are you told you have to take these tests and pass them with a score of 85 during training; to be employed there..There are approximately 7 tests and you don't get your results in a timely manner.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change your hiring practices. It is unethical to bring people on board and not explain your process. People quit jobs and make other sacrifices to join your organization. To have a bomb dropped on them after they walk thru the door is "Unethical". It also shows you care nothing about the people you hire- "Just a Number"..It shows poor planning on your part.

    Essendant2016-07-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Poor Planning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    PTO time, no work on weekends or holidays. Company discount on basically everything. Free lunches and special events (before merger)

    Cons

    The transition after the merger was not smooth due to poor planning. Customers suffered in the process and employees were frustrated.

    Advice to Management

    None,

    Essendant2015-09-16
Found 7 reviews