Essendant Reviews | Glassdoor

Essendant Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 209 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Essendant CEO Ric Phillips (no image)
Ric Phillips
25 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great company to work for, great people and benefits(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good Benefits, relaxed and friendly atmosphere,(in 14 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working at Essendant was a rewarding experience for me. I worked with wonderful and supportive people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advertising Customer Ssqervice Specialist in Deerfield, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My positions lined up with interests.

    Cons

    Being laid off and no longer able to serve the company.

    Essendant2019-07-27
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Essendant full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The hours work for my family and I.

    Cons

    I've been here for a while. I really don't have anything that I think is grossly wrong.

    Essendant2019-09-04
  3. "Nice place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time

    Pros

    Strong, friendly company culture Good benefits

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    Essendant2019-08-16
  4. "Trending in the wrong direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wellness programs Employee interaction with colleagues Decent benefits Minimal micromanagement by direct supervisor My direct manager was an excellent coach, leader and manager. Extremely helpful and flexible with personal schedules and non work related familial issues. Would 100% work for him again in a revamped setting.

    Cons

    Very “cliquey” Limited to no work from home options due to megalomaniacal VP Extremely limited advancement opportunities No real path for people to advance Managers are entrenched and not advancing/leaving leading to no opportunities to advance themselves Salary is extremely below the national average for job title Commission is paid on profit, not sales, which VP controls. You have very little say in the... profit, thus handicapping your earning potential

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work from home is easiest benefit you can offer employees and it literally costs you nothing. Wanting people in a building everyday to “watch” them is a culture issue Salaries need drastic improvement and attention Reward top sales performers There are a lot of small things this company can do to fix its employee morale issues, they just choose not to. Since recent acquisition, the exodus of employees elsewhere... is incredibly telling, however egos prevail and no one sees it.

    Show More
    Essendant2019-08-16
  5. "Dedicate/Hard-worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Order Filler in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Essendant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the place is very laid back

    Cons

    its very,very,very hot and the pay raises are bad

    Advice to Management

    fright for better pay and raises so people wont quit

    Essendant2019-07-17
  6. "Great Company/ Rewards Hardwork"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outbound Order Picker/Reach Truck Driver 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Essendant full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overtime paid for time over 8 hours of work not for a full 40 hour work week. Great Benefits Plenty of time off

    Cons

    Very demanding goals Trains you as you go but has a long training period to make up for that.

    Essendant2019-07-09
  7. "Lots of changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, Project Management in Deerfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, good culture. Lots of empowerment and opportunities to make improvements.

    Cons

    New acquisition so lots of uncertainty.

    Essendant2019-06-20
  8. "Circling the drain. Stay away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Deerfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was decent. Nice manager and ability to work from home.

    Cons

    People are not on the same page, lots of in fighting. Dishonesty and lack of respect. Too siloed and not enough team collaboration. Even upper managers not empowered to make decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Do your job. Provide better training and mentoring. The only chance you have of succeeding is to be accountable and take ownership.

    Essendant2019-07-07
  9. "Essendant’s Failure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Support Specialist in Cranbury, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, relaxed and friendly atmosphere,

    Cons

    Conflicts in management techniques, most not very effective

    Advice to Management

    Managers need to be on the same page. That’s part of the companies downfall.

    Essendant2019-06-14
  10. "Better pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shipper in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Essendant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not really none but just the pay and vacation time

    Cons

    Management suck no raise high trunks over

    Essendant2019-05-28
Found 209 reviews