Essendant Reviews | Glassdoor

Essendant Reviews

Updated 15 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Essendant CEO Ric Phillips (no image)
Ric Phillips
27 Ratings
  1. "Essendant’s Failure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Support Specialist in Cranbury, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, relaxed and friendly atmosphere,

    Cons

    Conflicts in management techniques, most not very effective

    Advice to Management

    Managers need to be on the same page. That’s part of the companies downfall.

    Essendant2019-06-14
  2. "Circling the drain. Stay away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Deerfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay was decent. Nice manager and ability to work from home.

    Cons

    People are not on the same page, lots of in fighting. Dishonesty and lack of respect. Too siloed and not enough team collaboration. Even upper managers not empowered to make decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Do your job. Provide better training and mentoring. The only chance you have of succeeding is to be accountable and take ownership.

    Essendant2019-07-07
  3. "It was okay!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My direct supervisor was great and I had flexibility.

    Cons

    The company was not transparent, and there was concern of company stability.

    Essendant2019-05-23
  4. "Better pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shipper in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Essendant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not really none but just the pay and vacation time

    Cons

    Management suck no raise high trunks over

    Essendant2019-05-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Part/Full time job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Distribution Center Associate 
    Recommends

    I worked at Essendant part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The hours are great if you are a part time student. Even if working full time, hours are still great. Depending on what shift you take. Mornings are the best! Great Pay! Weekends off! Great Team!

    Cons

    A lot of the older employees can be bossy.

    Essendant2019-05-08
  6. "My experience here has been good so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Distribution Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Essendant full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Anything after 8 hours is overtime

    Cons

    No matter what your schedule says, you never know what time your going to get off

    Essendant2019-05-10
  7. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Easy work for the most part.

    Cons

    Weak managers who don’t enforce policy.

    Advice to Management

    Actually manage once in a while.

    Essendant2019-05-17
  8. "Category Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Category Manager in Deerfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, nice people

    Cons

    Management doesn’t care about the employees. Morale is at an all time low and HR is the most useless HR I have dealt with in my 20+ year tenure. When I left the company there was no exit interview, and no one gets one. You know what that says? They don’t care to get feedback to improve on anything, and they don’t care why people are leaving.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in better HR and start compensating employees for what they’re worth.

    Essendant2019-06-06
  9. "Great people to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Control in Greenville, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Essendant full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People, flexible in regards to time off.

    Cons

    Business not performing well, benefits average.

    Advice to Management

    Come up with a strategic plan to enhance business other than cutting costs.

    Essendant2019-04-25
  10. "Good warehouse experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Carol Stream, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, safety first work environment. Friendly co-workers. Decent management structure. A good overall experience if you are in the warehouse field.

    Cons

    Excessive mandatory same-day overtime. High turnover rate. Need to update the stable of order picker forklifts. At the end of the day, it is just a warehouse job.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out the problem of the high turnover rate of associates. Hire "better quality" workers.

    Essendant2019-04-07
Found 212 reviews