Essendant Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Essendant Reviews

Updated 15 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Essendant CEO Ric Phillips (no image)
Ric Phillips
27 Ratings
  1. "Warehouse Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carol Stream, IL

    I have been working at Essendant full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good PTO time and good hours for work pay lunch

    Cons

    Reviews cheap every year 3%

    Essendant2019-03-04
  2. "A great, traditional company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Deerfield, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people, very experienced team, very seasoned

    Cons

    The OP industry is struggling. The team can get stuck in their ways. They are hesitant to change.

    Advice to Management

    Try to remove as much bureaucracy and extra red tape as you can.

    Essendant2019-02-11
  3. "Not a bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good working hours. good staff. good management

    Cons

    low-end wages. not much growth. not many incentives opportunities. Changes to the company mean I had to take advantages of more secure opportunities

    Essendant2019-02-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "A/R"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deduction Analyst in Deerfield, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It was a decent, stable company back in the early 2000’s

    Cons

    The company culture is horrible. The A/R dept is run by petty people. It has a heavy HR presence, who justify their existence by encouraging people to report the silliest incidents. The lower levels in the company has low educated collections/deductions staff. Managers have “degrees” from trade schools, and have little polish. Highly political. You have to be prepared to be a “brown nose” in order to help... managers feel good about themselves.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat people with respect. Pay the money to get qualified people.

    Essendant2019-03-07
  5. "Uncertain times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in Carol Stream, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Essendant full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great People to work with

    Cons

    Uncertain future due to potential merger

    Advice to Management

    Keep the lines of communication open- especially when it comes to the merger. Silence doesn't ease the minds of the average associate and they don't all have access to internal communications.

    Essendant2019-01-27
  6. "Lots of OT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Bulk Picker in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Essendant for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benifits lots of time off if needed

    Cons

    High turn over meaning alwsys people getting trained...slows the flow

    Advice to Management

    Pay more on the hourto lower turnover rate

    Essendant2019-01-21
  7. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Essendant

    Pros

    worked from home , enjoyed helping small office supply dealers staff was friendly & helpful

    Cons

    Training was very minimum .. I felt my hands were tied waited for upper management to approve

    Advice to Management

    None

    Essendant2019-01-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "DON'T DO IT."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Essendant full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I don't work there anymore.

    Cons

    Everything from management, work space/load and equipment. Everyone back stabs each other to try and get ahead. Hardest workers get left with the most work. Management has their favorites, and they can do whatever they want.

    Advice to Management

    Quit

    Essendant2019-01-15
  9. "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Essendant

    Pros

    Good company to work with

    Cons

    No opportunity for growth in company.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Essendant2018-11-12
  10. "Better than most companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Deerfield, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Essendant for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture Coworkers were helpful Good team morale Positive environment Inclusive The office politics and backstabbing was very minimal compared to where I am now.

    Cons

    Lack of growth opportunists cause great talent to leave Dying industry Acquisitions

    Essendant2018-11-08
Found 212 reviews