Essex Property Trust Reviews

Updated Jul 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
90%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Essex Property Trust CEO       Michael Schall
Michael Schall
196 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes difficult to get support from upper management(in 28 reviews)

  • "Working the weekends is a must for leasing(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Essex Property Trust full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A lot of room for growth and development. Great culture and values. Motivated employees that want to impact change and provide great service.

    Cons

    Some people experience salary increase restrictions if in the same position for a long period of time.

    Essex Property Trust Response

    July 29, 2019Account Director

    Thank you so much for recognizing our commitment to growth opportunity, values and culture. We really appreciate the kind words and will continue to strive to provide the best culture in the industry. In light of that commitment, please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any recommendations for us. — Essex Human Resources.

  2. "Essex has provided me with a great career. Allowing me to grow by challenging me to be my best."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Oceanside, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Essex Property Trust full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We have a vision and adapt to change which keeps us strong and stable. I love the people I work with and that we impact customers lives. Nothing is more personal than where you choose to live.

    Cons

    Work life balance can be difficult at times.

    Continue reading
  3. "Essex A Great Company To Work for!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Specialist in Oceanside, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Essex Property Trust full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great pay, Amazing Benefits and they really care about there employees.

    Cons

    I have nothing Negative to say.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great and fun company to work at!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Specialist in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Essex Property Trust full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People, Benefits, Wages, Rewarding Work.

    Cons

    Working weekends, great PTO for those very important weekends you need off!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Training Department and Competitive Pay"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Specialist in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Essex Property Trust full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay, dedicated tenured employees. Always growing and looking toward to future. Not afraid to evolve in the technical arena.

    Cons

    Seem to have more than average upper management changes.

    Essex Property Trust Response

    June 26, 2020Account Director

    Thank you for recognizing our amazing training department. They work so hard to help our associates grow and evolve to keep pace with the technology in our industry. We truly have the best people in the industry and try to keep it that way with competitive compensation packages. If there’s ever anything we can do to better support you, please do not hesitate to reach out. — Essex Human Resources

  6. COVID-19

    "Good Place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Essex Property Trust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Stable company with solid culture in place Knowledgeable people across the teams who I constantly learn from Dynamic and diversified company, great place to gain experience Company is trying to improve benefits, such as recent 401K match increase

    Cons

    No downsides as of now

    Continue reading

    Essex Property Trust Response

    June 24, 2020Account Director

    We have extremely knowledgeable people with many years of experience in our industry. And we want to keep it that way by providing a great culture and being dynamic. Thank you for the kind review and please do not hesitate to reach out if you ever need something. — Essex Human Resources

  7. COVID-19

    "A company that actually cares"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Essex Property Trust full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A strong and compassionate leadership team

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is my commute

    Continue reading

    Essex Property Trust Response

    June 24, 2020Account Director

    Thank you for the kind words regarding our leadership team and for the years of service. We wish we could do something about the commute time, but we do very much appreciate all that you do for us. If there’s anything we can do to improve, please do not hesitate to reach out. — Essex Human Resources

  8. COVID-19

    "Great Workplace Culture that foster communication between teams and departments."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Accountant in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Essex Property Trust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great place to work and office encourages communication and team building between Accounting and other departments. -I was able to work in a great team that support each other and allow for flexible schedule when needed. -Management is adaptable. Adequate response during the Covid. Started with extra PTO for high risk employees and pre-planning work from home so that the disruption to work from home for office employees is minimal. -Annual award and team building events to help foster a closer working relationship with each other. -Office events like bagel Friday, monthly birthday celebration are great and allow me to interact with people from different departments. -They are working on documenting a lot of work process to help new hires. While it wasn't quite there when I joined, there is constant efforts to make improvements.

    Cons

    -Echoing another review, the compensation I think is quite competitive and there is annual growth in your wages. However, they are mostly incremental. But there is room for promotion and I have seem it happen quite often. But can take a while so make sure you give a fair assessment of your salary when you join and not undersell yourself.

    Continue reading

    Essex Property Trust Response

    June 24, 2020Account Director

    Thank you for the five-star review and for recognizing our focus on team building between departments. We have the best people in the industry and we want everyone to be able to work together efficiently and effectively. We are happy to hear our efforts are appreciated. We also want to make sure that everyone feels like there is opportunity for growth and have recently rolled out many initiatives to support this goal. Please reach out to HR if you have any other ideas/suggestions. — Essex Human Resources

  9. "Job Stability"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Fremont, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Essex Property Trust full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Place to work! Essex has the best job stability, a great work environment and great benefits.

    Cons

    Salary could be a little higher.

    Continue reading

    Essex Property Trust Response

    June 24, 2020Account Director

    Thank you for recognizing our work environment and benefits. We work hard to ensure we are offering a competitive compensation package. In fact, we have a Compensation Team that does market surveys frequently to ensure we remain competitive. We are also always open to speaking with our associates about concerns related to compensation. Please reach out to us as we’d like to learn more about your salary concerns when you have a moment. — Essex Human Resources

  10. Helpful (1)

    "So Far So.. Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Essex Property Trust full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *Great Work Ethic-Everyone is dedicated to what they do *No Micromanaging-As long as you do what you are supposed to Management is happy *The company makes sure to have plenty of Employee Recognition programs to keep us all motivated *Events are put together for all employees to get together and feel appreciated *CEO is super friendly *When reaching out to other depts for help they are always willing to teach and help

    Cons

    The ONLY con I can think of is the price of Healthcare. I hope that they look into better options for us. With everything that has happened in 2020 I think we would all rest easier knowing we could have great coverage at a better price

    Essex Property Trust Response

    June 18, 2020Account Director

    We are so happy that you joined our team and are having a positive experience in the early stages. We have focused extensively on that onboarding process and want every new associate to get off to a great start. Our people are the best in the industry and dedicated to our success, which makes it really important for us to recognize them and put together events that show how much we appreciate it all that they do. That’s also why our Compensation Team reviews market surveys on a frequent basis to make sure we remain competitive in areas like healthcare benefits. We are always open for feedback so please do not hesitate to reach out to us . Thank you — Essex Human Resources

Found 329 reviews