Cover image for Essex Property Trust
Logo
See All Photos

Essex Property Trust

Engaged Employer

Essex Property Trust

Add a Review

Essex Property Trust Reviews

Updated Feb 7, 2023

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 659 of over 673 reviews
4.1
80% Recommend to a Friend
Essex Property Trust CEO       Michael Schall
88% Approve of CEO

Found 659 of over 673 reviews

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Essex Property Trust CEO       Michael Schall
Michael Schall
418 Ratings

The latest conversations about Real Estate

Join the conversation on

Real Estate

1.3K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/real-estate-5/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Essex Property Trust~3630
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Essex Property Trust? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Essex Property Trust employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Essex Property Trust and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee
    Featured Review

    this is by far the best company i have worked for.

    Apr 11, 2022 - Maintenance Supervisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    medical benefits, retirement benefits, and wellness benefits

    Cons

    i have yet to find anything in this company that would be considered a con

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Essex Property Trust Response

    Sr. Human Resources Director

    Thank you for your positive review. We really appreciate it. If there is anything you feel we could improve on, please reach out.

  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Good company

    Feb 7, 2023 - Community Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good leadership and benefits. Good opportunities for growth

    Cons

    Property management has been tough due to the pandemic

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Essex Property Trust team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great Team and Rewarding Job

    Feb 6, 2023 - Director of Community Management in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Essex allows team members to take care of their customers. Providing housing and great service is a rewarding job over time. They grow the portfolio by building new communities, acquiring them and partnering with other developers. The constant growth allows for career growth for all associates. We have a many communities in each market, so it allows the teams to help each other when they are short staffed. This also allows for promotional opportunites in the same area - Most property Management promotions require you to move because buildings aren't close. Lots of support from Upper Management and a strong culture of collabortaion.

    Cons

    Long-time Upper Management has been turning over (retiring) the past few years, which is a bit scary, but it has all turned out okay so far.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Essex Property Trust Response

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We pride ourselves in ensuring growth is a part of our associate journey here at Essex. We will review your feedback with leadership and continue focusing on enhancing our associate's advancement and development. - Essex Human Resources.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great company with changes all for the better!

    Feb 2, 2023 - General Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Professional and considerate company to work for in the industry. - Amazing benefits including insurance, medical, vision, dental, 401K, EAP mental wellness, career apparel allowance, volunteer time off, wellness day off, and the list goes on. - Exceptional resources are provided to all employees. - Career development. It is an encouraged collaborative environment. - Environmental, social, and Governance conscious company. - Company culture is centered around integrity, mutual respect, passion, transparency, and trust. The company and employees truly live up to the company's expectations. - Work life balance is encouraged. - You will be recognized, rewarded, supported to continue ongoing education. - Customer centric to customers, associates, residents, and investors alike. - Diversity, equity, inclusion and belonging. Overall, I enjoy coming to work and working alongside my coworkers and higher ups. I am looking forward continuing my future with Essex Property Trust. I truly recommend this company to anyone looking to advance their career in the multifamily industry.

    Cons

    I do not have any at this time.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company With Opportunity to Grow in Your Career

    Feb 3, 2023 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started my career at Essex almost two years ago and it's been a great experience so far. I've learned a lot in my role and about the multifamily housing industry, and have had the opportunity to grow my skillset and learn new skills, which have positively impacted my time here.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons, but this might be a con for others. Be open to internal changes that may impact your role, etc. and be willing to adapt.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Essex Property Trust Response

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback, and we are happy to hear that you've enjoyed your experience thus far at Essex. We also understand there is always an opportunity to improve and will share your feedback with Sr. Leadership. - Essex Human Resources.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great company

    Jan 17, 2023 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Essex cares about the employees overall wellbeing. It's a company where you can stay and grow. The company is also doing great in its DEI journey.

    Cons

    Essex is headed in the right direction. And, I'd like to see the management continue to help our employees thrive.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Essex Property Trust Response

    Thank you for your positive feedback. - Essex Human Resources.

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Growth opportunities, great benefits, and excellent connections

    Dec 1, 2022 - Sr Assistant Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've had the pleasure of working at Essex since late 2016 with a year break in between. I love the people I work and have made so many connections from on-site property admin to corporate C-level employees. Essex offers so many growth opportunities and your managers will help you grow. Housing discount, medical, and education reimbursement are the few benefits I've taken advantage of. Employee referrals are also high! $1000!!!

    Cons

    It seems that our asset collection sites may need some time to fully transition effectively

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Essex Property Trust Response

    Thank you for the positive review. We appreciate the feedback. Human Resources Department.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work and growth

    Dec 1, 2022 - Community Relations Manager in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities to advance with the company if you set your goal to where you want to be. Essex is always acquiring more assets and providing ample tools and resources to the employees to be successful in their role.

    Cons

    Nothing to tell at this time

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Essex Property Trust Response

    Thank you for your kind words. If there is anything else we can do to enhance your experience, please do not hesitate to reach out. - Human Resources Department.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company!

    Nov 2, 2022 - Sr. Legal Secretary in San Mateo, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been working at Essex for a little over a year now and couldn't ask for a better place to work. I really enjoy working with my team. I have a great manager who truly cares. Essex cares and values their associates. They go above and beyond to address the concerns of their associates and make the needed changes to accommodate all. They genuinely embrace diversity and culture. They have various associate appreciation events. They have great benefits, competitive pay, bonuses and other amazing incentives. They offer a great work/life balance which is very important, especially in this day and age. I have never worked for a company before that goes so above and beyond to show how much they truly appreciate their associates.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons to speak of.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Essex Property Trust Response

    Thank you for the positive review. We appreciate the feedback.

  11. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing place to work! Couldn't be happier

    Nov 4, 2022 -  in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love working for Essex. In my first 30 days, I can tell you they have great people, they value life/work balance, they are inclusive and everything they do is with the associates in mind. It feels like a family, building relationships is something the company values. They are progressive and very advanced with the technology they use. I am excited for the future of work at Essex. Additionally, I am super excited about the DEI progress the company is making by appointing a female CEO next year.

    Cons

    I can't think of anything because I have only had pleasant experiences here. I feel like I belong here. Everyone has been so welcoming and it's a fun place to work.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Essex Property Trust Response

    Thank you for the great feedback, and welcome to Essex! We appreciate your kind words. If there is anything you need, we are here for you.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 659 Reviews
</>Embed

Essex Property Trust Reviews FAQs

Essex Property Trust has an overall rating of 4.1 out of 5, based on over 673 reviews left anonymously by employees. 80% of employees would recommend working at Essex Property Trust to a friend and 75% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Essex Property Trust employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.0 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Essex Property Trust. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

80% of Essex Property Trust employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Essex Property Trust 4.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.1 for culture and values and 4.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Essex Property Trust to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, management, compensation.

Popular Careers with Essex Property Trust Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Essex Property Trust? Share Your Experiences

Essex Property Trust logo
or

Essex Property Trust Careers

Cover image for Essex Property Trust

Our E-Team represents the core of Essex: strong, successful, driven, and passionate. If you’re a driver of progress and an out-of-the-box...More

  • Careers
  • New Lease on Life
  • Essex Next
  • Sustainability
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Essex Property Trust

6 days ago

Company News
As part of our continued commitment to fostering a more inclusive and equitable workplace, we’re proud to share our inclusion in the 2023 Bloomberg Gender-Equality Index for the second consecutive year! To learn more, visit https://www.bloomberg.com/gei
Shared image
Logo

Essex Property Trust

54 days ago

Company News
Taking care of our E-Team is one of our top priorities at Essex, which is why we recognize that mental well-being has never been more important to our overall health. We are excited to announce that as of December 13, we have added to our robust employee benefits with the addition of Spring Health. We are proud to provide high-quality mental health support for E-Team members and their families.
Shared image
See all

Essex Property Trust Photos

+ Add Photo
Essex Property Trust photo of: The E-Team!
Essex Property Trust photo of: Habitat for Humanity
Essex Property Trust photo of: Come Home...Relax
Essex Property Trust photo of: Agora Grand Opening
Essex Property Trust photo of: Thank you Maintenance Team
Essex Property Trust photo of: Welcome Home
Essex Property Trust photo of: Creating Better Communities
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Essex Property Trust Job Seekers Also Viewed

UDR Logo
UDR

3.8

452 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 673 Essex Property Trust reviews submitted anonymously by Essex Property Trust employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Essex Property Trust is right for you.