Cover image for Essia Health
Logo

Essia Health

Is this your company?

Essia Health

Add a Review

Essia Health Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2019

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 27 of over 30 reviews
3.4
62% Recommend to a Friend
58% Approve of CEO

Found 27 of over 30 reviews

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Essia Health CEO Matthew J. Kirchner (no image)
Matthew J. Kirchner
10 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

85.4K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Essia Health~805884
Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Great experience for pre-meds

    Jul 19, 2019 - Medical Scribe 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - good exposure to the field of medicine - good preparation for medical school - shift request system is intuitive and easy to use - coworkers and upper management very supportive

    Cons

    - steep learning curve, can be difficult for the first month

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    This was a great company until it was re-branded to Essia Health.

    Oct 6, 2015 - Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As a medical scribe, you will gain valuable insight into the medical field. If you are disciplined, eager, and have an open schedule the doctors with LOVE you! It can be a very exciting job if you keep a good attitude and build rapport with the medical staff. After a few months on the job, you will definitely know if you are cut out to be a physician.

    Cons

    As a medical scribe, you will need to commit to one year. In the emergency department setting, you have to be willing to work nights, weekends, and holidays. The pay is not great, but the experience is rewarding in itself. In the clinical setting, you need to be available to work day shifts. If you have a heavy course load at school or limited availability for any reason - this job is not for you.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Essia Health team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    HR can be a rubber stamp or it can be the org performance driver.

    Nov 16, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I would have to say the snacks are a good

    Cons

    HR managers clueless about the subject they pride themselves in knowing best, which is people! Not to mention the amount of $ they are paid is absurd!!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Love My Job!

    Oct 11, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with amazing physicians who are eager to help you gain valuable experience while you prepare to go to medical school. A fun, fast-paced job that keeps you on your toes all day. working in family medicine you get to know your patients and feel like a part of their medical team! You also get a great letter of recommendation from your doctor.

    Cons

    I have a Bachelor's degree and get paid barely anything over minimum wage, this is very frustrating. Sadly, the management knows pre-medical students need the experience and will work for wages that are barely livable. The management has poor communication and sometimes employees get forgotten after they are placed.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Still learned many new things.

    Jul 17, 2014 - Medical Scribe 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very friendly people I've met through the company; many were hospital staff. It was a great way of meeting and building connections in the hospital setting. Pay was decent.

    Cons

    Very high turn over rate. I was terminated during training because I was slow at finishing charts. Never received any warnings or told that I was terminated by management until I received my final pay and called asking about it. During online training, I was told by the trainers to do charts a certain way and on the floor, my trainers told me that way was wrong. Never the less, I am still upset with being terminated without prior warnings or even an email explaining why I was terminated until I asked. Also, a trainer at my site made me feel unwelcomed to the community. I was told by her to do certain things on charts and when I did, she would tell me that I was wrong. This was my personal experience.

    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Experience!

    Jun 16, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Medical Scribe positions are able to offer on-the-job experience and they allow you to develop an extensive medical knowledge base. All of the Area Scribe Managers started off as Scribes first and have now been with the company for years leading the teams across the US. Really try and work with you to match you to a position that you are interested in.

    Cons

    Really must be motivated to work in the medical field or the position is not for you. Must commit to same location and shifts for a full year.

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Terribly Unprofessional with Non-Valued Employees

    Jul 17, 2015 - EMR Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great resume builder gaining hospital experience, unfortunately they know it and pay next to nothing in exchange.

    Cons

    The cash and growth in this org comes from the Medical Scribes, not the EMR Implementation Tutors, so consequently those second class employees were treated as having next to no value and often provided with little to no communication. Playing favorites with project scheduling, a seemingly random raise schedule, and people disappearing after sudden firings, were all very typical. Consequently morale was low and gossip was high, nearly everyone was trying to find another job.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    New management transforming the business

    Apr 28, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is undergoing rapid change. Everyone is excited to be part of the change and there is a strong team moral. The new management is focused on improving the benefits for employees. There are a lot of opportunities to grow as the company is growing rapidly.

    Cons

    Workload can get big as there is so much that is being changed. Sometimes tasks take a long time because you are doing them for the first time, working things out etc.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Scribe - Tremendous clinical experience

    Aug 5, 2015 - Medical Scribe in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Wonderful clinical experience in preparation for medical school, PA school, etc. - Great way to learn and understand the healthcare system and workflow - Great opportunity for growth within the company

    Cons

    - Overnight shifts in the ED can be rewarding but difficult for early birds in the emergency room - Steep learning curve if you have no previous scribe experience

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Medical Scribe

    Sep 25, 2015 - Medical Scribe in Woodland Hills, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Gives you the opportunity to understand patient care first hand. Allows you to build relationships with physicians that you work for. Biggest pro: Letters of recommendation from physicians.

    Cons

    Expectations are very high from all medical staff. Extremely underpaid. You are saving doctors HOURS a day in medical charting and are barely compensated. Many

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 27 Reviews
</>Embed

Essia Health Reviews FAQs

Essia Health has an overall rating of 3.4 out of 5, based on over 30 reviews left anonymously by employees. 62% of employees would recommend working at Essia Health to a friend and 22% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Essia Health employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Essia Health. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

62% of Essia Health employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Essia Health 3.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.2 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Essia Health to be work life balance, coworkers, career development and the cons to be benefits, culture, management.

Work at Essia Health? Share Your Experiences

Essia Health logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Medical Scribe(10)
  • EMR Tutor(2)

Essia Health Photos

+ Add Photo
Essia Health photo of: Part of our Essia Team at the American College of Cardiologists conference in San Diego.
Essia Health photo of: Another successful conference at the ACEP Scientific Assembly in Chicago.
Essia Health photo of: A live demo is a great way experience how we operate!

Have you worked here?

See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Essia Health Job Seekers Also Viewed

Elite Medical Scribes Logo
Elite Medical Scribes

2.5

136 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 30 Essia Health reviews submitted anonymously by Essia Health employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Essia Health is right for you.