Estée Lauder Companies Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Estée Lauder Companies President, CEO, and Director Fabrizio Freda
Fabrizio Freda
934 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good company with great benefits(in 122 reviews)

  • "Great Culture, attitude, work life balance(in 109 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours, working over holidays, not a good work life balance(in 76 reviews)

  • "Long hours, Faced paced this was not a con for me but may be for some(in 67 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Estée Lauder Companies and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      It’s ok

      May 7, 2021 - Line Attendant in Bristol, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun and outgoing place to work

      Cons

      Pay is pretty good but could be better

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company to work for! Great pay & benefits in a fun environment.

      May 4, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The benefits are top notch: vacation, 401k, sick time, great insurance, paid holidays, personal days. The pay is hard to beat for the beauty industry. Yearly reviews & raises. Free products throughout the year with new launches and semi-annual gratis. If you have a love for the beauty industry, I’d recommend looking for a position with ELC. They take care of their people...on-going training, an abundance of ways to reach out for help for personal issues, etc. I honestly love the products and love introducing them to potential clients. No two days are the same and I thrive on not having a monotonous job.

      Cons

      Having the main office in NYC, sometimes you may feel a little lost in the crowd and communication may not be a 10/10 at times. If you reach out continuously for what you need, you’ll eventually get an answer. Some higher-ups may not care to look into personnel issues since they don’t have to deal with that person daily. The chain of command is always changing so we never know who is in charge of our direct boss, so we don’t know who to reach out to if we need an extra hand or if the ball has been dropped.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Empowering Culture

      May 1, 2021 - Retail Manager in New Hartford, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent training and commitment to staying up to date with product knowledge, empowering culture.

      Cons

      Working for a counter inside of another retailer (i.e. Macy's) comes with unique challenges. Advancing requires travel.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Huge company, A lot of Opportunity

      Apr 15, 2021 - Field Executive in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity to move throughout the company between brands, great health benefits, focus on career growth

      Cons

      Every brand is different and managed differently. Some brands have amazing perks while others are given the bare minimum.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      May 7, 2021 - Marketing Associate in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Positive work environment and management really cares about employees well being

      Cons

      Little room for advancement and growth

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Culture of Politics

      May 3, 2021 - Project Manager - Facilities Management in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Benefits. Flexible work arrangement, as far as work location and time.

      Cons

      Micro management and lack of guidance. Projects are handed down without proper information or direction. Several people may be asked to do the same task creating confusion and double work. No clear processes

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      etc family

      Mar 15, 2021 - Consumer Engagement in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I entered the company as a summer intern and knew this was where I wanted to be full time. During my time I have had the opportunity to work across multiple brands and functions. I can honestly say they are a company that practices what they preach. Even more so, their respect for young professionals is the best in the business. From the time I entered I ave never felt looked down on because of my age and always have felt that my opinion matters which I know is not normal at most companies. Overall I highly recommend working here.

      Cons

      The only downside has been the wfh policy prior to cover. Work life balance was always encouraged, but no one actually put it in to practice. I think our time WFH throughout covid has really been a mentality shift for our employees and I feel when the office does reopen, there will be a lot more balance in this aspect.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Love for ELC family

      Apr 28, 2021 - Brand Ambassador in Lexington-Fayette, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Extremely flexible schedule, great pay, build your business, products you can be proud to represent

      Cons

      Difficult to obtain a position with the company, not a lot of room for growth, only part time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good benefits and opportunities, poor work life balance

      Apr 29, 2021 - IT Audit Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits (pension, 401K match, donation matches, museum memberships, etc.), high-performers recognized, great opportunities to learn, grow, and contribute meaningfully

      Cons

      Poor work life balance, below average compensation, rocky political environment - trustworthiness hard to find, management not receptive to constructive feedback

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Love this company

      Apr 27, 2021 - Field Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fair, value driven, strong and fun

      Cons

      Global organization, not lots of hands on development at executive level

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,879 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Estée Lauder Companies Job Seekers

    Director
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Presidential Management Associate Program (Marketing)
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Estée Lauder Companies? Share Your Experiences

    or