Esterline Reviews | Glassdoor

Esterline Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 198 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Curtis Reusser
73 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Culture, great working environment, great people(in 14 reviews)

  • "Also, we have an CI team (Continuous Improvement) that's a great help to our company there job is to make our job a better working environment(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management did not listen to my hiring manager and did not allow me to stay during the school year(in 8 reviews)

  • "I have to give 1 star to post this, otherwise Senior Management of Mason in Sylmar, CA would be ZERO(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working at Esterline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coachella, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Esterline full-time

    Pros

    -Very helpful people -Knowledgeable coworkers -Great advancement opportunities

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Esterline2018-09-24
  2. "Good aerospace company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clerk in Brea, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Esterline full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Good benefits decent pay and long hours

    Cons

    Not enough supervisor for all of the department on site

    Esterline2019-05-08
  3. "Great place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Inventory Specialist in Everett, WA

      I have been working at Esterline full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great benefits to work at this company

      Cons

      None. This is a great place to work at

      Esterline2019-03-07
    • Helpful (5)

      "CI Runs Amok!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Engineer in Sylmar, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Esterline full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Clean working environment. Helpful coworkers.

      Cons

      Continuous improvement and open to change is good if not a must. But constant Floor rearrangement and corporate mandated Kaizans for the sake of giving the appearance of "CI" is not only disruptive but also none-value added. Hopefully Transdigm will put an end to this non-sense.

      Advice to Management

      Don't need a CI "specialist" to make common sense process improvements.

      Esterline2019-02-10
    • "Great Place to work for young professionals"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Esterline full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      - Great people - Great company culture

      Cons

      - Not market competitive salary

      Esterline2019-02-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Historically good culture, excellent products, recently acquired by Transdigm."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales in Everett, WA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Esterline full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      People that have been there a long time tend to stay, excellent brand recognition, nice selection of teas at coffee stations.

      Cons

      Leadership revolving door - 6 platform sales VPs and 4 platform presidents in 10 years. High turn over. Lack of empowerment and respect for experience that has forced long time employees to retire early or quit. Little room for advancement. Noisy, you might need noise cancelling headphones. Vanity. Limited new product development activity. In need of a vision. To many levels of management approval required.

      Advice to Management

      Eliminate levels of management. Empower people. Take action, innovate, grow.

      Esterline2019-02-01
    • "An okay place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - HRIS Specialist 

        I worked at Esterline full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Good salary and benefits. Pension and 401k benefit. Flexible with schedules.

        Cons

        Direction not always clear. Corporate office is closing.

        Esterline2019-01-29
      • Helpful (3)

        "Great Coworkers, OK Company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Software Engineer in Bellevue, WA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Esterline full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        - Great coworkers - Flexible work schedule - Ability to work remotely

        Cons

        - Salaries are not competitive with industry - Parent company (Esterline) is in the process of being acquired - Depending on the team you work with, manager will either help or hurt your career advancement - If you are looking for experience to add to your resume outside of aviation, look elsewhere

        Advice to Management

        - Try to be competitive with your salaries - Maybe not be sexist?

        Esterline2019-01-11
      • Helpful (1)

        "Quote "Open two way communication""

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Esterline full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        The company talks a big game when it comes to this concept and forces it upon its employees.

        Cons

        Management rarely transparent to employees. No clear path for employees to know where or how to take the next career step.

        Esterline2019-01-25
      • "Good place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Former Employee in Sugar Grove, IL
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Esterline full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Generally a very collaborative place to work. People are focused on getting the job done. They can be a bit penny-wise and dollar foolish with resource usage. Engineers can sit on the sidelines instead of assigning them to active project work in order to keep Project financials in the black. Training opportunities are also good.

        Cons

        Sometimes processes can be ponderous give the size of the projects.

        Advice to Management

        Perhaps consider initiating some additional product development on speculation, instead of waiting to initiate projects based on customer POs.

        Esterline2019-01-07
      Found 198 reviews