Estes Express Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
55%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Estes Express President and CEO Rob Estes Jr.
Rob Estes Jr.
276 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company starts out with good pay(in 76 reviews)

  • "Great company to work for with great pay(in 31 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Hours, upper management is a pain(in 20 reviews)

  • "Long hours and too many projects(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Estes Express and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great College Job

      May 7, 2021 - Dock Worker in Columbia, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      competitive pay good working hours

      Cons

      Work gets difficult in the extreme heat or cold

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good job for while I needed it.

      Mar 26, 2021 - Dock Worker in Grand Rapids, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co workers are pretty solid people. You see some neat stuff come through. Life size puzzle building trying to load different size freight into a trailer to optimize shipping. You need a great level of attention to detail, moving odd freight around a dozen other people doing the same thing. On off forklift, pull dock plate, open close bay and trailer doors, checking freight for numbers condition and making sure its wrapped decently. Making sure freight has load bars and straps where needed.

      Cons

      No temperature control. No overtime until 52hrs. Work hours AM and PM are based around drivers and trailer turn around times. So working Sunday nights and 5 evenings during the week and if you have to work a few AM shifts.. it alot of break up of your time and lots of drives. So the closer you live the easier to cover the couple hours you are required to go in for. Getting freight that wasn't secure and shifted or came apart in transit. Forklifts are made to go in and out of trailers, so being on the taller side you sit in an off angle/stress on joints. I thought there would be more forklift driving but you are on and off it quite a bit. Broken built in load bars in trailers require work arounds. Trailer height doesn't match dock height. Everything gets covered in a layer of dust.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Horrible to their Employees

      Feb 28, 2021 - Local Truck Driver in Scranton, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They make you feel great when you are 1st Hired, showing Videos to how great they are to their people. And how they help out their employees when their are Traumatic events with them. And how Safety is their #1 priority.

      Cons

      During my employment their I was seriously injured due to lack of concern and training from their loaders. Out on Deliveries I had a load shift due to poor loading. I was told take it to a location and get it fixed for delivery. Due this act the Load shifted on top on me crushing me with 3000lbs of concrete sheeting. Shattering my legs, chest and back hospitalized in the Trauma Unit nearly killing me. After 22 weeks without my knowledge they nicely Terminated my employment so they didnt have to pay for my family's health insurance anymore. Not to mention offered me a single bit of the so called "help" the offer to their employees that they center their beliefs around, Or so they say they do. They hide behind the fact the my state is a Commonwealth and that they cannot be sued for Neglect or having the Lack of resource training for their people or safety measures. I needed to call and get transferred around to 5 different people to even find out I was let go, but was told feel free to apply again when I'm better for consideration again. Almost 2 years later I still have a broken back and can't drive or walk straight yet. They left their Compensation company holding the bag for all of it. Horrible place that doesn't care one bit for their employees.

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Screwed out of OT every week!!!

      May 10, 2021 - Switcher/Yard Jockey in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is good and benefits are descent

      Cons

      Switchers should get paid OT for anything after 40 hrs but instead they make you break one load on the dock every week so you’re not getting OT till you work 52 hours!!! You get screwed out of 12 hours of overtime EVERY WEEK!!!!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      It's a Job....

      Apr 27, 2021 - Dock Worker in Greenwood, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The base pay is good...

      Cons

      No end times to your schedule and constantly working weekends and holidays with no extra compensation and last minute notice... Overtime after 55 hours. Organizational skills as a company is lacking and the employees pay for it... Technology is behind... The only answer that management has for issues that arise is work them longer and they get away with it because they dnt have to compensate for longer hours in return this slows progress for the company overall...

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      If you know lol it's exactly like that

      Apr 11, 2021 - Inbound Supervisor in Saint Paul, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job expectations are set out clearly. The dock and drivers are fun. Curtis the TM is fair and unbias

      Cons

      Hours of shifts available. 1am to noon Tuesday- fri and 8pm to 7am Sunday night into Monday morning. Or 430 pm to 2 am. Mon - fri A 6th day is a frequent mandatory shift. Usually given 24 hour notice of a mandatory sat of sunday.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Don’t do it

      May 9, 2021 - Dockworker in Scranton, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the people were cool

      Cons

      Constantly micromanaged and the pay could have been better

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Company

      Apr 23, 2021 - Logistician in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of hours and money.

      Cons

      Very long hours of work

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company

      Apr 19, 2021 - Power Mechanic Class B in Greensboro, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay and excellent/cheap benefits

      Cons

      Feels as if maintenance goals are unrealistic at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Terrible place to work

      May 11, 2021 - Yard Driver in Elgin, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing. Don't work here Terrible hours Don't Pay overtime

      Cons

      They don't care about you. Don't work here.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 498 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Estes Express Job Seekers

    Linehaul Driver
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Estes Express? Share Your Experiences

    or