Esurance Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Esurance President Jonathan Adkisson
Jonathan Adkisson
267 Ratings
Pros
  • "Definitely apply to this company if you want a positive day to day work/life balance(in 62 reviews)

  • "Growing opportunities, Work from home, Sups with open doors(in 50 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Professional"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Management Analyst in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Esurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    HR are very professional. They communicate with candidates with respect.

    Cons

    Nothing is bad to be honest. They are very professional.

    Esurance2020-01-15
  2. "Great work environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in Richardson, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Esurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Low stress - Good work/life balance - Great people - Competitive salary - Interview process was quick and straightforward

    Cons

    - Virtual claims handling takes some getting used to, especially if you’re a field adjuster. - Health care plan is high deductible, but this is pretty standard.

    Continue reading
    Esurance2020-02-05
  3. "excellent short-term career step"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative 

    I worked at Esurance full-time

    Pros

    warm and supportive office culture

    Cons

    going out of business this year

    Esurance2020-05-26
  4. "Solid Starting Place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster in Mesa, AZ

    I worked at Esurance full-time

    Pros

    great workplace and fellow employees

    Cons

    Long and very stressful at times

    Esurance2020-04-27
  5. "A decent place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Network Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Esurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people, hardworking team.

    Cons

    Long hours, demanding environment. May not be for everyone.

    Continue reading
    Esurance2020-03-28

    Esurance Response

    March 30, 2020CIO

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I share your sentiment and am proud of the talent we have across the technology team here at Esurance. Work-life balance is always a challenge when you are trying to drive change. We certainly do strive to maintain a healthy balance and will continue to do so and especially during this unprecedented pandemic. I am especially proud of our infrastructure and operations team, who in less than a week mobilized to enable over 95% of our 3000+ employees to work from home, including more than doubling network bandwidth capacity with existing circuits. Regards, Al

  6. "Working here was great. Very attentive management."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Esurance

    Pros

    Great place to grow. Alot of opportunities.

    Cons

    There where no cons. I just moved and my commute was too long.

    Esurance2020-03-27

    Esurance Response

    March 30, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your thoughts and experience here at Esurance, we appreciate it. We have worked hard to ensure that our associates have multiple opportunities to learn and grow and we're thrilled to see that you saw that during your time here. We wish you the best in all of your future endeavors.

  7. "Mentor humiliated me"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Services Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Esurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Esurance is a great place to work, co works where great, the mentor were good with the exception of one that made me feel so awful and brought me to tear, she should not be a mentor at all, I ended up quitting because of the way I was treated, there was a issue that she didn't bring to my attention right away and a customer was negatively affected, she know about this issue and didn't let me know till it was to late, she was not doing her job, and humiliated me into quitting a job I really enjoyed

    Cons

    The one mentor who humiliated me into quitting

    Continue reading
    Esurance2020-02-27

    Esurance Response

    May 11, 2020Customer Service Manager

    Thank you for the feedback. We agree with you that Esurance is a great place to work with great people. We are sorry to hear about your experience with our mentor and appreciate the feedback as it allows us to look into our programs further and work to fine tune them. We are continually working on the best ways to support our agents while in the learning environment and will continue to do so.

  8. "High expectations"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CLAIMS ADVISOR 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Esurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is decent, co-workers are great

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations, it's frowned upon if you leave on time. Unpaid weekend work is encouraged

    Esurance2020-03-10
  9. "Good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auto Claims Adjuster in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Esurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, management listens

    Cons

    Company is being dissolved by Allstate

    Esurance2020-02-22
  10. "Not bad place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Esurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Definitely not bad place.

    Cons

    Now things are uncertain with Allstate merger. So wait till things are clear.

    Esurance2020-03-04

    Esurance Response

    March 9, 2020CIO

    Thanks for your candor. It is certainly an interesting time as Allstate embarks on its Transformative Growth Plan, with a focus on expanded customer access, improved customer value, and increased investments in growth and technology. Esurance plays an important role, and we are being asked to lead efforts at Allstate that focus on the self-service, direct-to-consumer business. There are lots of details to work out, but there is definitely a big opportunity to take what we have created at Esurance to make a big impact at Allstate. Regards, Al

Found 698 reviews