Esurance Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Esurance President Jonathan Adkisson
Jonathan Adkisson
269 Ratings
Pros
  • "Definitely apply to this company if you want a positive day to day work/life balance(in 62 reviews)

  • "Growing opportunities, Work from home, Sups with open doors(in 51 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work/life balance could be better(in 44 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not support employees(in 22 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fair Company

      Apr 9, 2021 - Director, Data Analytics in Sacramento, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Stability, leadership and good company culture

      Cons

      Growth opportunities can sometimes be slim

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to start a new career

      Apr 30, 2021 - Sales Associate in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work life balance, great culture and support.

      Cons

      The sales process isn't open to change, its been the same thing for years. Other than than great place to work to at.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work

      Mar 21, 2021 - Project Lead 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      pay and benefits are the best pros

      Cons

      dev culture is like elementary school mind sets

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible

      Feb 25, 2021 - Claims Adjuster in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent starting salary but that is really it.

      Cons

      Building was disgusting, Terrible training, You can never get the time off that you want, Unreasonable workload, Poor Management. Only way to move up is to become a "Favorite"

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Former employee

      Jan 13, 2021 - Senior Learning and Development Specialist in Rocklin, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was valued as an employee.

      Cons

      Medical benefits could have been better.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      No longer in business

      Oct 20, 2020 - Business Analyst/Senior Consultant in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Esurance was a growing company when I start in 2012 and afforded me the opportunity to advance

      Cons

      Esurance was dissolved by Allstate and Allstate is now clearing out as many Esurance employees as they can

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Funky Mixture of a Startup and Big Company

      Aug 28, 2019 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall friendly, casual atmosphere. It feels like an insurance company with "business casual" but seems to be closer to "casual" with its startup roots. At the same time, the backing by Allstate means there's a lot of good perks and no sense of impending doom looming over your head when working at a "startup". You get a sense of flexibility/urgency from the startup roots but also the sense of security from the big business backers. They seem flexible with some work at home policies, commuter benefits, good compensation, and good bonus structure.

      Cons

      Sometimes it feels like I'm at a startup where I'm rapidly switching positions and roles to try on different hats and extinguish fires to rapidly get a demo for a release to release a cool new product agilely. But, then, at the same time, there's mountains of documentation for things to dig through with things almost coming straight out of Office Space, which makes sense because of all the regulations and laws within the insurance industry, naturally. It's a bizarre mix of "startup" and "big business", which may not be everybody's thing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Esurance Response

      CIO

      Great feedback, thanks. Your comments definitely resonate with me, having worked at start-ups and smaller software companies before joining Esurance. I would like to continue to strongly encourage an innovator’s mindset to find and apply creative solutions for our industry’s technology and business challenges. I absolutely agree with you that we have far more documentation than we need. Yes, we are in a highly regulated industry, but there are certainly opportunities to streamline our internal processes, some of which I’m aware of and working on but there are probably other areas that I am not aware of. If there is something that you feel could be addressed more efficiently, please do feel free to raise it to my attention. Regards, Al

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great People and Interesting Projects

      Aug 31, 2019 - Actuarial Analyst in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice people and a young crowd. Interesting projects going on and a lot of data to work with. The high turnover provides easy opportunities to move up if you work hard. People generally want to do a good job. The systems are pretty bad, but it seems like things are moving in a positive direction. Management does a good job of recognizing people for their contributions. Decent work-life balance.

      Cons

      Within the Product Department in particular, the business processes and systems are not well designed or documented. The department has really high turnover and has trouble maintaining a knowledge base. Nearly all of the senior analysts recently quit or moved to other teams/departments, so if you want strong actuarial mentors they are hard to come by. Entry level analysts are typically asked to work with some archaic business tools with little technical support or training. Compensation is not adequately adjusted for the high Bay Area cost of living.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Mentor humiliated me

      Feb 26, 2020 - Customer Services Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Esurance is a great place to work, co works where great, the mentor were good with the exception of one that made me feel so awful and brought me to tear, she should not be a mentor at all, I ended up quitting because of the way I was treated, there was a issue that she didn't bring to my attention right away and a customer was negatively affected, she know about this issue and didn't let me know till it was to late, she was not doing her job, and humiliated me into quitting a job I really enjoyed

      Cons

      The one mentor who humiliated me into quitting

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Esurance Response

      Customer Service Manager

      Thank you for the feedback. We agree with you that Esurance is a great place to work with great people. We are sorry to hear about your experience with our mentor and appreciate the feedback as it allows us to look into our programs further and work to fine tune them. We are continually working on the best ways to support our agents while in the learning environment and will continue to do so.

    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Claims Adjuster

      Oct 16, 2019 - Claims Adjuster in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      At least on the outside there is the appearance of mobility within the company. Some managers are very helpful. Decent amount of PTO.

      Cons

      With this company there’s almost no chance of being even slightly caught up in your work unless you stay late, but since employees are salary you won’t be paid for the extra work you do that is completely necessary. The work load is high. The company advocates work-life balance but then gives you a hard time if you try to focus on your personal time if everything they want isn’t first done to a T. There is very little faith in employees to manage their own work. There’s a high degree of micromanaging. The metrics they use don’t correlate with if someone is a good employee. More often you have to be a less good employee and provide less stellar customer attention just to have your numbers fall in the range they want. Employees are cut loose with no warning and there is no indication of what they’ve even done wrong so it can’t be repeated. Other departments are very lazy and constantly try to throw their work back on you, which may be an indication that employee expectations are also unfair on that end.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Esurance Response

      Senior Communications Consultant

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate and value your input as an employee. We are committed to creating work / life balance for our associates, and are disappointed to hear about some of your experiences. We have programs in place to help our associates meet the demands of their work and personal life including flexible schedules, the potential to work from home, and generous PTO. I encourage you to have an open dialogue with your manager to discuss these or other options that would help you find better balance.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 706 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Esurance Job Seekers

    Data Science Intern
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Front End Software Engineer Intern
    Learn About the Job
    Software Engineer(Internship)
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Esurance? Share Your Experiences

    Esurance logo
    or