Eurofins Scientific Reviews | Glassdoor

Eurofins Scientific Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Eurofins Scientific CEO Gilles G. Martin
Gilles G. Martin
237 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low-pay for a high pressure environment(in 83 reviews)

  • "Upper management expectations for lower employees are staggeringly high p(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Chemist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Eurofins Scientific full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers and bosses, flexible hours, opportunities for raises, promotions, and continuing education, useful training

    Cons

    Pay is low compared to similar positions at other locations

    Eurofins Scientific2019-09-06
  2. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Scientist II 

    I have been working at Eurofins Scientific full-time

    Pros

    Room for improvement, couldn't make a profic

    Cons

    Management, poor decision making and resource allocation

    Eurofins Scientific2019-10-14
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Don't expect to stay long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analytical Chemist in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eurofins Scientific full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great coworkers -Better experience than I ever expected out of my first job -Lots of potential room for improvement in many of the teams giving you the opportunity to start projects if you want to

    Cons

    There are two BIG problems with Eurofins that will make you want to leave after a few months of working with them. The first is salary. You will likely be paid an hourly wage that is hardly above what a high school graduate can earn and this does not seem to really change and if it does you might get an extra dollar or 2 an hour, so really not much. The second thing is the absolute lack of upward mobility within... the company. The only way to seemingly move up is to have a superior get fired giving Eurofins the chance to fill that position as cheaply as possible with an internal candidate. The combination of a lack of pay and no potential to move anywhere to maybe change that is what will drive you away from Eurofins no matter how good the experience is. All in all, if you need a job and some quality experience definitely take a job with Eurofins, but do not get comfortable. They will tell you all about how well the companies stock does and how big they are, but you will never see anything that reflects those facts as one of their employees (the yearly bonus is $50 to spend on the company store...).

    Show More
    Eurofins Scientific2019-10-03
  4. "Positive working environment dependent on client/team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist III - Group Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eurofins Scientific full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility to learn a lot, interact with many clients depending on your role, and develop skills.

    Cons

    Transparency from upper management is lacking pertaining to why/how promotions and salaries are so varied.

    Advice to Management

    Be fair to the employees putting in the hard work, and be tougher on those not meeting standards.

    Eurofins Scientific2019-10-06
  5. "Good place to work in Lancaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Lancaster, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eurofins Scientific full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Organization is improving from the ground up. Loads of new opportunities coming in. Room for growth

    Cons

    Growing pains with a fast growing pharma company

    Advice to Management

    Encourage employee happiness with better wages

    Eurofins Scientific2019-10-02
  6. "Very Long Hours and No Respect!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Accountant in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Eurofins Scientific full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits, Nice new building, great employee's.

    Cons

    Very long hours 55-70 every week. Management had no idea what was involved with the job and didn't care if you basically lived at the office.

    Advice to Management

    Well I gave them advice when I left that they had great people in the department and that they needed to get them some help or they were going to lose those people. I was right that a week after I left they ended up losing 3 more people. Just shows you that no matter what you saw to help they just don't care.

    Eurofins Scientific2019-10-16
  7. "Flexible Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Technician in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Eurofins Scientific full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They are flexible with time off, over time is plentiful, and you can learn a lot of different tests.

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for growth. Pay does not match other labs. Low pay for the amount of expectations.

    Eurofins Scientific2019-09-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Biopharma product testing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Scientist 

    I have been working at Eurofins Scientific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hands on experience with instruments in a cGMP environment

    Cons

    The pay is not competitive for the workload

    Eurofins Scientific2019-09-28
  9. "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eurofins Scientific full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good entry level job so far

    Cons

    the pay could be up a little more

    Advice to Management

    my management is doing well so far

    Eurofins Scientific2019-09-20
  10. "Great advancement opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Eurofins Scientific full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Career advancement; knowledgeable colleagues; good support

    Cons

    Poor business managers and poor work culture dependent on the site and business manager

    Eurofins Scientific2019-09-18
Found 1158 reviews