European Parliament Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

European Parliament Intern Reviews

Updated Apr 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
European Parliament CEO Martin Schulz
Martin Schulz
3 Ratings
  1. "Good internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at European Parliament for less than a year

    Pros

    learned about translatlantic relationship well

    Cons

    too much time writing memos that were lost in bureaucracy

    European Parliament2019-01-18
  2. "Interesting work environment, poor compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Brussels
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at European Parliament for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Networking opportunities for early career professionals

    Cons

    No compensation for interns. Difficult to navigate

    European Parliament2019-04-01
  3. "A great opportunity for young people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Brussels
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at European Parliament full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working conditions, interesting and challenging tasks, big social meaning

    Cons

    Irregular work (depending on Parliament's working cycle)

    Advice to Management

    -

    European Parliament2018-02-27
  4. "Interesting experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Brussels
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at European Parliament full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Possibility to work in a fantastic international environment.

    Cons

    Dependance on political cycles, hard to get through without political support, not very meritocracy based system.

    European Parliament2017-07-02
  5. "Good Network"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Brussels
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at European Parliament

    Pros

    You will have the opportunity to meet and build a very strong network around the world and industry sectors

    Cons

    You can end to a division where you do not fit or where nothing to do and as a matter of fact not learn at all.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to say. Try to pay more attention to what you can transfer to interns and your role in the involvement of students.

    European Parliament2015-12-08
  6. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Intern in Luxembourg

      I worked at European Parliament for less than a year

      Pros

      Excellent work environment, nice people. Really, great place to work and/or accomplish an internship.

      Cons

      There are no CONS. Everything is OK.

      Advice to Management

      Everything is OK.

      European Parliament2014-08-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Internship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Brussels
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at European Parliament for less than a year

      Pros

      Great place to develop your network

      Cons

      Politically biased Not the best managment

      European Parliament2013-08-22
    • "Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Brussels
      Recommends

      I worked at European Parliament for less than a year

      Pros

      It was a very enjoyable experience. Although at times the work as an intern was not the most interesting one, the assistants really try to make you welcome and to make sure that you understand the reason of your accountabilities and the end result.

      Cons

      There is not much I can say, the hours are reasonable, the work is reasonable. I would mention that there are not as many networking opportunities as I would have hoped. Although you can constantly find events to attend, I found that it was not easy to meet people who were not fellow interns.

      European Parliament2013-06-20
    • "Exciting and dynamic place to work and learn, though its political efficacy is questionable."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Brussels
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at European Parliament for less than a year

      Pros

      A fast-paced, dynamic environment with people from all over Europe who are passionate about international politics and economics. Very intelligent employees and stagiares to work and collaborate with. Access and exposure to high-ranking and important people in a variety of fields, not just politics. Wonderful facilities located in a vibrant city (Brussels, Belgium).

      Cons

      Critics of the European Parliament (and EU in general) criticize its democratic deficit, lack of transparency, and general inefficiency. The Parliament is relatively powerless at times, and the intransigence of the various parties over trivial issues can be frustrating.

      Advice to Management

      Do more for the youth of Europe.

      European Parliament2013-05-31
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good paying public service"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern in Brussels
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at European Parliament for less than a year

      Pros

      Awesome salary, not too much workload, friendly environment

      Cons

      Hard to get in without contacts

      Advice to Management

      Would be wise to open up

      European Parliament2012-08-21
    Found 12 reviews