European Parliament Reviews | Glassdoor

European Parliament Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 103 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
European Parliament CEO Martin Schulz
Martin Schulz
30 Ratings
  1. "Interesting experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern in Brussels
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at European Parliament full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Possibility to work in a fantastic international environment.

    Cons

    Dependance on political cycles, hard to get through without political support, not very meritocracy based system.

    European Parliament2017-07-02
  2. "It's one of the best places to work in Brussels."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Policy Adviser in Brussels
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at European Parliament full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Highly interesting legislative work - Good salary -Great infrastructure and facilities - It never gets boring

    Cons

    As in every large organisation, one might have the feeling of losing individual value as you are just one more person

    European Parliament2017-06-16
  3. "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Luxembourg

    I have been working at European Parliament full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good remuneration. Decent facilities. Good corporate support team. Multicultural and diverse. Some interesting policy development jobs.

    Cons

    Politically influenced hiring for management positions. Disappointing senior leadership team. Nationality- and political party-based senior promotions.

    Advice to Management

    De-politicize career management methods.

    European Parliament2017-05-13
  4. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at European Parliament for less than a year

    Pros

    multicultural working environment and centre of European politics

    Cons

    bureaucracy makes the institution slow

    Advice to Management

    improve communication

    European Parliament2017-05-09
  5. "Traniee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee of MEP in Brussels
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at European Parliament full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The job is very interesting and it feels special to work for in favour of your country and Europe. I really appreciate I am involved in every task and I can take real responsibilities.

    Cons

    Overhwelming and exhausting sometimes, overtime as well

    European Parliament2017-04-20
  6. "Trainee at the EP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at European Parliament

    Pros

    Excellent balance between working and private life. Good healthcare benefits

    Cons

    frequent and strict deadlines. Additional working hours are not billed.

    Advice to Management

    No further advices as I really enjoyed my traineeship. Maybe just give some more working opportunities with some additional training.

    European Parliament2017-03-27
  7. "Interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Policy Advisor in Brussels
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at European Parliament full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work if passionate about European affairs.

    Cons

    Job performance does not matter very much in managing personnel. There is no efficiency in making recruitments and retaining valuable personnel.

    Advice to Management

    Think of how to employ and later retain valuable personnel in the interest of the institution, rather than deciding to keep them on whether they passed the 'EPSO lottery' or not, while ignoring job performance.

    European Parliament2017-02-07
  8. "Contract Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CONTRACT AGENT in Brussels
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at European Parliament for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary. Great networking opportunity.

    Cons

    Long, unpredictable hours at times. Migrating to Strasbourg every two months.

    European Parliament2017-01-14
  9. "Stagiere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at European Parliament

      Pros

      Possibility to get genuinely involved in European politics at the highest level there is and to create a network in virtually any field.

      Cons

      Unless you try hard yourself, it is very difficult to secure a following vacancy given the budgetary restrictions.

      European Parliament2017-01-23
    • "Nice Experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Graduate Trainee in Brussels
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at European Parliament

      Pros

      Learning curve is very steep. You work with open-minded friendly and smart colleagues. You observe the wide impact of your work which is very satisfying. Nice working conditions. Very recommended.

      Cons

      No cons to be mentioned.

      European Parliament2017-01-05
    Found 103 reviews