Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society Reviews | Glassdoor

Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society Reviews

Updated April 20, 2017
144 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

2.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society President and CEO David J. Horazdovsky
David J. Horazdovsky
54 Ratings

144 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Good work/life balance and PTO accrual is sufficient (in 5 reviews)

  • Regardless of what the change was or why it was always done with the best intentions and for the good of the staff and residents (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • pay does not keep up with cost of living (in 3 reviews)

  • I visited The Eugene, Oregon nursing home (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Certified Nursing Assistant in Skilled Nursing Facility."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA in Moscow, ID
    Current Employee - CNA in Moscow, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The nurses, CNAs, and management personally care about the residents and do their best to put residents first. The management also makes sure to listen to the CNAs and often took steps to make everyone's job easier.

    Cons

    - Frequently understaffed given the number of residents to care for. Other CNAs regularly did not show up for their shifts.
    - The nurses are hit or miss: some of them care about teamwork and helping CNAs, others will give CNAs as much extra work as they can.
    - Pay raises are nominal and not based on performance; I regularly received compliments on my work ethic from nurses and management yet only received a $0.34 raise after working for 1.5 years(most CNAs stay less than 1 year).

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to your CNAs and make sure that they have enough help and resources to do their jobs. Don't burden them with unnecessary duties; it may only burn them out. Offer pay raises according to work ethic, not duration of employment: reward those who work hard.


  2. "Director Community Relations"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Marketing in Louisville, KY
    Current Employee - Sales Marketing in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible, affirming, educationally supportive, learning modules monthly, strong benefits

    Cons

    Inability or in capability to give annual raises, even cost of living increases, to long-time employees.

    Advice to Management

    More robust and timely response versus a seemingly more calculated, and often too slow in reacting to industry changes.

    Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society Response

    Apr 19, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator - Workforce

    We thank you for your feedback and positive review. Additionally, we will pass on your advice and comments to our leadership team.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "LVN"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - LVN in El Paso, TX
    Former Employee - LVN in El Paso, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Pay is great, they give opportunities to new nurses.

    Cons

    Favoritism, everyone's nice at first then after a while everyone turns. Nurse to patient ratio is not safe. 3-4 admissions with no help plus your 3 hallways. Everything has to be done in your 8hr shift. When help is needed no other nurse is to be found.

    Advice to Management

    Treat all employees equally, get more staff to help. Training for brand new nurses should be more detailed. Encourage your staff. Explain how you want things done instead of just yelling. When the phone rings all day, it is impossible to get things done with patients and having to answer calls then get in trouble for either not answering phone calls and caring for patients or answering calls all day and neglecting patients, choose one.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Guest Services/Volunteer Coordinator"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kissimmee, FL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kissimmee, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The employees and residents were like family. The community was safe. Moving up in the company is not far fetched. People in the village are genuinely friendly.

    Cons

    Management lacks communication relationship with employees. Training for a position is very limited and employees are usually wearing 2 or 3 hats at a time. Although compensation was fair the work overload is insane.

    Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society Response

    Mar 29, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator - Workforce

    We are glad you enjoyed the people you worked with and the opportunities for career advancement. We understand the concerns you have raised about employee experience, and continue to explore ways to ... More


  6. "Loved my job would go back in a heartbeat. The staff is amazing . Miss everyone there."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Boise, ID
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The best management and staff ever. Most organized and best director of nursing I've ever worked for. Great facility. They go the extra mile for their staff and residents.

    Cons

    Needed more staff but all facilities could use more help than they can get due to shortages of available qualified people.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great job

    Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society Response

    Mar 27, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator - Workforce

    It's great to hear that you had such a wonderful employee experience. We appreciate your feedback.


  7. Helpful (4)

    "The Greedy Good Samaritan"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator in Minneapolis, MN
    Former Employee - Administrator in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    At first the mission statement appealed to me.

    Cons

    1. The CEO is making over 3/4 of a million dollars a year at a time they are cutting over 100 staff members and building a 30 million corporate office and minimally staffing their nursing homes
    2. I visited The Eugene, Oregon nursing home......It really reflects the downward trend this organization has been going......Senior management has lost focus over the years and have misplaced values compared to it's beginnings
    3. The governing board is too close to the CEO to perform objective reviews. I would invite members of the governing board to visit the Eugene Good Samaritan Nursing home to determine for themselves if corporate policies need to be revised..

    Advice to Management

    The CEO has become ineffective in a too comfortable tenure. It is time for change. Refocus on what built the Society. The founder would have never accepted the kind of salary now being paid to the CEO.

    Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator - Workforce

    The mission of the Good Samaritan Society - to share God’s love in word and deed – has remained consistent for nearly 95 years. We continually strive to provide our more than 20,000 employees with a ... More


  8. "Great Community"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director in Roseville, MN
    Current Employee - Sales Director in Roseville, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Work Life Balance is great!

    Cons

    Not a lot of advancement potential

    Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator - Workforce

    Thanks for your review of the Good Samaritan Society. We appreciate your feedback.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "CNA"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA in Algona, IA
    Current Employee - CNA in Algona, IA

    I have been working at Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    pay is decent, and health insurance is affordable here

    Cons

    constantly short, upper management is terrible

    Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator - Workforce

    We appreciate your honest feedback, but hate to hear that you are unsatisfied with your employment experience. CNAs have a tough job, and often are unappreciated, but not by the Society. We will make ... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Christian Values?"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Nursing in Alamogordo, NM
    Former Employee - Director of Nursing in Alamogordo, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexibility, lots of self direction, able to implement plans of correction without hassle

    Cons

    No support, no "Christian" attitudes from direct care staff and nurses. Nurses not held accountable for basic nursing care.

    Advice to Management

    Please make rounds of the residents and listen to their concerns. Pay attention to family members, and hold staff accountable for their actions.

    Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator - Workforce

    We appreciate your honest feedback. Our employees and our leadership teams work hard to provide a positive workplace experience for all employees. Your advice and comments help us better understand ... More


  11. Helpful (3)

    "Suppose to be non profit organization. But really not from the administrator said he made a awesome profit"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Laundry Attendant in Aztec, NM
    Former Employee - Laundry Attendant in Aztec, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Working with residents and co- workers

    Cons

    Hours cut to suit administrator

    Evangelical Lutheran Good Samaritan Society Response

    Feb 27, 2017 – Social Media Coordinator - Workforce

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We are glad you enjoyed the people you worked with. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your employment experience. As with all ... More



Showing 144 of 147 reviews
Reset Filters