Evans Cycles Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Evans Cycles Store Manager Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
33%
Recommend to a Friend
Evans Cycles CEO Steve Trowbridge  (no image)
Steve Trowbridge
0 Rating
  1. "Great people, less great upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Evans Cycles full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company was a great company. If you're a bike fanatic, what better place to be than working in a bike shop? The processes are well established and the computer system fairly intuitive, if a bit clunky to grasp. Like with any retail store, targets had to be met, but we all had fun doing it. Far and away the people you meet along the way made the job worth doing - nothing like meeting like minded people who happened to also be great colleagues.

    Cons

    The company now has become further and further stretched, with budgets being savaged and benefits being curtailed. Stores are doing twice the business with half the people. Store managers are pressured to pull results without the resources they need. Colleagues are also being paid FAR below industry standard, and little is being done to raise low morale.

    Evans Cycles2019-11-14
  2. "If you love cycling there is a good chance this will crush your passion."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evans Cycles full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Met some amazing people, customers and the odd senior management who genuinely cared. about you and your team. Learnt some very important life/work lessons. My life would undoubtedly be very different if I hadn’t worked for the company. However, looking back, working for that company had a very detrimental affect on me. I probably didn’t learn anything I couldn’t of learnt elsewhere.

    Cons

    Low pay- if your promoted from within you will get less than those hired from outside the company and then be asked to train those individuals. Experienced shop floor staff are on the same as someone with little to no experience. However I do understand rates of pay have changed for the better since I left. Poor benefits package, especially if you are not on a managerial wage. The value of trade discount has almost all but been wiped out due to online discount retailers. There are exceptions to this with newly released product and some P&A . I have no real problem getting the same as trade price if I look in the right places. The sheer number of directors and new senior management I experienced in my time was bewildering. The direction of the ship so to speak was constantly changing as were the goal posts on expectations. Trying to engage and motivate a team who were constantly suspicious of this ever changing landscape was probably one of my hardest tasks. Long hours- senior managements approach towards most things that required more man power was simply for people to work longer. Are the classic pizza nights still a thing? I get that in retail this is occasionally needed but it was the norm while I was there. If you couldn’t get staff or rather bribe staff then you either faced the fallout of not getting it done or you just stayed and did it yourself. When you told senior managers you didn’t have time, almost always the response would centre around needing to be more efficient with your time and getting more out of people rather than accepting you just don’t have enough man power. Targets were more often than not un-realistic. I worked in one of the highest turnover stores and even when the retail economic outlook was accepted as poor for the industry and sales are dropping across the company and industry, targets would continue to rise. Great way to motivate haha As a company Evans Cycles is part of a much larger problem within large high street and online retailing that centres around discounting/price structures and an ever increasing level of customers who’s expectations are wildly out of sync with reality and the general population.

    Continue reading
    Evans Cycles2019-09-30
  3. "The Toys'r'Us of the Cycling world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Nottingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evans Cycles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Limited staff discount and health shield benefit.

    Cons

    Outdated IT systems leaves customers upset which store staff take the brunt. Dial up speed internet means in-store training is almost impossible, huge amounts of time wasted waiting for IT systems to work. Awful company intranet! Inaccurate stock systems. Customers being double charged every day. Woeful communication from head office, mixed messages and confusion every week. High pressure, high staff turnover, poor pay especially for retail staff. Staff are required to accept homophobic, racist and sexist language which is likened to petty name calling by head office. Zero staff protection from head office, ALL retail staff are replaceable attitude, abuse of store staff is acceptable. No recognition for long service. Excessive waste (especially paper/card) via awful in-store campaigns which don't work. A new CEO every year! No overtime pay!

    Continue reading
    Evans Cycles2019-09-11
  4. Helpful (3)

    "I hate this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Evans Cycles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very few, if any in all honesty

    Cons

    Where do you start with such an awful company? Evans went bust for a reason, it’s run by morons. Seriously, HR is an un-funny joke, and the people in charge of retail?... incompetent. Don’t believe me, look at the financial reports, the stores are making good money but our head office leaders are spending (wasting) it away faster than we can earn it on trips to America, lavish expenses, half-thought out/dismally executed promotions (new campaigns but no stock, discount codes for free fitting but forgetting to advertise it - basically just giving money away - honestly you couldn’t make this up!) in any other company those responsible would get fired but in Evans Cycles that kind of incompetence gets you a promotion!! Can’t manage a region? Head up retail! Can’t manage company finances? Become CEO!

    Continue reading
    Evans Cycles2019-08-11
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Three years full time employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evans Cycles full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Any career below management is easy day to day Trade benefits are good if you cycle Shop team are great if you work for a good store Able to train on the mechanics of bikes and some sales

    Cons

    Little support at manager level Nobody seems to know what they are doing above manager level Allot of undermining from different departments Area management seems like you are trying to be caught out constantly and little effort is put in to guide you instead of belittle you Towards the end of my time at Evans Cycles it started to become far to corporate and cared less about its staff and custom.

    Continue reading
    Evans Cycles2019-02-18
  6. Helpful (2)

    "A great sense of purpose with a passionate team of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Evans Cycles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to work with not only a great shop team but also cross business relationships and great contact with suppliers and dealers

    Cons

    The change the company is going through to make it better for the future as this happening so quickly may not always have all the boats in a line before making the change. The change needs to be taken on by all people from CSO, distribution to shops and let past way of working that need to change to make ourselves better go and embrace a new way.

    Continue reading
    Evans Cycles2018-04-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Cheltenham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evans Cycles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees are all huge bike and cycling fans. Get to work with people from all walks of life across many disciplines. Staff discount scheme is huge (as good as a pay rise for any cyclist!). Great team atmosphere with a key focus on customer experience. Lots of focus on training and progressing employees through the ranks. Reasonable pay package for management.

    Cons

    can be a little bureaucratic. Targets can be quite challenging and the amount of work for management can be tricky to complete inside a 40 hour week. Sales staff need more recognition for the level of skill and knowledge they bring to a min wage job.

    Continue reading
    Evans Cycles2018-04-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great culture - great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Ipswich, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evans Cycles full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is a rider and is passionate about bikes Easy access to senior management who engage in conversation - it's 2-way Great training both in store and on line Get to check out latest bikes and gear at annual bikefest - for all colleagues Great discounts and Ride2work scheme

    Cons

    Systems and processes not the easiest to work with

    Continue reading
    Evans Cycles2018-04-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evans Cycles full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Employee Benefits, brilliant staff to work with, the senior management have a very proactive and hands on approach and care for their staff. There are new challenges weekly, and the Bonus scheme reflects store performance and encourages teamwork well. People who are proactive can progress quickly within the company and get recognition for achieving goals. Senior management know staff well and recognize when members of staff go above and beyond and always pass on a message to show the recognition directly to the employee in one form or another.

    Cons

    Wage could be better for the management roles as the pay increase does not seem to mirror the extra workload acquired. Completing some Tasks internally can be more longwinded than it needs to be. Bonus Scheme at management level is poorly designed, but is currently being improved.

    Continue reading
    Evans Cycles2018-04-07
  10. "Just the salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evans Cycles

    Pros

    Great Staff to work with overall. Trade Price on bikes and accessories Does well to provide great work life balance

    Cons

    Salary was poor for the amount of work being given. HR were terrible to deal with

    Continue reading
    Evans Cycles2017-02-16
Found 13 reviews