Evans Halshaw "dealership" Reviews | Glassdoor

Evans Halshaw Employee Reviews about "dealership"

Updated Jun 10, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
39%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Evans Halshaw Chief Operating Officer	 Martin Casha
Martin Casha
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Discount on cars is also atrocious(in 8 reviews)

  • "The dealership I work at is decent, not too highly strung in terms of sales targets or management(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "dealership"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    ".review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Evans Halshaw full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at the dealership was great; good camaraderie everyone gets along and helps each other out. Management (at dealership level) offered plenty of advice and were supportive. Company car was nice too.

    Cons

    As other reviewers have said already, the wage structure is poor. Within the two years I worked here, my contract changed twice. There were a lot of sales people who'd been with the company for a long period that left due to changing wage structures.

    Continue reading
    Evans Halshaw2018-06-10

    Evans Halshaw Response

    June 11, 2018Talent Team

    Thanks for leaving us a review, good to hear you enjoyed working with your team members. We are continuously developing our learning and development plans to ensure all team members are fully prepared to perform at their best in their role.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Slippery slop motors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Team Leader in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Evans Halshaw full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    At dealership the people are great and a pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    To many redundancies. Commission getting cut every year makes it to hard to make a decent wage. Give business managers a higher f&i target but cut sales commission on these products, you just end up with bm and team pulling in different directions. New ucm process a joke , changed to make it easy to use - NOT . Training nonexistent . Communication nonexistent. Time off nonexistent.

    Continue reading
    Evans Halshaw2018-05-31

    Evans Halshaw Response

    June 11, 2018Talent Team

    Thanks for leaving us a review. We will take your comments on board as we look to continuously improve for both our team members and customers.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Seriously, it should carry a Government Health Warning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carlisle, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Evans Halshaw full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company car, although now disappearing. At dealership level good managers and staff.

    Cons

    If the company would put as much effort into incentivising people as it does to find ways of not paying their staff, it could be great. 78% Staff attrition last year, are they all wrong ? Good sales people dont stay. Company response is to increase basic salary and withdraw commission, which results in good sales people leaving because their take home pay is more than halfed. If you have a team member who is earning 45 to 55 K, how is a salary 25 k going to work. I saw an advertisement they had recently stating that they were reinventing the whole customer experience, yeah well try looking after your staff firstly, and stop using this as an excuse to stop paying people. If you want good staff, then start paying them in the traditions of the motor trade. Anyone reading this in the Motor Trade in the UK, and you haven't worked for Evans Halshaw or Stratstone, do yourself a favour apply to work in a supermarket because you will not earn any money with them.

    Continue reading
    Evans Halshaw2018-05-27
  4. Helpful (3)

    "shocking commision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Car Salesman in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evans Halshaw full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good team spirit, friendly working environment ,good backup from managers ongoing training well organised in dealership

    Cons

    long hours ,not recognised by top level at head office for amount of work done only interested in making profit not in touch with floor level workers

    Continue reading
    Evans Halshaw2018-03-14

    Evans Halshaw Response

    March 19, 2018Talent Team

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Good to hear you enjoyed working with your team and had access to our great training programmes. We are currently reviewing salary structures across the business so have taken your comments on board regarding this.

    Continue reading
  5. "It is what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Evans Halshaw full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The dealership I work at is decent, not too highly strung in terms of sales targets or management. The company have a decent streamlined process for most things.

    Cons

    The pay plan isn't great and you will earn more elsewhere for the same job however it's all swings and roundabouts with stress and who you work for and with making it worth it.

    Continue reading
    Evans Halshaw2018-01-29

    Evans Halshaw Response

    March 12, 2018Talent Team

    Thanks for leaving us a review. Great to hear you enjoy working with us! We are currently reviewing the salary structure for the business so will take your feedback into consideration.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Evans Halshaw Car Store - Coventry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Evans Halshaw full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Apart from some colleagues and the initial training experience, I would say there were no pros to working there. If I didn't completely disagree with every aspect of how that dealership is ran, I would have said that there could have been potential to gain some good initial industry experience.

    Cons

    Shear lack of management, in any sense of the term. Poor customer service and care Encouraged to make a sale by any means Terrible pay and commission structure

    Continue reading
    Evans Halshaw2017-11-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 6 reviews