Eventbrite Manager Reviews

Updated May 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
91%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Eventbrite Co-Founder & CEO Julia Hartz
Julia Hartz
26 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great People, Growing Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, great office perks, creative team and cool industry.

    Cons

    Growing pains associated with a scaling company: some disorganization at the senior level can give individual contributors whiplash and cause burnout.

    Eventbrite2019-06-03

    Eventbrite Response

    June 11, 2019

    I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your time here overall and totally hear you on the fast growth. The senior leader team is working hard to provide more clarity and to sharpen our focus as we continue to scale. Thanks for taking a moment to share you experience - I appreciate the feedback. Vivian Chaves -- Community Director, San Francisco

  2. "Best job of my career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company was still <500 employees, but I loved the company culture.

    Cons

    The company didn't offer a lot of employee benefits at that time (401K, employee perks, etc.)

    Eventbrite2019-10-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Strong company enduring the chaos."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong, hard-working workforce that is committed to the success of the company. Amazing office with tons of amenities.

    Cons

    At times the culture can suffer due to unbalanced workloads. Hypergrowth pace causes instability and stress.

    Continue reading
    Eventbrite2019-01-09
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Making an Impact not just on Events but Me"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They weren't kidding when they advertise the 'take the time you need' policy. Even being a newer employee, they respect when you need to take some time off. The perks around wellness, meals being catered, a stocked kitchen, great benefits, are all legitimate. The onboarding experience was one of the best experiences I'd ever had and was extremely relevant to my role. Further, there is a clear understanding of growth in my role in how I can continue to expand my knowledge and leverage my talents to impact the company as well as my career. I also truly appreciate the obvious investments made in its employees (continuing education leveraging Udemy, internal training opportunities, etc.)

    Cons

    Nothing immediate comes to mind. With any company that is growing rapidly, there can be some pain points but I think due to the transparency of the CEO and its leaders, they do their best to get ahead of it. Recently the company endeavored on some reorganization. That hasn't been easy. But again, leaders have tried to be ahead of it. Compensation can always be a bit more realistic to the cost of living and the changing times. But, I'm grateful I have a job in the first place!

    Continue reading
    Eventbrite2018-11-05

    Eventbrite Response

    November 11, 2018

    Thank you for your thoughtful feedback and we will keep investing in you! - Julia Hartz, CEO

  5. Helpful (14)

    "Horrible 2-Year Experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Usual perks: free food/snacks, coffee, health benefits, nice office

    Cons

    I quit Eventbrite as soon as I was able. Despite the nice office/perks and facade of a "fun company culture", I did not enjoy working at Eventbrite. Don't be fooled by all the hyped 5-star reviews by entry-level new hires who don't know any better (yet). 1. Senior leader(s) of my department created a toxic, uncomfortable working environment. Complained to me about my own peers/colleagues, putting them down behind their backs. I've never experienced such unprofessionalism, and I was really disappointed about this. Given how frequently this happened, it was very hard to trust my managers: seeing them pretend to care about an employee, only to turn around the next moment and complain about them. I don't doubt that they've done the same to me. 2. Unappreciative. Leaders take their most diligent employees for granted. Constantly made heavy demands of the team to meet deadlines, but did NOT take the time to understand whether we had enough resources. Because of this, team would kill themselves working long hours just to hit deadlines, and management WON'T go out of their way to acknowledge dedication and hard work. On the other hand, if anything is less-than-perfect, then fingers ARE pointed and you'll get facetime with upper management to talk about what they don't like about you or your work. 3. No actual work/life balance. I was expected to return emails/calls in the evenings at home and while I was on vacation. I felt judged by my leaders whenever I asked to take any of my "unlimited PTO", even though I took less PTO than most others on my team. They were definitely counting days and letting you know they didn't like it. 4. Clique-y and cultist culture. Like a few others here have written, if you don't live and breathe Eventbrite, you don't fit in. Managers show favoritism.

    Continue reading
    Eventbrite2018-08-14

    Eventbrite Response

    August 21, 2018

    I regret you had this kind of experience at Eventbrite. Should you want to speak directly with me, you know my email and we can set up time to chat. We are always evolving our approach to leadership development and management training but it feels as if we really missed the mark for you in terms of an engaging and positive employee experience and for that, I'm truly sorry. -- Julia Hartz, CEO

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for, still some work to do"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Flexible work-from-home and vacation policies - Excellent benefits and perks (low-cost health insurance, daily catered lunch, wellness stipend to name a few). - The best collective group of people that I've ever worked with. Intelligent, empathetic, and innovative. Learned how to collaborate, fail, and lead through working with such talented folks. - Constant growth and change = Unparalleled professional development.

    Cons

    - There could be more intentional professional development for EB employees. Change and growth allow us to discover and develop our skillsets, but I often felt that the org could take a more active and intentional role in professional development. - Direct pay seems slightly under market value. Overall compensation package plus perks seem fair, all things considered.

    Continue reading
    Eventbrite2018-05-04

    Eventbrite Response

    May 11, 2018

    Thank you for sharing your feedback and advice on where we could invest and engage more in professional development. I agree and there is a lot under way to up-level our development work and intentional career coaching framework. My goal is to have a very different development experience humming by year's end and we're already seeing seeds of this sprout under Mary's leadership. Keep up the great feedback! - Julia Hartz, CEO

  7. "Best place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Caring and collaborative culture - Excellent benefits and perks - Ability to grow, think critically, and play a part in larger decision making - Thoughtful and invested leadership teams - Challenging and rewarding work environment

    Cons

    - Rapid growth has highlighted opportunities for better change management, but something that is already being quickly addressed by the company

    Eventbrite2018-04-18

    Eventbrite Response

    April 26, 2018

    Thank you for your feedback! Change management is something we always need to be developing but I'm glad you're seeing growth here. Thank you for all you do! - Julia Hartz, CEO

  8. Helpful (7)

    "Account Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This review is solely for the Sales Department as I can't speak for the rest of the company. Originally, I came to Eventbrite for the people, and they are still what keep me here. Awesome, motivated individuals work here and it's a pleasure to come to work each day and learn from them.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, as of late morale has been at an all time low. In an effort to become profitable, the company has been letting valuable individuals go without any explanation to the rest of the team. This has resulted in a culture of fear and feelings of being disposable. Sales leadership doesn't make an effort to retain smart, driven and reliable employees, and Sales employees don't feel valued or heard by Sales leadership, creating a rift and a very top-down driven atmosphere. I wish I could say I feel like I could grow my career at Eventbrite but in it's current state, I feel disposable, overworked, underpaid, and frustrated.

    Continue reading
    Eventbrite2016-11-15

    Eventbrite Response

    November 17, 2016Eventbrite

    I agree that we get to work with truly incredible people every day! It's one of the reasons I love working at Eventbrite as well. Change can always be hard, and I hear your feedback and concerns. I believe we are on the cusp of something big, and we've all had to work extremely hard this year to help Eventbrite reach those stretch goals. I greatly appreciate the contribution of everyone on the team, and never want team members to feel undervalued for their contributions or disposable in any way. Though we strongly believe in transparency at Eventbrite, explanations around why an individual has left the team are a personal matter. It is important to respect an individual's privacy when they leave the organization, and it is not my place to call out the reason that an employee is leaving or share specific details. That said, I am a firm believer in promoting and embracing a culture of honest and open employee feedback, and I would love to chat with you directly about ways we can work together to address your concerns and ensure that your voice and ideas are heard. I would encourage you to reach out to me or your manager to discuss further. --- Paul Liebman, Sr. Director, Account Management

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Great People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Sales Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time

    Pros

    - Thoughtful approach to every aspect of the business and culture - Surrounded by incredibly talented and creative people every day - Dog friendly - Start-up mentality gives everyone the opportunity to share their ideas and be heard

    Cons

    - Must be able to innovate and rapidly respond to a versatile platform, at a growing Company, in a complex industry.

    Continue reading
    Eventbrite2016-09-09
  10. "A Great Choice"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite

    Pros

    Eventbrite is a forward thinking company. Having worked for some very large organizations throughout my career, I can say that what makes Eventbrite unique is that it has the established processes and leadership structures in place that feel like a big corporation, but the culture, ethos, and workplace are still very rooted in the fun and exciting startup mentality. With cutting edge benefits like free daily lunch, all you can eat snacks (lots of choices), and a "take the time you need" PTO policy, Eventbrite has positioned itself to be a unique employer.

    Cons

    At times, the startup mentality can clash with the need for corporate-like processes, creating a push-pull for resources.

    Eventbrite2016-08-18
Found 35 reviews