Eventbrite Reviews

Updated Jan 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
68%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
Eventbrite Co-Founder & CEO Julia Hartz
Julia Hartz
204 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Fun while it lasted"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I liked my team at Eventbrite

    Cons

    Getting fired in a zoom meeting with 60 other people

    Eventbrite Response

    September 8, 2020

    Thank you for this feedback and best of luck on your next role - DH

  2. "Great place to work, passionate coworkers."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you're into the music and live events industry this is the place for you! A very passionate group employees in the SF office excited to get people out and experiencing events.

    Cons

    Sometimes it felt as if the whole company was working for the sales team while the organic side of the business was left with less attention.

    Eventbrite Response

    September 8, 2020

    Thank you for this feedback and 10-4 on being better at focusing our attention. DH


  3. "Cool"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They leave you alone for the most part.

    Cons

    No much rooms for upward movement

    Eventbrite Response

    September 8, 2020

    Thank you for this feedback. We're going to work on the upward movement issue across the company. Agree this is a vital part of a good work experience. - DH

  4. COVID-19

    "Senior leadership cares only about the stock price"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Customer Success Manager in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This was a nice place to work before COVID-19. It had its faults but I felt comfortable in my role and had the support I needed from my team to do my job.

    Cons

    Senior leadership seems most eager to please shareholders by any means necessary and are more loyal to shareholders than employees. Do not work here if you can help it.

    Continue reading

    Eventbrite Response

    September 8, 2020

    Hey there. Sorry for your experience and wish you well on your next journey. We have indeed talked about stock internally. Employees are shareholders and the stock is part of everyone's compensation. We also think there is an opportunity to better understand stock as a way of better understanding the business. I appreciate your feedback about the executive team and we'll spend time thinking about this. - DH

  5. "Good employees, terribly experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, can work remotely

    Cons

    It's very clear that the company doesn't value their employees input, even when they have experience that could be helpful.

    Eventbrite Response

    September 8, 2020

    Thank you for this feedback. We do value employee feedback greatly and are going to talk about the annual survey results later this month & build an action plan against it. I hope you're able to take part in those discussions. In any event, thank you for this feedback and I'll have this in mind as we're diving into the survey results. - DH

  6. Helpful (3)

    "Lack of vision, focus, and integrity"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Customer Success Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time

    Pros

    - tons talent & experience with individual contributors - strong marketing tools

    Cons

    - Leadership was often weak and uninformed - Company goals shifted often, making it impossible to deliver - Massive amount of technical debt / ineffective triaging of long standing issues - Tone deaf to needs of music customers

    Eventbrite Response

    June 23, 2020

    Thank you for sharing this input. We're hopeful to make progress in the areas you highlighted here. Best of luck in your next gig! - DH

  7. "Well meaning. Falls short"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of perks. Was exciting for a while during IPO

    Cons

    Disorganized. Over processed. Don’t walk their talk.

    Eventbrite Response

    June 23, 2020

    Thanks for your contributions to Eventbrite during such a formative few years. Best of luck in your next role! - DH

  8. COVID-19
    Helpful (5)

    "Used to be a great place to work, but has crumbled in recent years"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -People: Despite an incredibly understaffed recruiting team, Eventbrite has traditionally hired really amazing, talented and motivated people. (That said, a majority have left over the past 3 years or were let go in the recent 45% layoffs.) -Ability to make an impact: Have felt that in all my roles there was opportunity to make a measurable impact on the business -Great office location & decent benefits -Eventbrite often promotes from within and/or encourages movement within the company, which is great -I think Eventbrite intends to care about culture and communication and wants to improve both. I don't feel that's been successful during my time here, but I do believe they want to improve.

    Cons

    -Poor executive leadership - Has gotten better since Lanny Baker (CFO) arrived, but over the past few years leadership from above has turned over constantly, and messaging has been inconsistent and uninspiring. -Knee-jerk changes of direction constantly - constantly switching priorities & restructuring every 10 months -CEO is all fluff. She's great at the vague, motivational speeches, but doesn't provide any true strategic leadership -On the low end of the pay scale for SF -Actions don't match words. They say they care about certain things, but don't back that up with the decisions they make

    Continue reading

    Eventbrite Response

    May 12, 2020

    Hey - appreciate your feedback here on both fronts. Agree on the importance of alignment. I think we're aligned at the exec level but understand we need to do more work to articulate our direction more and more, particularly in the COVID world we're in. Many thanks for the 5+ years and all you've done to build Eventbrite. Good luck on the next chapter! - DH

  9. Helpful (3)

    "Enduring culture, despite change"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good-hearted and smart people Good brand Hiring good leaders Detailed communications Improving in how we work

    Cons

    Tough circumstances with the RIF recently Need to better articulate strategies Pivot more into virtual events

    Continue reading
  10. "Good Place to Work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great benefits (unlimited vacation, free lunch, commuter benefits, etc.). Lots of opportunity to do work that impacts the whole company. Strong culture of experimentation, learning from the past, and continuous improvement.

    Cons

    Top level leadership has shown a willingness to experiment, admit when they're wrong, and change direction... unfortunately they seem to make a lot of wrong guesses and not many right ones.

    Eventbrite Response

    May 19, 2020

    Many thanks for this constructive feedback - DH

Viewing 11 - 20 of 365 English Reviews