Eventbrite Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
72%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Eventbrite Co-Founder & CEO Julia Hartz
Julia Hartz
188 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Strong company enduring the chaos."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong, hard-working workforce that is committed to the success of the company. Amazing office with tons of amenities.

    Cons

    At times the culture can suffer due to unbalanced workloads. Hypergrowth pace causes instability and stress.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Making an Impact not just on Events but Me"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They weren't kidding when they advertise the 'take the time you need' policy. Even being a newer employee, they respect when you need to take some time off. The perks around wellness, meals being catered, a stocked kitchen, great benefits, are all legitimate. The onboarding experience was one of the best experiences I'd ever had and was extremely relevant to my role. Further, there is a clear understanding of growth in my role in how I can continue to expand my knowledge and leverage my talents to impact the company as well as my career. I also truly appreciate the obvious investments made in its employees (continuing education leveraging Udemy, internal training opportunities, etc.)

    Cons

    Nothing immediate comes to mind. With any company that is growing rapidly, there can be some pain points but I think due to the transparency of the CEO and its leaders, they do their best to get ahead of it. Recently the company endeavored on some reorganization. That hasn't been easy. But again, leaders have tried to be ahead of it. Compensation can always be a bit more realistic to the cost of living and the changing times. But, I'm grateful I have a job in the first place!

    Continue reading

    Eventbrite Response

    November 11, 2018

    Thank you for your thoughtful feedback and we will keep investing in you! - Julia Hartz, CEO

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Are We Really Happy?"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * The management has really improved over the last year. I think Eventbrite actually tries hard to make sure employees are happy, but there is something missing and hence a handful of good people already left. * Great work-life balance. * Some of the smartest and kindest people. There is a few people who are not that good but there is few of them. * Free lunches * Work across the world as there is more acquisitions if you are lucky * Unlike salary, benefits are pretty good

    Cons

    * Pay quite below the average for engineers * If you are one of the hire up favorites, your concerns are more likely to be addressed. Same goes in engineering. Not much gets done unless you are one of the people who is "respected". It's a bit biased to be honest. * As someone already mentioned, behind that good exterior there is hidden lies and lack of enthusiasm.

    Continue reading

    Eventbrite Response

    November 11, 2018

    It's disappointing to hear your experience at Eventbrite but I do appreciate you sharing your candid feedback. Should you have more detail you'd like to share directly with me, you know how to find me! Thanks - Julia Hartz, CEO

  4. "Marketing"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time

    Pros

    The people are smart and hardworking

    Cons

    Lots of competing and constantly shifting priorities.

    Eventbrite Response

    October 29, 2018

    Hi there - thanks for your feedback. We're always striving to simplify our strategy and realize that in a fast growth environment, there's a great need for excellent communication and context setting so one can be nimble and understand the "why." I'd put us at a "work in progress" on that front and any specific advise you may have, please don't hesitate to reach out directly. - Julia Hartz, CEO

  5. "Sales Development Representative at Eventbrite"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Development Representative in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Workplace culture. Great benefits, monthly wellness stipend, free lunch everyday, keg in the kitchen, happy hours all the time, pet friendly, ping pong table.

    Cons

    On the sales side - mostly young, outgoing recent college grads. Can feel a bit like high school or college (sort of fratty).

    Continue reading

    Eventbrite Response

    October 29, 2018

    Thanks for your great feedback here - I appreciate the specificity. - Julia Hartz, CEO

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Best workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    One of the best companies I've ever worked for. The SF office has all the amenities you could ask for. Plenty of meeting rooms, large cafeteria with free breakfast once a week, lunch 4 days a week and dinner twice a week. All the snacks and drinks you want. Awesome people to work with!

    Cons

    Salary and stocks a little on the lower side compares to other tech companies.

    Eventbrite Response

    August 21, 2018

    Thank you for your feedback! We're always looking at our compensation practices and leveling including the overall total rewards and in comparison to the local area. Please keep the feedback coming. -- Julia Hartz, CEO

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Hope you like Orange Koolaid"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love the people I work closely with.

    Cons

    Less so the people I don't work closely with, including the muddly section of middle management that seem to have forgotten the value of communication.

    Eventbrite Response

    October 29, 2018

    I'm sorry to hear your experience working here and would love to hear more in order to help guide our communication practices going forward. - Julia Hartz, CEO

  8. Helpful (6)

    "Regaining Momentum"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    After a bumpy road for the past few years, it feels like we're finally getting back on track in a lot of ways. Some things stayed good throughout the difficulties - good coworkers, good work/life balance, a positive atmosphere, and the priceless opportunity to work alongside the talented and hilarious Randy Befumo.

    Cons

    HR is still getting back on its feet, so a lot of the issues on that side are still not under control. Benefits are good, but salaries still aren't competitive against similarly-sized companies in the Bay Area. A lot of folks are operating like we're still a startup underdog, but others expect us to act like a huge, cautious company. That tension can be confusing and leads to mixed messages from our leaders. Not everyone in a leadership position is qualified or ready to lead other people, so be prepared to lean on their peers for help. We were largely centralized in SF for a really long time, so the transition to being a global company with teams spanning continents has been a tricky one. I think we will get there, but it's a painful thing to navigate while we figure it out.

    Continue reading

    Eventbrite Response

    August 21, 2018

    Thank you for your point of view! As a member of the team for a few years, you've definitely seen evolution - that's for sure. :) . I appreciate your advice to be thoughtful about upcoming leaders and mid-level managers. From what I experience, I believe we are poised to lean into the development of all leaders in the organization from a much stronger starting point than ever before. Keep up the great feedback - it's very helpful! --Julia Hartz, CEO

  9. "Refreshing experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agile Coach in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Eventbrite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lot's of freedom to be me and use my skills and talents. I find the environment welcoming, warm, and collaborative.

    Cons

    Though I've not yet been told no on training and conference spending. I'm also unclear how the decisions are made. I'd like more clarity here.

    Eventbrite Response

    August 21, 2018

    Thank you for your feedback and also for the request to hear more about how decisions are made! That's helpful in guiding where we can be more precise in our communication. -- Julia Hartz, CEO

  10. Helpful (14)

    "Horrible 2-Year Experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Eventbrite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Usual perks: free food/snacks, coffee, health benefits, nice office

    Cons

    I quit Eventbrite as soon as I was able. Despite the nice office/perks and facade of a "fun company culture", I did not enjoy working at Eventbrite. Don't be fooled by all the hyped 5-star reviews by entry-level new hires who don't know any better (yet). 1. Senior leader(s) of my department created a toxic, uncomfortable working environment. Complained to me about my own peers/colleagues, putting them down behind their backs. I've never experienced such unprofessionalism, and I was really disappointed about this. Given how frequently this happened, it was very hard to trust my managers: seeing them pretend to care about an employee, only to turn around the next moment and complain about them. I don't doubt that they've done the same to me. 2. Unappreciative. Leaders take their most diligent employees for granted. Constantly made heavy demands of the team to meet deadlines, but did NOT take the time to understand whether we had enough resources. Because of this, team would kill themselves working long hours just to hit deadlines, and management WON'T go out of their way to acknowledge dedication and hard work. On the other hand, if anything is less-than-perfect, then fingers ARE pointed and you'll get facetime with upper management to talk about what they don't like about you or your work. 3. No actual work/life balance. I was expected to return emails/calls in the evenings at home and while I was on vacation. I felt judged by my leaders whenever I asked to take any of my "unlimited PTO", even though I took less PTO than most others on my team. They were definitely counting days and letting you know they didn't like it. 4. Clique-y and cultist culture. Like a few others here have written, if you don't live and breathe Eventbrite, you don't fit in. Managers show favoritism.

    Continue reading

    Eventbrite Response

    August 21, 2018

    I regret you had this kind of experience at Eventbrite. Should you want to speak directly with me, you know my email and we can set up time to chat. We are always evolving our approach to leadership development and management training but it feels as if we really missed the mark for you in terms of an engaging and positive employee experience and for that, I'm truly sorry. -- Julia Hartz, CEO

Found 343 reviews