Evernote Reviews

Updated May 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
68%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Evernote CEO Ian Small
Ian Small
16 Ratings
Pros
  • "For the most part, good work/life balance for a startup(in 17 reviews)

  • "Easy going and casual atmosphere, cool and smart people(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing pains are definitely happening right now, but this is all part of growth as a company(in 9 reviews)

  • "Upper management is questionable, at best(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "I love working for Evernote and I wouldn't have been able to start a new career path without their support"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evernote full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Supportive team/leaders - I grew in my initial role then completely changed directions and started down a new career path. If you put in the work, they want to see you grow. * Great benefits, paid health employee portion insurance being a huge one. * Fun office culture (snacks, parties, open layout but also quiet breakout rooms) * Awesome product that will just keep getting better * Constant opportunity to learn and innovate * Still small enough to allow individual impact and cross department collaboration

    Cons

    * Not everyone is equally great at remote work / working across offices * Attrition in places like the bay area

    Continue reading
    Evernote2019-11-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evernote full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very humanistic Love the leadership Exciting technology Great Benefits Fantastic co-workers High caliber Talent

    Cons

    None...better than any company I’ve ever worked for.

    Continue reading
    Evernote2020-05-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Evernote is a great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Bothell, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evernote full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    * free lunch * people are nice * technical people are very professional * VPE is a great person

    Cons

    * Private company, which doesn't provide stocks

    Evernote2020-05-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Engineer 

    I have been working at Evernote full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work with

    Cons

    Not sure the exit strategy of the company

    Evernote2020-04-29
  5. "It is in a fossilized state."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evernote full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch CEO is trying hard Some engineers are trying hard as well.

    Cons

    If you are a developer or engineer in Bay Area do not work at this company.Company is way past its prime, name and as well as the product.They can't afford to hire in Bay Area. They openly admit it & it shows in what sort of hires they have made. Lot of the positive reviews are from folks in Austin and other locations. If you are in Austin, then I guess this is the best deal in town. Oh, btw, Austin folks blow lot of hot air. Must be a Texas thing, like their big diesel trucks blowing lot of smoke. You will see a pattern here on Glassdoor. A negative review is immediately followed by a bunch of 'coached' glowing reviews. When I was there they used to 'gently remind' folks to do positive Glassdoor reviews. Lot of folks here think that they ought to be at Google that is the level of delusion folks are afflicted with. Old timers wax about how company was once worth 1 billion dollars.Who cares, lot of 1B companies in Bay Area that have come and gone. Product is OK but really shows its age. Architecture and design from early 2000s.Nothing cutting edge about what it does and how it works. No real innovation here.If you call writing a new app in React then yeah this company is the most innovative. My favorite;QA team. Majority of the team is happy copying/pasting code to demonstrate that they can write code to test code. Some don't even pretend to do that instead they will drop names. If Evernote wasn't a passe name this wouldn't be even funny in any other company in Bay Area.

    Evernote2020-05-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great team work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evernote full-time

    Pros

    CEO, team, benefit, career, impact

    Cons

    None that I can think of now

    Evernote2020-03-07
  7. "Great product and great people who do excellent work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evernote full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced environment with dedicated team members who work hard to continue to evolve the product. Transparent and inspiring CEO has the company well aligned with each other.

    Cons

    Working through some tech debt challenges. The right thing to do, but want to get back to building new features.

    Continue reading
    Evernote2020-02-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Fit for Me, Lots of Room to Grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evernote full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Highly collaborative, transparent leadership (after 2018 changes) * Company regularly recognizes and promotes strong contributors * Relatively high concentration of knowledgeable, skilled developers * Opportunities to contribute cross-functionally (few "stay in your lane" attitudes) * Strong brand and passionate user base means your work will be recognized and have impact Shortly after I joined, I was considering quitting. Luckily the much-needed leadership changes in 2018 have set the company back on the path of improvement.

    Cons

    * Relatively small development team to support such a huge user base and brand * Lots of tech debt and historical decisions to work through * The drastic (bold?) technical/product decisions in the works haven't been tangibly proven in the market yet; TBD

    Evernote2019-12-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Love my job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evernote full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great benefits Room for growth and growth is encouraged - Micro-management is non existent (for me at least ) - Fabulous perks (onsite gym and shower, weekly breakfast, daily lunch, weekly massages - Pleasant co-workers -Work life balance

    Cons

    I have no cons to share.

    Evernote2019-12-09
  10. "Great people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager of Customer Success 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evernote full-time

    Pros

    Great people working here.

    Cons

    Pockets of employees are rude.

    Evernote2019-12-10
Found 191 reviews