Evidera Reviews | Glassdoor

Evidera Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Evidera CEO Karen Kaucic (no image)
Karen Kaucic
4 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Excellent place to work! Great culture and a growing business."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evidera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture that really cares about the employees. Very talented people and high energy environment. Amazing diversity at this company which is a competitive advantage.

    Cons

    There really isn’t any cons. I would say that it’s hard to find the right talent and scientific expertise to support our services. The manual systems and processes need to catch up to the growth.

    Evidera2018-05-12
  2. "Good company for starting career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Associate 

    I worked at Evidera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sharp learning curves exposure to lots of interesting projects hands on experience

    Cons

    Working environment is not collaborative long working hours not enough training for newbies

    Evidera2019-10-07
  3. "Ever Changing Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evidera full-time

    Pros

    Strong opportunity to learn key scientific needs of the client

    Cons

    Lots of plates to keep spinning

    Advice to Management

    Consider standardized modules for training new staff

    Evidera2018-12-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Collaborative and flexible work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate III in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evidera full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Competitive salary + annual bonus -Opportunity for advancement -Friendly co-workers, a lot of collaboration, and everyone seems motivated to do good work. -Even though it is a fairly large company, it often has a much smaller feel. There is a lot of flexibility around hours worked and use of PTO, and upper management seems committed to making sure all voices are heard and employees are satisfied.

    Cons

    -Fair amount of bureaucracy (procedures and forms can be a bit excessive at times), but this is of course a balancing act. Upper management also seems open to trying to streamline things where possible. -Health insurance is not spectacular (but not terrible) -Combined PTO bank that includes both sick leave and vacation time (not separate) -Many employees seem overworked/stressed, but they are continuing to hire... new staff, which should eventually help with workload.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Explore other health insurance options that cover a wider array of services at a better rate (i.e., chiropractic adjustments and massages). -Consider separating sick leave and vacation time. -Continue soliciting employee feedback to help streamline processes.

    Evidera2018-12-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good quality people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist 

    I have been working at Evidera full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Bright engaging coworkers. Interesting collaborations in the works.

    Cons

    Typical pressures of a consulting firm. Interesting collaborations go to upper management.

    Evidera2018-12-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to start your career journey"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Evidera full-time

    Pros

    nice training, friendly people to work with, sponsor your external training oppurtunity

    Cons

    salary is not ideal, at least not as competitive as other companies

    Advice to Management

    could provide more internal training

    Evidera2018-08-30
  7. "Research associates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evidera full-time

    Pros

    Quality good, great team, reputation

    Cons

    No any major cons in mind

    Evidera2018-08-09
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Unpleasant work environment ever since acquisition by PPD in 2016"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Access Consultant in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Evidera full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -enjoyable working relationships with coworkers and project managers -project work is intellectually challenging -global nature of project work -our reputation with our clients

    Cons

    -IT and infrastructure: this is a big one and a direct consequence of merging systems with PPD; I am based in Waltham/Boston office and we do not have appropriate systems, tools, or work equipment; makes day-to-day life exhausting and tedious; Upper management / Jon Williams is not based in this office so little gets done to address IT and infrastructure problems here (so this may not be the case in the Bethesda... office) -Working in an environment with lots of bureaucracy -Work/life balance is not optimal -Base salary and benefits (vacation time and health insurance package in particular) is sub-par -Few opportunities for career and professional development -Few opportunities for formal and informal training -Office morale has been so poor since PPD acquisition

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -It doesn't matter what your mission and growth plans for the company are - if you don't have infrastructure to support that growth, your teams are going to fall apart -Consulting is a people business - you need to care about your people at all levels

    Evidera2018-06-13

    Evidera Response

    June 18, 2018VP, HR

    This review was obviously written by an unhappy employee. I will acknowledge that there have been substantial IT and infrastructure issues that need patience and vigilance to resolve. They have nothing to do with where one sits or where our President sits - as he has had problems himself. The challenge comes from our infrastructure being outdated and merged into that of a much larger company. With regard to the other issues identified, I respectfully disagree. As you will see from the majority of the reviews, employees feel good about benefits and career opportunities and we are continuing to enhance both to meet the needs of our highly skilled employee population.

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Great work environment, average benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Evidera full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - interesting work - variety of projects - given autonomy - having a phd is a plus, as others have mentioned

    Cons

    -poor time off arrangements - combing sick and vacation and only 17 days for new starters that only climbs a day a year is tough to work with - health insurance isn't the best - very last minute, panic working environment at times, which can be stressful - training is poor, as is mentor/buddy system

    Advice to Management

    - give people more time off - I started with 20, 25 at 2 years and 30 at 5 years, but all the poor people who started after 2013 are stressed by pto and never get a break - better training is needed, or at least better buddy scheme

    Evidera2018-05-15
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Unsuccessful leadership and no interest in personal development of employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Waltham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Evidera full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Sometimes relatively acceptable work-life balance -Nice people -Low travel requirements -Some interesting projects

    Cons

    - leadership unable to attract/retain clients - upper management uninterested in personal/professional development of employees - lack of training opportunities - low pay & horrible health benefits & few vacation days - in-transparent promotions - upper management disloyal to employees - I once heard someone describe office morale as "soul deadening" and I can't think of a more accurate adjective -... Other comments on here have mentioned IT/infrastructure problems and I would second that. Tough to love work when your internet access is running the speed of dial-up. It's 2018. Let's fix this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Merging with PPD was everything bad about merging with a big CRO and nothing good.

    Evidera2018-06-28
Found 89 reviews