Evidon Reviews | Glassdoor

Evidon Reviews

Updated Apr 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Scott Meyer
31 Ratings
  1. Helpful (15)

    "Lack of Vision and Misinformation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sandy, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Evidon for more than a year

    Pros

    Stocked fridges. Paid insurance premiums.

    Cons

    Misinformation was shared with employees to try and convince them that the company is doing great. They have a saying of not taking yourself too serious but most of the people are arrogant and self-absorbed. Most of them didn't have the knowledge to back up their position. All the knowledge left a long time ago. Current folks are just trying to keep the lights on. There was always an overall feeling of uncertainty....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just let the company die. The market has proven that the product that you are trying to build isn't needed.

    Evidon2016-11-03
  2. Helpful (13)

    "It's about time someone put this pony out of it's misery"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Evidon for more than a year

    Pros

    - Not a lot to put here. - There were some smart people, but not many, and now they've all gone. - Solid browser extension, but it makes no money.

    Cons

    - Excessive drinking especially during work time. No wonder the revenues are down the pan. - CEO who seems to thrive on randomly firing people. 1 every 2 weeks is the general cadence. Not to mention the annual house cleaning of 50%+ - If you're not in the in-crowd you need not apply, if you're in the in-crowd you need not work.

    Advice to Management

    Less to management and more to the VC's. It's time to get a decent management team in who knows what their doing.

    Evidon2016-11-03
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Incredible Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Data Analyst in Sandy, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Evidon for less than a year

    Pros

    -International company with the branding to break into foreign markets to make some serious cash. -Free Food -People exercise together / hiking group -The CEO travels to Utah a lot from NYC. He was even willing to talk to someone like me, a part time jr. data analyst (kinda cool).

    Cons

    I only had problems with one person there. A pretty awesome ratio for a company.

    Evidon2016-08-05
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Once great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at Evidon

    Pros

    - It had an amazing startup culture the first few years

    Cons

    - They decided to switch to proprietary tech stack from open source tech for no apparent reason other than to make the company appear more "enterprise" - Directionless at the product level - Lots of turn over

    Evidon2016-08-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Ghostery has been great to work for from the start...and is getting better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sandy, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evidon for more than a year

    Pros

    Ghostery has figured out how to do agile software development effectively. They make an effort to make it a fun and interesting place to work...and generally succeed. They are a big player in the small privacy niche. They understand that great software development takes time, and they plan that into their schedules. They are very respectful of work/life balance. I have worked very little overtime since I've been...

    Show More

    Cons

    Still a fairly small company and are affected by small ups and downs. Need to keep up with the market trends in growing technical salaries.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. You seem to be striking a good balance.

    Evidon2016-07-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Evidon full-time

    Pros

    Great high growth company with a great culture. True agile development process. Exciting product in a new and growing market.

    Cons

    Usual growing pains of a small company that is growing fast.

    Evidon2016-05-31
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Really unique company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Evidon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We occupy a unique niche in the industry that no one else does, and the employees are very close and works together as a team

    Cons

    Long hours and the split offices is a bit of a challenge

    Evidon2016-05-05
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great people with a purpose!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evidon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    For me it always starts with the people, and the people I work with (and for) at Ghostery are the real deal -- passionate, smart, dedicated and fun. Now, mix in a suite of products that meet real needs in an under served market, and you have the potential for an explosive future. Ghostery is a fun place to be, a great place to contribute and learn, and has a tremendous upside in terms of the future.

    Cons

    1) Co-Location. Ideally this great team would all be co-located, and although it has gotten and continues to get better, we still sometimes struggle with communication between offices. 2) There are so many opportunities to improve and build upon our products, that focus has been a challenge. But a recently expanded Product Management team, along with a cohesive executive management team, are working towards getting...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Mostly, keep doing what you've been doing: - Continue to find and maintain the balance between focus and agility. - Continue to attract, hire, develop and retain top talent.

    Evidon2015-11-11
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Lost its soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Evidon full-time

    Pros

    Fairly flexible, engineering-driven culture working on some interesting problems but the business' future isn't clear and the nature of the business is a bit dry (privacy).

    Cons

    There were some great people at Ghostery but the CEO allowed/pushed them to leave and it's never been the same.

    Advice to Management

    Trust the people who are working for you and don't lose great people to internal politics. Set a clear vision for 5 years from today.

    Evidon2015-09-09
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great culture and solid vision for the future - lots of potential!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evidon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tight knit community in both core offices Culture of getting your job done while having fun Company is still at a size where you will take on a lot of diverse responsibilities but also have the opportunity to grow with your experience

    Cons

    Hard to find one - not a con, but just be prepared to contribute! There is no room at this company for coasters or freeloaders - this is a high performing team!

    Advice to Management

    Continue galvanizing the company around a common vision Keep looking for ways to keep culture strong Develop and invest in the talent already on board

    Evidon2015-07-30
Found 42 reviews