Evolent Health Senior Director Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Senior Director

Evolent Health Senior Director Reviews

Updated Apr 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

1.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
23%
Recommend to a Friend
1%
Approve of CEO
Evolent Health CEO Frank Williams
Frank Williams
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Happy to be Here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Evolent Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers and an environment that encourages innovation and meaningful change to health care and its delivery. Culture and values here are not just lip service!

    Cons

    No organization is perfect. Having employee stock benefits as part of variable compensation would significantly improve the alignment of employees with Evolent's long term growth and success.

    Advice to Management

    Include stock as part of variable compensation. One senior executive seems to practice an "Emperor's New Clothes" management style and purge dissenting opinions which is inconsistent with the rest of the organization. Otherwise, keep up the great work!

    Evolent Health2016-01-26
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Great company, but getting difficult to stay motivated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Evolent Health full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, PTO, great people, pay

    Cons

    So many recent changes that it's difficult to know where to focus as it feels like we are just waiting for priorities to shift again. It's not "fun" to work here any more. No events or team building activities.

    Advice to Management

    It sounds so silly, but having no events or team-bonding activities to look forward to throughout the year adds more to the burnout. I wouldn't have thought that those things were that important prior to them being discontinued. Senior Leadership and certain teams within BD or GTM seem to still have funds to do activities -- but the rest of the business, not so much. Senior leaders go on "retreats". That kind of thing...

    Show More
    Evolent Health2019-04-05

    Evolent Health Response

    April 16, 2019

    We completely understand what you mean. We miss having team bonding events and activities as well. There are loads of alternatives to company sponsored events and we’d be happy to help brain storm (team pizza lunches, utilizing quarterly volunteer days as a team, etc.) Please let ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (11)

    "Think twice before considering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Evolent Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Healthy snacks; flexible telework policies; great location

    Cons

    Poorly managed organization; focus is entirely on financial bottom line. Activities and decisions do not reflect verbiage of leadership. No transparency. Still a start up and boys club in many ways.

    Advice to Management

    Decisions should reflect that you actually care about the health of health plan partner members; words are empty without action. Stop investing money in crappy IT systems that don’t serve the needs of staff or clients.

    Evolent Health2019-03-04
  4. Helpful (19)

    "The fall of Evolent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Evolent Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and sabbatical after 5 years

    Cons

    The Evolent mission is to change the way health care is delivered. I realized after spending 4 years here they do not care about the client patient or employee. They care about Frank Williams only cares about being the big dog. They talk about diversity and inclusion they are run by middle aged white men. They give themselves leadship awards while they work their staff 14 hour days and cheat them out of 100% of their...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember what you said the mission was and get back to that. Do not send pics of taking your family to Europe which cost more then most of the employees paid for their car

    Evolent Health2019-02-14
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Sr Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Evolent Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All good most of the time.

    Cons

    Hard place to work most of the time

    Evolent Health2018-09-27
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Great mission. Poor margin. No margin, no mission!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Evolent Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Progressive company with lofty goal driving transformative change in the value based health care space. While there is impressive innovation taking place across their Identify platform, most other company offerings are flat.

    Cons

    For a company that touts itself an innovation and change leader, much of the time they play the role of opportunist instead of innovator. Finding margin by operating government programs doesn't help differentiate the company from the 100's of other players that are vying for the same market share. Leaders assigned to oversee lines of business they have no prior experience in. This has stifled production, decreased morale...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Huge drop off in talent, experience and responsiveness and from ELT to Sr. Leadership.

    Evolent Health2017-01-07
  7. "Extremely dynamic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Evolent Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team and talented individuals Outstanding overall mission vision and key principles Dynamic and goal oriented Huge outstanding market opportunity Wide network and variety of partners

    Cons

    Crunch times often Market is diversifying so company chases many directions at once A lot of partners who are technologically or ideologically not on the same page

    Advice to Management

    New initiatives need clearer alignment with the existing solutions. Depth and quality (vs. breadth/quantity) needs more attention, IMO.

    Evolent Health2015-07-03

    Evolent Health Response

    July 6, 2015Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are consistently trying to improve our company and encourage you to reach out to our HR team at humanresources@evolenthealth.com with any thoughts or suggestions you might have.

  8. Helpful (22)

    "Think twice, then think again before joining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Evolent Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are lots of smart and friendly staff who genuinely believe in the organization's vision. The benefit package is one of the best I've ever had.

    Cons

    The company has grown too fast and the organization hasn't been able to develop a consistent culture. Some teams are better than others, but the below characterize some of the themes I experienced across the company. 1) There are many people in management positions that have little or no leadership experience, which results in micro-management and poor use of talent. 2) Lack of collaboration across the company...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Evaluate how you hire/promote people into leadership roles. Make sure that people in those roles have the skills and experience needed to be successful and develop their direct reports.

    Evolent Health2014-12-18

    Evolent Health Response

    December 25, 2014Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We appreciate and value all feedback and are always open to hearing suggestions regarding Evolent's improvement. Please feel free to share your concerns with our HR team at humanresources@evolenthealth.com

  9. Helpful (4)

    "Exciting and challenging start-up environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Arlington, VA

    I have been working at Evolent Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Dynamic - lots of projects happening simultaneously Great opportunity to grow and learn Extremely high caliber of overall talent at all levels throughout the organization

    Cons

    Startup environment - scope and structure of projects is constantly in flux Evolving set of expectations Bit of a trial by fire the first few weeks until you can get up to speed

    Evolent Health2013-03-15
Found 9 reviews