Evolv Reviews | Glassdoor

Evolv Reviews

Updated May 24, 2016

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
51%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Evolv CEO Max Simkoff (no image)
Max Simkoff
4 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Evolv

    Pros

    Great company, lots of opportunity to advance. I enjoyed my time here, the people, the product and the work we were doing.

    Cons

    Like anywhere, there were managers who didn't want to do their part. Company dissolved several departments/downsized which was the only reason I no longer work there.

    Evolv2016-05-24
  2. "Evolv will evolve in time to a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Evolv full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, wfh option, weekly caterered lunch, happy hours, growing team, nice people, CEO is involved and positive, hands on learning, growth opportunities

    Cons

    Bad management, low pay, product not yet ready, sometimes hard to get direction, not everyone always pulls weight, focus on sales over product

    Evolv2016-01-13
  3. "Could be a good company but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Evolv full-time

    Pros

    Ability to work from home

    Cons

    Revolving door. People were constantly being let go. Ended up leaving because there was no job security. 3 weeks later my whole group was let go.

    Continue reading
    Evolv2015-05-11
  4. "A lot of pivots and not many products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
     

    I worked at Evolv

    Pros

    A lot of smart people

    Cons

    Not much product direction constant pivoting

    Evolv2014-12-03
  5. "ever-evolving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Evolv full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great executive team very cool product great pay

    Cons

    product is a bit ahead of its time- has a long sale-cycle sometimes unclear what the vision of the company is disconnect between departments

    Evolv2014-10-22
  6. "Awesome company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Evolv

    Pros

    Innovative product, location in SOMA

    Cons

    Limited training available to new employees

    Evolv2014-10-07
  7. "Great chance to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Evolv full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Evolv presents a great opportunity to learn because management really fosters a culture of getting your feet wet in different areas. It offers a terrific work/life balance, including a solid work from home policy. Co workers are interesting, engaged and well educated.

    Cons

    The pay is low and there is a lot of the stuff that needs fixing (this is often where the opportunities for growth arise).

    Evolv2014-10-06
  8. "Start/Stop/Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Evolv full-time

    Pros

    Autonomy over work. Chance to contribute to the company, product and team from day one. Fantastic companies as clients. Interesting product re: workforce optimization & big data. Bright employees. Great office location. Good camaraderie among employees in office.

    Cons

    Poor product and management direction. Poor execution. Business model not 100% finalized/vetted out.

    Continue reading
    Evolv2014-10-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Struggling Start-up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Evolv full-time

    Pros

    There are only two "Pros" of this company. 1) The other "worker bees" that you get to work with and know. I have not met another group of intelligent, hard working, go-getters ever. They really care about each other and work hard together. If anything, I will miss my co-workers the most. 2)You have the ability to work very closely with other departments and thus pick up new skill sets that you may not have the opportunity to learn if you were at a bigger company. But I feel that this is the status quo for any startup you join.

    Cons

    Where do I begin: 1) Lack of pay. THEY DO NOT PAY MARKET RATE! UNLESS you are in Sales. If you want to get paid 20-30% below market rate ,then by all means, go ahead and apply. 2)No sense of direction. The company has changed direction more times than anyone cares to remember. 3)No leadership. The CEO talks about "transparency" but hardly provides it. Think of him as a salesman/cheerleader, not much of a leader. The company only hears the good news and is left in the dark about the bad. 4)They used to have a "results-driven" approach to work and was very flexible with people and their schedules, allowing individuals to work from home when needed. Then suddenly they took that away and required everyone to be in the office at all times. Although I realize that the 9-5 Monday-Friday is the standard for most companies, its the fact that we were once given that level of trust/freedom and having it taken away(for no good reason) that I am rating it as a con. not to mention, it was nice to know that since I literally get paid 30% below market rate, I can WFH on a day or two and save my commute on the MUNI into the office. 5)I doubt the company will be around past 12/2014, so don't even bother applying.

    Evolv2014-08-07
  10. "Constant change, lack of leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Evolv

    Pros

    Ability to learn different skills because there is no one else to do them. Medical benefits are good.

    Cons

    Employee turnover is high. Remote employees are not valued.

    Continue reading
    Evolv2014-04-23
Found 12 reviews