KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Evonik

Is this your company?

Evonik

Add a Review

Evonik Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 407 of over 769 reviews

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Evonik CEO Christian Kullmann
Christian Kullmann
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work/life balance with friendly co-workers(in 40 reviews)

  • "Good working environment all good(in 36 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is a lot of oversight in decision making(in 18 reviews)

  • "Heavy work load , not much of work life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Evonik and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Evonik assessment

      Nov 2, 2021 - Management in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As with many organizations Evonik --provides employment opportunities, benefits including 401(k), bonus plan etc; --sound manufacturing business model with a nearly recession-proof portfolio of mostly commodity products; Evonik also provides imo an excellent opportunity for those interested in fully learning how a commodity organization works; --For those interested in the technical side of the business they truly excel at R&D research. The marketing and sales side is great too but at the end of the day the business more or less runs itself with few exceptions. Senior management often is technically strong as well. If one favors mostly predictable day-to-day employment this might be a Holy Grail. Time most evenings to coach the kid's sport teams and be on school board for example (if these things are what the employee seeks). Personally I enjoyed every minute of being there but left only because I needed to be challenged more. Nothing personal at all, the Mgt team understood and embraced it without incident.

      Cons

      No negatives to speak of. Evonik to me was simply an organization trying to make a profit without trying to be more than an great manufacturing company. German creativity at its best with regard to chemistry and chemical engineering and with rich long of doing so.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Short Employment Period

      Jan 19, 2022 - Sales Manager in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Diverse range of hires, lots of energetic positive attitudes -Good pay and benefits

      Cons

      -Strong in-crowd attitudes -Doesn't keep their promises necessarily -Management likes to spring surprise tasks/questions

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Typical

      Jan 5, 2022 - Packaging in Etowah, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Top out pay, schedule, benefits.

      Cons

      Low start out pay, abysmal management, non existent preventative maintenance program, defective and out dated equipment, being required to work without break approximately 50% of the time.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      RUN FOR THE HILLS

      Jan 20, 2022 - Product Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      NONE except good salary & vacation policy

      Cons

      poor management, they hire managers based solely upon degree no work experience.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Decent Employer for Entry-level positions - Solid benefits but work culture is too traditional

      Aug 16, 2021 - Technical Service Representative in Allentown, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good benefits - health, PTO, and 401k - Friendly and helpful colleagues - Global organization committed to growth - Top-notch safety culture (in Allentown, PA) - Travel opportunities - Company is starting to encourage cross-BL innovation

      Cons

      - HQ in Germany lacks trust in technical colleagues outside EMEA region - Inconsistent job titles between colleagues with the same duties / function - Difficult to change job function and expand skillset (expectation to stay and grow professionally within BL and functional area) - Laboratories in Allentown lack natural lighting

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good opprtunies

      Dec 20, 2021 - Operator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good place to work, great benefits, salary, and people

      Cons

      The only downside i can think of is the overtime

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      AVOID AT ALL COST!

      Nov 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Mobile, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No pros. Pay was decent

      Cons

      Would give management a negative - 10 stars. Avoid at all cost. Management I dealt with very prejudice. When issues were brought to the attention of HR they advised nothing they can do. Raises given based upon who you hand out with and go drinking with, not based upon ability. If you are not willing to sell your sole to the god of Evonik they will do all they can to make your work life a nightmare.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Evonik Response

      Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to hear that you didn’t have a positive experience at Evonik. Compensation and increases at Evonik are based on merit and performance standards. In addition, Evonik is an equal employment opportunity employer and does not tolerate discrimination. Our company leadership has been notified of your concerns, and we encourage you to contact us directly with more details about your work experience at employerbranding@evonik.com.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good pay and benefits but the job comes with overhead.

      Dec 27, 2021 - Process Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and culture. Great pay and benefits.

      Cons

      There are some bad weeds that if got rid off, this place would work like a well lubricated machine.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Not paid for the job you do

      Nov 25, 2021 - Chemical Operator in Greensboro, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Medical benefits, 401k ,vision, dental

      Cons

      Hours are terrible and pay

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Evonik Response

      Thank you for your feedback. First and foremost, we would like to emphasize that your work at Evonik is very much appreciated and does not go unnoticed. In light of rising inflation, compensation has become a growing concern for many employees. We are constantly monitoring compensation rates to ensure that all our employees are paid competitively. If you have any suggestions on how Evonik can show greater appreciation for our operators, please share them with us at employerbranding@evonik.com. We want to ensure that you and your colleagues feel valued as members of our team.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great benefits

      Nov 24, 2021 - Chemical Operator 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company 401k investment Almost unlimited OT opportunities

      Cons

      A lot of micromanage A lot of forced overtime. A lot of having to be on extra teams.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Evonik Response

      Thank you for your feedback. It makes us proud that we can offer our employees a strong 401(k) plan. It’s one of our favorite benefits, too! We regret to hear of your concerns, however. Our plants could not keep running without the hard work of our trained and skilled operators. If you would like to provide more details about your experience at Evonik, please do not hesitate to reach out to us at employerbranding@evonik.com.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 407 Reviews

    Evonik Reviews FAQs

    79% of Evonik employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Evonik 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Evonik to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be management .

    Popular Careers with Evonik Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Evonik? Share Your Experiences

    or