Ewing COUNTER SALES Reviews | Glassdoor

Ewing COUNTER SALES Reviews

Updated Sep 5, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Ewing CEO Douglas W. York
Douglas W. York
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great company! family owned and oriented which is hard to find these days!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - COUNTER SALES in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ewing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The York's have built a great company that is focused on it's customer's landscaping needs always offering an opportunity to learn and grow with the company.

    Cons

    The company is very clique-y and male dominated

    Advice to Management

    Doug keep doing what your doing you have a remarkable company in your hands.

    Ewing2012-08-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Counter Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counter Sales Representative in Valencia, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training, opportunity for growth, build a career, family owned, community employee events great benefits, easy work life balance

    Cons

    Slower paced in terms of career growth. Very steady, but you have to pay your dues. They understaff each warehouse, so you are always in a little over your head.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people per branch, better communication between branches

    Ewing2017-09-06
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Too much demand for too little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - COUNTER SALES 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ewing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -People are nice enough -Training and education is top-notch -There is a clear promotional track though you are not likely going to be promoted before five years. -Events are great. -Faith-based company, if you're into that. Makes for very spirited upper management.

    Cons

    -Faith-based company. Insert typical passive aggressive Christian values. I'm a Baptist and I feel uncomfortable around those guys. -Two kinds of people at Ewing: 5+ year veterans with huge egos and 2- year employees warming up their resumes. -Pay is $10.00/hour starting out, with a max potential increase to about $13.00/hour. Good luck surviving on that; management consistently tells you to work on 'evolving your career'...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Increase wages at the bottom level. I am probably not your best employee but there are plenty of guys at my level who can help your company be GREAT! You're losing employees because of the low pay vs. the high demand on them. -Half of the time we feel like we are brought to your events just to make your numbers look good rather than it being an enjoyable experience (I'm looking at you, Vegas trip and Phoenix marathon)....

    Show More
    Ewing2016-02-02
  4. "Decent company, opportunities for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - COUNTER SALES 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ewing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Advancement opportunities, at least for low-level employees. Interaction with management, employees get input for how stores run.

    Cons

    Benefits are not great, long hours, there's always the sense that if management can squeeze another minute of productivity out of you and pay you for a minute less that they'll take it.

    Advice to Management

    There's a line where too much efficiency leads to high turnover, you should find that line.

    Ewing2013-07-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Depending on location, potential for advancement seems good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - COUNTER SALES 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ewing seems to invest highly in new hires. Starting pay is decent,and raises have been regular. Potential for advancement is good Work is light, out of the elements, and relatively low stress. I like the environment

    Cons

    Many branch personnel seem jaded for some reason. The antiquated green screen software has a long learning curve. This need serious updating. Branch managers seem to get a lot dumped on their plate. Branches seem to be competing against each other so they can reach their numbers. Buyers stock the stores, not managers. There can be a disconnect between what we're selling and what buyers stock us with.

    Advice to Management

    On the whole,I think ewing is headed in the right direction.

    Ewing2013-05-06
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Worst job I have had in 20 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - COUNTER SALES in
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ewing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Though they seem to care about employee wellness I am sure it is for a break on their insurance costs.

    Cons

    The pay is terrible unless you just got out of high school. It is not an option to drink the kool-aid, chug it like a frat brat. The brain washing is unbearable. Management treats hourly employees like ignorant trash. This is not a company for an independent thinker but if you are a Lemming it may be the company for you.

    Advice to Management

    Take your head from the void and breath the same air as the common man.

    Ewing2012-12-13
  7. Helpful (4)

    "A good company with great people to work with, not a perfect job though."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - COUNTER SALES in
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ewing

    Pros

    A good opportunity to work in a friendly environment, learn about the industries of irrigation, lighting, and other related fields. Not the best pay for the labor, but not usually a very stressful job, either. Can be a fun environment at times(not too fun though!)

    Cons

    Low monetary compensation, Can be hard to take time off. Multitasking is essential for this job. Hard work doesn't nessesarily always pay off, or even ensure secure employment.

    Advice to Management

    Management appears to have a good business model, but shouldn't forget the individuals who work hard to make it happen.

    Ewing2011-07-09
Found 7 reviews