Ewing Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Ewing Manager Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 15 reviews

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
98%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Ewing CEO Douglas W. York
Douglas W. York
13 Ratings
  1. "What an Exciting Company to be part of......."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very Successful, Professional, Family & Team oriented company that cares a lot about their employees & their individual success!

    Cons

    Always room for improvement to better yourself as a company

    Advice to Management

    Continue to evaluate processes, sales, & customer service aspects as you currently do so well!

    Ewing2018-09-12
  2. "Lots of Upward Mobility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ewing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Willing to develop low skilled individuals into Management positions. Lots of education offered. Lots of perks that help offset low salary.

    Cons

    Low pay for Managers for what is expected and the amounts of hours put in. Although there are locations throughout the country transferring our of your region is extremely difficult and not encouraged. Force me to find a job elsewhere to get moved out of state.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing but cutback on the private jet and DLC events to pay valued employees a fair salary. This will retain your employees that you've worked so hard to train.

    Ewing2019-08-04
  3. "Family Culture /Accountability/ Respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been working full time at Ewing for under 2yrs. After working in this industry for over 25 years, I have found home!!! This company gives you the flexibility & support to perform your job well! Growth opportunities are abundant and your efforts are recognized all the way up the ladder. If your looking for a place to work hard in a rewarding environment. This is the place for you.

    Cons

    None to report at this time

    Ewing2018-09-10
  4. Helpful (2)

    "A great place work!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I think being here for 21 years says it all. I started in an entry level position 21 years ago, promoted to a branch manager 2 years after that and now onto a regional manager position. The opportunities, advancement and re-location if wanted are limitless. Besides being a fun company to work for, the benefits overall is the real deal. Ewing is all about educating and growing their employees which in turn brings...

    Show More

    Cons

    Some say a lot is asked of our employees but that is why we are an industry leader and the best at what we do.

    Ewing2018-08-30
  5. "This Company gets “it”. They’re awesome !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I’ve been here now for almost 7 years. Been a warehouse driver, counter guy and now branch manager. I’ve read some reviews that are soooo negative, but are really based on that one persons experience. I’m the complete opposite. If you’re willing to work, there are lots of opportunities to grow within Ewing. Especially now that they are expanding. I can name 50 people that feel the same as me. The benefit package is great....

    Show More

    Cons

    It takes time to adjust to the changes they make. And it happens a lot because the company is always moving forward in the right direction. So, even though it’s tough sometimes, I get it.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with us in advance of changes being made so we don’t have to react so quickly sometimes.

    Ewing2018-09-03
  6. "Working at Ewing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family owned, approachable leaders, fun co-workers, driven people, supports family life. I have been working at Ewing Irrigation for 20 years. The retirement benefits are amazing. The support Ewing has for my family life is so appreciated. I love my co-workers, we work hard and have fun. I would recommend working at Ewing!

    Cons

    I have no cons to share here

    Ewing2018-07-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not thinking of your current service professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, great employees in the AZ area, streamlined stock system, corporate employees (purchasing, account managers etc) offer their wealth of information at a moment's notice.

    Cons

    Very low pay starting off. This is not a job where you can start off making money. Get your financials in order or go to a site one for better starting pay.

    Advice to Management

    If you want your employees to take care of you, increase their pay. You wonder why you keep losing your 2-6 year employees , you don't show them you care because you do NOT pay what they are worth. What is absurd is you have atleast 4 current great service professionals who could take over one of your branches which is under a possible manager shift but instead your regional has hired a man who hasn't been with the...

    Show More
    Ewing2017-08-13
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Hit and Miss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ewing full-time

    Pros

    Ewing is family owned and management largely treat their long-term employees as members of the family. Many employees have been with the firm for decades. Before I left, they instituted a program designed to improve the quality of staff. Certain milestone of this program were associated directly with pay increases. They have a policy for reimbursing college tuition (see cons for counterpoint).

    Cons

    Along with the "family company" culture, comes the hazard that management and leadership is very cliquey. There are those people who are on the "inner circle" and those who are not. This had more to do with personality than ability. Compensation is low across-the-board. Yes, there are increases built in to the SP program (employee development), but when the base is low and with our standardization across level and/or...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start taking care of all of your employees - not just those who are your friends. Pay people a fair wage. Look for people who challenge you, not just back your decisions. Encourage people to better themselves.

    Ewing2016-06-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Branch manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a fantastic company to work for ! ! ! I started as a driver/counter sales person and became a branch manager within 2 years. Plenty of opportunity to advance if you're willing to learn and work hard. Family owned, great visionaries with employee wellness as one of their top priorities. Company vehicle and profit sharing/ 401K a plus.

    Cons

    Work can be stressful at times but that's to be expected. Travel increases when you're moving up the ladder. ( which is a plus if you want that) Salary is 10% below national average.

    Advice to Management

    Raise salary to national average or find a way to pay for performance.

    Ewing2016-01-25
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Treated like family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ewing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The structure of the company is to be proactive in the education and advancement of it's employees. Most everyone starts as a counter/warehouse person. The structure within allows the employee to grow within the company and advance as the employee demonstrates proficiency in the necessary attributes needed to succeed. Tenured employees have great benefits and the atmosphere is low key and relaxed as needed.

    Cons

    Salary is lower than average in the beginning. Working conditions can very and be strenuous at times. A desire to and ability to advance is desired, so people looking for a "transition" job will not be hired.

    Ewing2015-02-24
Found 15 reviews