Ewing "family owned" Reviews | Glassdoor

Ewing Employee Reviews about "family owned"

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 92 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Ewing CEO Douglas W. York
Douglas W. York
72 Ratings
Pros
  • "This is a family owned company, and they want you to succeed(in 15 reviews)

  • "Company vehicle and profit sharing/ 401K a plus(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "The York family cries of low margins and pushes low pay to the branch staff(in 5 reviews)

  • "Low monetary compensation, Can be hard to take time off(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "family owned"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Culture of Caring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time

    Pros

    Fast growing, forward thinking, family owned company, with lots of opportunities to advance your career. Company rewards people that care about each other and the success of the company. 100's of employees that have worked for this company for over 10 years!

    Cons

    You can get sucked in and lose site of work life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focused on company profitability and never lose the family feel and the ability to care about all of your employees.

    Ewing2019-05-15
  2. "Looking for the best company in the landscape industry? Look no further!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family owned, flat organization without the office politics, and an awesome culture that celebrates success and knows how to have fun!

    Cons

    Not much... other than an antiquated ERP and no CRM. But I really had to think about cons... as there are not many.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Ewing2018-12-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Ewing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time

    Pros

    Family owned, benefits, opportunity to promote

    Cons

    They don't pay enough for what they expect from you

    Ewing2018-12-01
  4. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing company! I have been working here for over 3 years and I see myself retiring here. Started off in a branch and have worked my way into sales. This is a family owned company, and they want you to succeed! It shows by always continuing to train from our online training in the branches to in person sales training.The Yorks aren't the typical owners either; it is rare to go through a whole week without seeing one...

    Show More

    Cons

    I have no cons at the moment

    Advice to Management

    If we succeed, you succeed!

    Ewing2018-07-31
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Counter Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Counter Sales Representative in Valencia, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training, opportunity for growth, build a career, family owned, community employee events great benefits, easy work life balance

    Cons

    Slower paced in terms of career growth. Very steady, but you have to pay your dues. They understaff each warehouse, so you are always in a little over your head.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people per branch, better communication between branches

    Ewing2017-09-06
  6. Helpful (7)

    ""A great company to grow with""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family owned business, owners truly care about employees, 401K, Profit sharing, College scholarships for children, Great Health care. Lots of room for advancement, The more you contribute, the more you will be compensated for. Fun and Family is part of their culture.

    Cons

    Initial lower salary at start but if you take in consideration Profit sharing and 401K, company vehicle, not too bad

    Ewing2017-07-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time

    Pros

    Family owned. Great environment. Fun.

    Cons

    Much responsibility. Can be stressful during busy season.

    Ewing2017-01-26
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Hit and Miss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ewing full-time

    Pros

    Ewing is family owned and management largely treat their long-term employees as members of the family. Many employees have been with the firm for decades. Before I left, they instituted a program designed to improve the quality of staff. Certain milestone of this program were associated directly with pay increases. They have a policy for reimbursing college tuition (see cons for counterpoint).

    Cons

    Along with the "family company" culture, comes the hazard that management and leadership is very cliquey. There are those people who are on the "inner circle" and those who are not. This had more to do with personality than ability. Compensation is low across-the-board. Yes, there are increases built in to the SP program (employee development), but when the base is low and with our standardization across level and/or...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start taking care of all of your employees - not just those who are your friends. Pay people a fair wage. Look for people who challenge you, not just back your decisions. Encourage people to better themselves.

    Ewing2016-06-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Branch manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a fantastic company to work for ! ! ! I started as a driver/counter sales person and became a branch manager within 2 years. Plenty of opportunity to advance if you're willing to learn and work hard. Family owned, great visionaries with employee wellness as one of their top priorities. Company vehicle and profit sharing/ 401K a plus.

    Cons

    Work can be stressful at times but that's to be expected. Travel increases when you're moving up the ladder. ( which is a plus if you want that) Salary is 10% below national average.

    Advice to Management

    Raise salary to national average or find a way to pay for performance.

    Ewing2016-01-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "If you're willing to earn your place then it's definitely the place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ewing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The largest family owned business in it's industry that's been around for over 90 years. The owners are always thinking 10 years down the line to grow the business while allowing executive management deal with the daily operations as a successful corporation does. Ewing has provided ample opportunities to it's employees who not necessarily does it best but the person who does the right thing when no one is looking....

    Show More

    Cons

    It's hard to say what working a lot being a "con," if you're willing put in more time than others you will succeed. If you chose to just clock in and do your 8 hours then you will be left behind by other hungry employees who are able to see an opportunity.

    Ewing2014-12-15
Found 92 reviews