Exactech Reviews | Glassdoor

Exactech Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
76%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Exactech CEO David Petty (no image)
David Petty
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic medical technology company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exactech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Great company. Innovative, rapidly growing, and dedicated to meaningful, life-changing work. 2. Management. I worked under the most intelligent and creative managers I've ever met who were always willing to guide me, yet still allowed me to do my own work. 3. The work is intense and challenging, but incredibly rewarding at the same time.

    Cons

    1. Like many rapidly expanding companies they have experienced some growing pains. Employees are often required to wear many different hats and complete a variety of work that sometimes is outside of their speciality (i.e. engineers often have responsibilities pertaining to sales, marketing, planning, etc.) 2. Headquarters and all main facilities are located in the small town of Gainesville, FL, which can leave a lot to be desired both professionally and socially.

    Continue reading
    Exactech2017-11-07
  2. "Good company with good potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exactech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great growth potential. Good team atmosphere.

    Cons

    Small company mindset until TPG transition

    Exactech2019-09-09
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Hiring And Promotional Practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Exactech full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Recent college graduates ... one's with "physical" assets have the best opportunity

    Cons

    Loaded with self-centeredness. Now, I see why medical cost are sooooo high. The amount of waste is astonishing.

    Continue reading
    Exactech2019-05-13
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Rating 4.4 shows in their headline under job opportunities, but click in and it's 3.5."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Coordinator in Gainesville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Exactech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've lived and worked in Gainesville, FL for nearly 20 years. Exactech was simultaneously one of best experiences and also the worst. Many of the people I had the privilege of working with were exceptional. True professionals who took pride in their work, went the extra mile, and lived the concept of "team." I loved my job - the objectives I worked toward throughout the months of employment with this company - and I did it well. This company taught me the term BHAG. BHAG are goals that are supposed to be beyond the threshold of achievable, causing you to strive for more than you would if you set a reasonable goal. I was able to achieve every BHAG they sent my way. It took a ton of work and a ton of hours (I regularly worked upwards of 60 hours a week, hence the poor score for work/life balance), but I was proud of what was being accomplished. We saw lots of change and growth and success in the events program during these years. But somehow it was never enough. Every achievement seemed to be met with an air of disapproval. The turnover rate was quite high, many were demoralized but these were good people so they kept working and giving it their all. I fell for the words on the wall - the company's core values - only to find they were just that: words on a wall. The culture of this company will leave you wishing you'd pursued a different opportunity. I believe they are, as another reviewer noted, experiencing growing pains and that being a family run company creates some challenges for those who are not family members. If you are a part of the inner circle, i.e., if they like you, you'll do well and you won't have a clue what I am referring to. I've seen members of that inner circle cut out and then the lightbulb goes on when they realize the truths others have spoken to the way they are treated. If you're already in Gainesville and have to find a place to work because there are not many options, give them a try. This is not a company to move for. Don't uproot your family because, based on turnover rate, this won't work out well and there aren't many other places in the Gainesville area to work so you'll likely end up uprooting your family again.

    Cons

    Culture, management and work / life balance.

    Continue reading
    Exactech2019-02-26
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Warning Signs Emerging..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exactech full-time

    Pros

    The company going private (with TPG) is going to jumpstart growth.

    Cons

    Three leaders (VPs) have vacated the premises in rapid succession. When the company went private the stock program (a very nice benefit) disappeared with nothing to replace it. Competition is circling to cherry pick the most capable employees...

    Continue reading
    Exactech2018-09-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not that bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packaging in Gainesville, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exactech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The PTO and the onsite gym some of the people are good.

    Cons

    HR runs the whole company

    Continue reading
    Exactech2018-04-30
  7. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Exactech part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Great people.

    Cons

    Some management can not be flexible

    Exactech2018-04-13
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work...for some"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exactech full-time

    Pros

    Most of the people are friendly.

    Cons

    Advancement within the company is very political. Little or no promotion in some departments or teams, while other departments are constantly promoting within. It's all about who you work for. If you report directly to and impress an executive member of the good old boy management then you just jumped on the fast track to success. Otherwise, be satisfied where you are and don't rock the boat.

    Exactech2017-07-12
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Stuck in the past"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Exactech full-time

    Pros

    Hours are very reasonable. Folks are generally not there until 8 and no one can be found after 5. Profit sharing is good.

    Cons

    Exactech is stuck in the past and their approach to supply chain, marketing and sales force effectiveness is holding them back. In addition, unless you work on the should business, the leadership is poor. While they preach the culture, they don't hold leaders to the same standard. I would only want to work on the Shoulder BU as they have a great leaders driving that business.

    Exactech2017-06-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great company but know your own goals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Gainesville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exactech full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family company, they tend to avoid laying people off at all cost. There is access to higher ups which can provide visibility career progression

    Cons

    Does not have a clear career path. Is not a great company for development unless the person knows where they want to be and engages higher ups to reach goals;

    Exactech2017-02-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 28 reviews