Exago Reviews

Updated May 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Exago President and CEO Mike Brody (no image)
Mike Brody
36 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Place to Grow

    May 18, 2021 - Sales Development Representative in Greenville, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This is a great place to start a career. Good pay, great people and flexible schedules

    Cons

    Can’t think of any cons

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Exago Response

    SVP Operations

    Thank you for your review and comments regarding your personal experience and happy to hear that you're having a positive experience thus far. Mark

  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Nice people - wouldn't recommend for sales though

    Apr 14, 2021 - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Throw nice taco & pizza parties once a month. Although their taco & pizza parties are mandatory attendance which is funny. I remember being told, "Attend happy hour or you'll be cold calling, this isn't early dismissal." Hard not to get a kick out of that sentiment. Overall, Nice gesture though, lots of nice people. Mike's salad in the lunchroom is a wonderful take on a decadent Caribbean slaw.

    Cons

    Sales department is a mess. It feels like they are winging it from the wild west- conceptually very confused about building trust and putting customer needs at the forefront. Sales wants the deal immediately, buyers sense that desperation and know you aren't looking out for their interest, maybe a more consultative approach would help. Upper sales mngt. is just there, not a variable for good or bad. The level of insecurity in Sales management is palpable, which is why they are aggressive with AE's. Not much introspection ability with Sales Management, just a "what are my sales girls/guys/non gender conforming doing wrong." With that said, I understand their frustration. Exago is simply outgunned in this market. So few deals close here. It's apparent the entire operation is kept afloat by a single investor. Once the investment stops, this company won't stand on its own. I hope this isn't the case because there are a lot of nice people at Exago. It's just not a place you want to be selling. For other roles could be great to have a more relaxed role where you collect a salary and can be complacent with keeping the status quo. I hope this review helps sales... I wanna read about Exago doing big things!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Exago Response

    SVP Operations

    Based on these comments this review is from someone here a long time ago and miss-informed

  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    A company who listens

    May 4, 2021 - Customer Service Manager (CSM) 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Incredible coworkers: all of them are innovative, quick-thinking, welcoming, optimistic, kind, and fun -Management is capable of receiving constructive criticism and making change -The product actually works extremely well, and is under constant improvement driven by direct feedback from customers - it's easy to feel like you're truly helping people and allowing their needs to be listened to and met

    Cons

    -Not every department is as well managed as others, and it's pretty obvious -Client facing departments are never not busy, there will always be a few clients that don't respect the team or our working hours (though the majority is great)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Exago Response

    SVP Operations

    Thank you for your review as well as actionable feedback. As we continue to grow we are looking at and currently implementing various training programs as well as certifications at different levels of the organization. Mark

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Small family Company feel with big Company goals

    Apr 29, 2021 - Professional Services Engineer in Poulsbo, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Within the first week of employment I had a one on one meeting with every department head to talk about how my role integrated with their department. What to do if there is an escalation or an issue, and generally humanizing the department leads. This culminated with a one on one with the CEO where we were able to talk freely about plans for the future, and where the company was going. Every week the company gets together via Zoom during the pandemic, to have a Town Hall. One member of the staff will be given the opportunity to share the results of a major project that they are working on. This is usually 30 minutes or less and allows one person to really shine in front of the Company. Department managers take personnel development seriously. They want to make sure that the people that are working for them are sending the right message right from the beginning. Taking time from their own projects and schedules to vet the products that are being pushed to the clients. Additionally suggesting side projects that allow for growth in their role. Exago has began a new hire onboarding education program that will help both technical and non-technical users to understand the product from a structured standpoint allowing them to integrate with the Company faster. Quite a few people have been working for the company for more than ten years, demonstrating that it is a great company to work for. I gave a number when asked what I expected for my starting salary during the interview process. During my acceptance my future supervisor informed me that my starting salary would be 25% higher than my base expectation. Showing that the company paid people what they were worth, not the least amount that they could get away with. Company does a great job encouraging time off and actually disconnecting from work. Allowing you to enjoy the time that you have earned. The Company takes client interaction seriously, holds Client Advisory Boards where the clients get to tell the Exago decision makers how they are doing, and what direction they would like to see the product head into. There are opportunities for both vertical and lateral movement and people are not stuck in a single role.

    Cons

    Small Company means a limited amount of development hours and prioritization of resources becomes paramount. Limited number of personnel means that some items can slip through the cracks to become issues later.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Exago Response

    SVP Operations

    Thanks for sharing your experience in such detail and great to hear you're finding the Town Hall and CAB meetings valuable. We certainly want to keep the small company feel as much as possible and appreciate the note about it here.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fantastic Place to Work

    Apr 26, 2021 - Support Analyst in Kingston, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company culture is second to none. Every single employee is dedicated and open to helping others, even across teams. Never been a part of a company that genuinely cares about its employees so much. Generous PTO/sick leave policy, as well as good work/life balance. Executives encourage ideas and feedback from all levels. "Be your own CEO" is practiced throughout the company. Professional development is planned for and executed better than anywhere else I've been.

    Cons

    Benefits are somewhat expensive, but manageable.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Exago Response

    SVP Operations

    Thank you for your feedback and comments around team members helping each other - at the end of the day we are all part of one big team supporting each other and our customers.

  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    They ask too much

    Apr 22, 2021 - General 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great co-workers, you do get to work with some good people who, similar to one's self, try very hard to complete tasks and get the job done. Overall, your co-workers just want to succeed, and are great at helping each other out.

    Cons

    Exago abuses that willingness and effort by adding extra work because "competition caught up". The extra work is done with very little organization or thought, if they do, it isn't communicated down. It also seems that there are more managers than there are employees, very top heavy. Exago seems to primarily promote within, which is nice, but also means those people now have a huge responsibility of guiding other people or a product with no experience, and it shows since we are a reactive company vs a proactive one. Low pay and bad benefits (especially with the amount of work they request from you).

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Exago Response

    SVP Operations

    Exago today is a very different company than we were 12+ months ago with a broad mix of colleagues with varying levels of experience. From interns to recent graduates to internal promotions and employees hired with very specific skill sets we are always looking to improve holistically as an organization and will continue to do so.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    All good things!

    Apr 27, 2021 - Account Executive in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management really has your back and is super transparent about what's going on in the org. Everyone is really close-knit and cares about each other and not just hitting your numbers. Pay is very competitive as well which is always a bonus.

    Cons

    Not really a con but isn't as flashy as some tech companies out there. Still a killer product and team that people love and that's what really matters.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Exago Response

    SVP Operations

    Your advice has been heard and appreciated!

  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    "Be Your Own CEO" unless you're a woman

    Apr 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    + You will be smarter than the sales director + Smart co-workers + Straightforward until...until it's interrupted by panicked sales

    Cons

    - Petty sales leadership that can micromanage yet provide no skill development - Women do not advance. CEO makes casually sexist comments that bleed down to other departments. - Haphazard, inconsistent sales strategy. Changes each week according to quota. - NO opportunity to advance to AE - Tedious work. Lots of cold calls. - No one knows if they're doing their job well. No benchmarks to success, clear expectations, check-ins. No process to negotiate raise or highlight achievements.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Exago Response

    SVP Operations

    Thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry you had a poor experience while at Exago. While we have undergone some changes and continued process improvements over the past year, our motto of “Be your own CEO” is not something we will change as we believe, and our recent employee engagement survey validates, it does resonate across the organization. We will continue to ask our employees for feedback and suggestions in order to make Exago the best place to work that we can.

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Exago is great

    Apr 30, 2021 - Support 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone is pleasant and management is open and honest about what's happening with the company.

    Cons

    Insurance is expensive but it does everything you need it to.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Exago Response

    SVP Operations

    Thank you for your feedback. We are constantly reviewing benefits and providers to try and provide the best overall package we can.

  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Lots of opportunity, but prepare to get overworked.

    Apr 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of flexibility to "see a need, fill a need". Flexible schedule. Awesome coworkers if you're on the right team.

    Cons

    If you have technical skills prepare to be ground into dust as support, services and sales teams will use and abuse your skillset unless you push back. When sales are in a lull, bad fit deals will come through and post-sale teams have to "figure it out", which leads to significantly increased workload.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Exago Response

    SVP Operations

    Thank you for the constructive feedback which is actionable and some already underway. As you know Exago BI is a very flexible application that crosses many technologies which clients like. This does create a challenge for us internally and we are working diligently to be more prescriptive and selective. Regarding direction for younger employees we are working on departmental tracks but have also provided many opportunities for internal promotion and departmental change. That said we can always do better.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 43 Reviews

Popular Careers with Exago Job Seekers

Customer Success Manager
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Sales Development Representative
Learn About the Job
Enterprise Account Executive
Learn About the Job

Work at Exago? Share Your Experiences

Exago logo
or