Excalibur Hotel & Casino Reviews | Glassdoor

Excalibur Hotel & Casino Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Ann Hoff
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excalibur Hotel and Casino"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Excalibur Hotel & Casino full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team Members are like family, supporting each other on most every level. Very refreshing!

    Cons

    Parking for employees may become difficult during events on the Las Vegas strip.

    Advice to Management

    Training should continue through out a team members employment. It should not stop at entry level.

    Excalibur Hotel & Casino2015-05-17
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Table games dealer Craps Blackjack Roulette and all the carnival games"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Excalibur Hotel & Casino

      Pros

      The co workers are pretty nice

      Cons

      Money isn't great and the place is out dated

      Excalibur Hotel & Casino2015-04-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "Satisfying Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Front Desk Clerk in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Excalibur Hotel & Casino part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay and benefits through the Union Holiday pay is very good Steady conditions Plenty of opportunity for overtime during busy seasons

      Cons

      Limited mobility/opportunity for advancement Increasing reliance on scripts Upgrade commissions not worth the trouble Difficult to get time off with out calling out

      Advice to Management

      Reconsider how extra days off are handled Hire more supervisors for the desk

      Excalibur Hotel & Casino2015-02-01
    • "it was great. hard to get on days."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Excalibur Hotel & Casino

        Pros

        fun place to work. pay is ok. worked for tips as a dealer and some dealers bring in a lot but you have to share with people who bring in no tips and don't speak English.

        Cons

        night shift is 3 am to 11 am. do you try to stay up or sleep after work. don't know when to eat,sleep,and it takes a toll on your body.

        Advice to Management

        no more dual rates

        Excalibur Hotel & Casino2014-10-28
      • "Renee West Is nickel and diming this place to death"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Casino Host in Las Vegas, NV
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Excalibur Hotel & Casino full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        The compensation and hours are great.

        Cons

        "At Luxor, the pyramid itself is iconic, so although people are not looking for that Egyptian theme, they expect at least a wink and a nod to it." "The recent and upcoming renovations to the property pay respect to the Egyptian theme but in a more contemporary and upscale way." "The theme at Excalibur is less important to the customer – the castle doesn’t make a promise of a medieval experience; it makes a promise...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        BRING BACK THE THEME. I AM TIRED OF HEARING GUESTS ASKING WHAT HAPPENED TO EXCALIBUR.

        Excalibur Hotel & Casino2014-10-09
      • "a good place for you to come and say for vacation."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Frycook in Las Vegas, NV
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Excalibur Hotel & Casino part-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        it's a union house the pay is great paid holidays birthday pay, you should apply for a job because in 2016 the MGM is opening a stadium. and the Excalibur is going to get even more customers.

        Cons

        just being home and able to answer the phone to go to work.

        Excalibur Hotel & Casino2014-04-24
      • "Have worked here for 14 years and still love it"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Excalibur Hotel & Casino full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Our President, she is an amazing woman, truly cares about each of us and encourages us to grow.

        Cons

        Can't think of even one.

        Advice to Management

        Get out there with your staff, let them know you care

        Excalibur Hotel & Casino2014-04-04
      • "Great employer to work for!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at Excalibur Hotel & Casino

          Pros

          Great company! Very supportive management, very team work oriented and offer great career growth opportunities. Excalibur is a very upbeat and fun environment!

          Cons

          The length of time it takes to go from being on call with out benefits to getting promoted to a full time position with benefits.

          Advice to Management

          I suggest possibly not only judging promotions to full time status by seniority but also by job performance and knowledge of your specific job title.

          Excalibur Hotel & Casino2014-02-05
        • "Has not just gained a great , job but a family too"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Cocktail Server in Las Vegas, NV
          Recommends
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Excalibur Hotel & Casino full-time for more than 10 years

          Pros

          economically it has been a great job money wise, I have always been acknowledged for good customer service and job performance which makes me strive to be the best due to the "pat on the back" sort to say,,

          Cons

          uncooperation from fellow employees and the sometime so sad and ridiculous gossip

          Advice to Management

          Always carry a good balance of interacting with your employees, knowing them by name, remembering certain situations in there life (ie: hows your daughter liking college) etc.. acknowledgment for good performance,, which in turn earns likeability and respect..

          Excalibur Hotel & Casino2013-09-01
        • "I spent 15 years at Excalibur, something must have been good!!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Food Server in Las Vegas, NV
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Excalibur Hotel & Casino full-time for more than 10 years

          Pros

          I only worked in one F&B outlet during my 15 years, but I think my comments would apply to all departments and outlets. Most departments and outlets have many longtime employees making it quite the family atmosphere.

          Cons

          Middle mgmt, and sometimes upper mgmt, are reluctant to supply employees with the necessary tools to accomplish the task at hand. Mgmt would frequently doubt our ability and sincerity, even though we had been in the position for over a decade...and sometimes longer than that manager had been with the company.

          Advice to Management

          LISTEN TO YOUR EMPLOYEES !!!

          Excalibur Hotel & Casino2013-08-30
        Found 36 reviews