Excelacom Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
52%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Excelacom CEO Majid Naderkhani
Majid Naderkhani
53 Ratings
Pros
  • "It a great place to learn new techniques and gain much knowledge about the company and its concept(in 6 reviews)

  • "Opportunity to learn many skills (depending on role)(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "No additional benefit perks outside of typical health insurance and NO 401K MATCH(in 11 reviews)

  • "No 401k match, no opportunities for advancement and no incoming work(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Excelacom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very good learning curve, very good company for head start

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of that company did not meet the expectations

    Excelacom2019-09-10

    Excelacom Response

    January 30, 2020HR Manager

    We are happy to hear you enjoyed working with us. We hope Excelacom has prepared you well to succeed in your current endeavors and we welcome you to look at new opportunities with Excelacom.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible leadership, no sales. Poor marketing. No Vision"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Consultant in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Excelacom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Misleading employees/consultants about the "bright" future of the organization. Thinks that they are Slalom or BCG. No comparison

    Continue reading
    Excelacom2020-04-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Extremely Mismanaged, terrible communication with employees"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Excelacom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked with some very talented technical engineers

    Cons

    Misleading communication, leadership has no idea on how to engage their employees. Terrible sales and marketing. Interview for one project and then management moves you to another project not related to interview. Benefits are horrible, no 401k,

    Continue reading
    Excelacom2020-01-14

    Excelacom Response

    January 30, 2020HR Manager

    Thank you for your review. We are always striving to improve communication firm-wide and this starts with our open door policy that we encourage our team members to take advantage of. In addition, we have continued to improve our communication across the company, adding monthly all-hands meetings, weekly or biweekly account-wide team meetings, a new intranet and increased communications and touch points from our HR & Marketing teams. As is the nature of consulting, project changes do happen and our managers try to place people in the best available role. We are proud of our Marketing team and have successfully launched several new campaigns in the second half of 2019 and we have an exciting 2020 road map. We are always open to ways we can continue to improve and hope our team members can share their feedback with us directly.

  4. "Typical consulting company with high expectations"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Excelacom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are expected to work directly with clients and deliver challenging projects. Individuals have quite a bit of autonomy and are responsible for their own growth. Good environment for people who are interested in technology and telecom and willing to put in effort to self learn new things. I've made great friends both within the company and with clients.

    Cons

    Not all employees have an understanding for consulting business, which adds more responsibility to those of us with prior consulting experience. Quality of benefits is good, but time off policies are not as good as some larger consulting firms.

    Continue reading
    Excelacom2019-11-22

    Excelacom Response

    January 30, 2020HR Manager

    It's excellent to see you have embraced opportunities at Excelacom. Your suggestion to work on selling big projects is exactly what we want our teams to do. Our goal for you and our teams is to work together to develop new projects and successfully deliver them for our clients. If you have an idea or need help shaping a large opportunity, speak up to your manager or the leadership team to support you. We strongly believe in recognizing our people who are responsible for identifying and closing new opportunities and we hope you're continuing to work with your manager to find the next big project. Thanks so much for your feedback!

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Misleading expectations, management not engaged"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Excelacom full-time

    Pros

    Solid technical team and decent projects

    Cons

    Super high turnover, no 401k, management has no plan, lack of engagement with consulting team. Very poor leadership and no growth opportunity

    Excelacom2019-11-22

    Excelacom Response

    January 30, 2020HR Manager

    We hope that our employees feel comfortable bringing up issues and concerns with their managers and our leadership team. From the start, Excelacom has reinvested in the company and followed an evolving strategic plan, including focusing on R&D to allow us to grow both our consulting and product business. We appreciate your feedback.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Worst Company I've ever worked for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Excelacom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Health Benefits are average

    Cons

    - High Turnover except Upper Management - Zero Accountability - Company's Product does not meed Customer's need, focus needs to be done with the Customer to actually determine need, instead of shoving inept Product in Customer's faces - Everyone works for their own self-interest instead of for the companies best interest - No 401K match - Management considers their employees as resources, interchangeable and replaceable based on personal preference - Management hold grudges against their resources

    Continue reading
    Excelacom2019-11-17

    Excelacom Response

    January 30, 2020HR Manager

    It is our hope that our employees have an open dialogue with their managers to bring up issues or concerns when they happen, to allow us to take appropriate actions. Our team consistently strives to make sure our employees feel valued. We pride ourselves on working closely with our benefits broker to benchmark our benefit offerings. Thank you for your feedback.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "So Much Potential"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consulting in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Excelacom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great sales pitch to prospective consultants... kudos to their incredible recruiting staff's ability to make lemonade from some very sour lemons.

    Cons

    Just about everything else in the company.

    Continue reading
    Excelacom2019-10-09

    Excelacom Response

    January 30, 2020HR Manager

    We agree that employees should feel truly valued and appreciated. We know our employees are our greatest asset and strive to have our managers mentor and help our people grow professionally. Additionally, we are constantly seeking feedback from our employees and continue to have an open-door policy. Thank you for your review.

  8. "I work fulltime here"

    3.0
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Excelacom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Its good working here and benefits are good.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons

    Excelacom2019-08-10

    Excelacom Response

    January 24, 2020HR Manager

    Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoy working here. It's also good to hear you are happy with our benefits. We pride ourselves and work closely with our benefits broker to benchmark our benefit offerings. We encourage you to have an open dialogue with your manager and HR on ways we can continue to improve. Thanks again for your feedback.

  9. "Growing company in transition"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 

    I worked at Excelacom full-time

    Pros

    Independent work and good benefits

    Cons

    Poor formal communications, communication is via rumor mill

    Continue reading
    Excelacom2019-05-28
  10. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Analyst 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Excelacom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    HR department is committed to learn and understand all of the employees. They are very helpful and caring in their own way. Upper management is wonderful and all of the employees in the office are also very friendly. It a great place to learn new techniques and gain much knowledge about the company and its concept. The work environment is also easy to adapt to.

    Cons

    I currently don't have any cons.

    Continue reading
    Excelacom2019-05-13
Found 75 reviews