KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Excell

Part of CompuCom
Engaged Employer

Excell

Add a Review

Excell Employee Reviews about "excell"

Updated Nov 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 of over 144 reviews

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Excell CEO Mick Slattery (no image)
Mick Slattery
2 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

383

57 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Flexible, some training can be reimbursed, 401k(in 3 reviews)
  • "People I work with are good people overall(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Excell and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "excell"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    good

    Oct 5, 2020 - Technician in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    eXcell has been staffing IT professionals at the top Fortune 100 companies

    Cons

    at the top Fortune 100 companies

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Run, and don't look back

    Nov 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    you get a pay check

    Cons

    You will be under paid, under appreciated, and you will over pay for benefits. A point of reference, the 2022 benefits package paperwork was sent out recently and many of us received the paperwork of what a CompuCom direct hire would be paying as well as what we as Excell employees are paying. Every single health option we had (we had two fewer options than CompuCom) has us paying at least double for the exact same health coverage. At best you get lip service from management but nothing ever changes for the better, but we have seen things get worse

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Excell is a great company and very responsive

    Aug 25, 2020 - Misc in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I liked Excell and the people were great. They were always able to help with questions.

    Cons

    Low pay. Probably not excell’s fault but client site required so much last minute overtime at off peak hours. Waking up at 3am for a Sunday project and then sit on a Spanish call. Hardly make money on the ‘overtime’ projects and then you have spent your entire weekend getting ready for the project and recovering from unhealthy on call work. Everything was outsourced to Mexico and poor unethical managers at client site. Client employees were great but managers do not like hard working honest people. Beware

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    Excell-Compucom

    Feb 21, 2021 - Senior Technical Support Analyst in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Recruiters work quickly to get you on assignment with reputable companies. My last couple of assignments were remote.

    Cons

    Salary is stagnant, Excell project managers sometimes hard to reach. No opportunities to get on full time with the client.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Plenty of options to choose from including PTO, healthcare, sick days, 401K.

    May 26, 2021 - Network Support Engineer in Miami, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They provide plenty of administrative support for HR-related issues. A large library of CBT.

    Cons

    Growth, advancement, and pay increases are not part of the discussion. Excell will not proactively offer these items.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    One of the better contracting companies

    Nov 30, 2020 - User Experience Researcher in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was a contract UX Researcher at Microsoft through eXcell/CompuCom. - Comprehensive benefits, including ones that many companies don't have for contractors (health, vision, dental, 401k with employer match, HSA with employer match, PTO, holiday pay, bereavement leave, $500 education allowance, transportation). - Decent pay for UX researchers just starting out. Not sure about more senior roles. - Good communication.

    Cons

    - Healthcare is expensive. - The administrative side is really annoying (e.g. onboarding, frequent password resets, etc.). - No sick leave.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good people and place to work

    May 13, 2020 - Technical Support in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ready to help and work for you

    Cons

    Not a issue with Excell but higher up with parent company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great People, Great Service Great Exeperience

    Jan 30, 2020 - Business Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Loved the people I worked with.

    Cons

    Excell or Compucom mad it confusing sometimes

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Excellent technical contract agency near Seattle

    Jun 24, 2008 - SDE II in Redmond, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excell has to be one of the best contract agencies to work with in the Seattle area. The company provides you with an HR rep, and most of them are very responsive and really get to know your needs as an employee. Their recruiters are also much better (admittedly, your mileage may vary) than other I've worked with in the past - much more able to match your needs and desires to a position that also matches your skillset. Other contract agencies I've worked for seem to try to place you, regardless of fit, simply to make their contingency. They give you an "a la carte" benefit plan and pay based on a sliding scale for the benefits you take. Since their medical/dental benefits are average, I stuck with my wife's plan and it increased my hourly base substantially. Overall, if you're going to contract, this is the agency to do it with.

    Cons

    They fill a lot of positions at Microsoft. Almost to the exclusion of all others. That's only a downside if you'd rather not work there or if you need, or want, employment during that mandatory MS 100 day break each year. The benefits are pretty average, as agency benefits go - don't know if that's an upside or a downside. Their HR site (viewing payroll, time-off, etc) could use help... it's in, like, 4 different pieces, and you have to log in to each separately - more of a minor annoyance than anything.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Does right by their people, which I can't say for more prestigous agencies

    Jul 26, 2019 - Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked with some of the most prestigious and well regarded agencies in the Seattle area, as well as some of the dodgiest staffing companies. For the most part, they're all the same in that they treat their consulting resources like commodities, not people. My experience at Excell has been very different. They're kind, interested and considerate people who generally want their staff to have a good experience. They're transparent about everything, and they make the effort time and time again to look after you. It's a bit surreal, but this is one of two firms that has never done me dirty (the other being Spherion, also a staffing firm; wild!). If you value being treated like a person, you should consider picking up your next contract role through Excell.

    Cons

    The benefits are not good. They're administered through Meritas, who are super shady. As Excell is a subsidiary of CompuCom, I'm not sure how much influence they have over this. Also, they migrated to O365 earlier this year, and their systems could really do with an operational streamlining; different passwords for different portals, information is all over the place and difficult to locate. That said, reaching out to your AM will generally get you quick, clear answers.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews

Popular Careers with Excell Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Excell? Share Your Experiences

or

Excell Photos

+ Add Photo
Excell photo of: Run for Charity - Brooke, Bette, Nancy
Excell photo of: CJ, Brooke, Vee, Nancy
Excell photo of: Nancy
Excell photo of: Salsa party
Excell photo of: Nancy
Excell photo of: Bette, Rachael, Nancy
Excell photo of: Team bonding!
See All Photos