Exceptional Persons Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Exceptional Persons Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
50%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Exceptional Persons CEO Chris Sparks
Chris Sparks
1 Ratings
  1. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waterloo, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Exceptional Persons full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Staff and Management genuinely care about employees -Benefits are better than most -Competitive Salary -Flexible working hours

    Cons

    -In my job it can get overwhelming in the amount of work required outside of normal business hours

    Advice to Management

    I believe they are doing a good job and there isn't much I could add that would improve the process

    Exceptional Persons2016-08-31
  2. "Don't waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - DSP 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exceptional Persons full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Honestly the 401k was the only real benefit

    Cons

    Poorly managed. Understaffed overworked, and would constantly break own policies and state laws

    Advice to Management

    Learn compassion

    Exceptional Persons2019-01-15
  3. "Direct Support Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Exceptional Persons full-time

    Pros

    Pays fairly well for human services.

    Cons

    Management is very catty and treats employees as if they are criminals and like second class citizens. They will get jealous of staff who have a better rapport with persons served and retaliate. Also, they may just find staff annoying and bully them. I witnessed this many times. They can't keep staff because of how they treat them. The employees that have worked here for 15 plus years are often forced out.... Management also is known to engage in some pretty unethical behaviors but if you speak up they willake you pay. They will never have your best interest in mind. Several of the homes have bed bugs but they don't tell staff or give staff a choice in whether they feel comfortable working there. Beware.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with respect and stop acting like you are auditioning for a role in the movie Mean Girls. You aren't better than your staff.

    Exceptional Persons2018-11-23
  4. "Traumatizing office politics and work culture. This "human service" agency broke a lot of good employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Waterloo, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exceptional Persons full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Being the change I wished to be in the world, and sticking around long enough to see it pay off. Building relationships, teaching important life skills, being a part of something intrinsically good, becoming a part of a like minded community.

    Cons

    Blame. Always blame, never accountability on the part of the company. Paperwork and hierarchy ever-changing nightmare. Complete chaos. Thin walls.

    Advice to Management

    Stop everything you are doing. Let the good, caring, law-abiding employees do their jobs from their hearts.

    Exceptional Persons2017-12-18
  5. "A challenging but rewarding job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Exceptional Persons full-time

    Pros

    The wellbeing of the people supported is put first. They offer unlimted overtime and lots of opportunities for training

    Cons

    Hard to have a work/life balance.

    Exceptional Persons2017-10-21
  6. "Do not work for EPI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Exceptional Persons

    Pros

    Person served is honestly about the only pro this is to this job. The benefits are too bad although if you health isn't perfect you month rate goes up

    Cons

    Your personal life comes last, management, general the way the company is ran! Program managers and DSPs are excepted to work their lives away and to forget about their personal live

    Exceptional Persons2017-10-10
  7. "Direct support staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Support Staff in Waterloo, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Exceptional Persons full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great individuals and co-staff to work with. Pay is good. Unlimited overtime. Benefits are awesome.

    Cons

    Upper management is the worst I've seen. Treat people horribly, always firing or forcing people to quit for simple mistakes. Expected to be "on call" 4 weekends per year. When your off u get tons of calls/texts to cover open shifts. There's always trainings to go to or do online.

    Advice to Management

    They both need to quit so better, more caring people can take over the company and help to make epi a better place.

    Exceptional Persons2016-02-24
  8. "Exceptional Person, Inc. is rewarding on so many levels. It really give you a chance to make a difference."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Support Professional in Waterloo, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exceptional Persons full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Opportunity to make a difference in people's lives -Good pay (start at $10.40 per hour) -Overtime opportunities (time and a half) -Holiday pay -Pretty flexible scheduling

    Cons

    -Some long shifts (only if you want overtime - I worked a couple 24 hour shifts) -Sleep shifts are a dollar less per hour -Some supervisors don't communicate very clearly

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more clearly between the supervisors, staff, and clients!

    Exceptional Persons2015-12-22
  9. "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Program Manager in Waterloo, IA
    Recommends

    I worked at Exceptional Persons for more than a year

    Pros

    At EPI you get to work with some of the most AMAZING people you will ever meet in your life! The other Program Managers are extremely supportive and always willing to help out where ever they are needed.

    Cons

    EPI is low staffed and it results in Program Managers and DSP's being over worked. There is also a high turn over rate. Suggestions for improvement are not always welcome.

    Exceptional Persons2015-12-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Direct Support Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Exceptional Persons part-time

    Pros

    paid trainings, good money fro students working over holidays

    Cons

    supervisors don't care about you

    Exceptional Persons2015-12-01
Found 17 reviews