KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Exceptional Software Strategies

Engaged Employer

Exceptional Software Strategies

Add a Review

Exceptional Software Strategies Reviews

Updated Dec 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 of over 13 reviews

3.5
55%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Exceptional Software Strategies President Paul J Stasko (no image)
Paul J Stasko
10 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A company that cares about its people.

    Jun 15, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Linthicum, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Medical benefit has taken great care of my family.

    Cons

    Working remotely, it is sad that I can't partake in the headquarters events.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A Fish Rots From the Head Down

    Dec 18, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - You get paid (mostly on time too!) - Great if you're looking to just do your thing and go home

    Cons

    - Incredibly toxic and hostile work environment, leading to low morale - Benefits being reduced year after year - Constant false promises and lying to employees - No opportunities for career growth - Salary increases are arbitrary and have nothing to do with performance Don't believe the astroturf'd reviews here by current employees. Avoid this place.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Ask Around Before You Join

    Feb 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can work with minimal managerial oversight.

    Cons

    This company offers little in the way of competitive benefits or career opportunities even when compared to competitors of the same size. The work style and corporate values trend towards antiquated. During my time here, I found the advertised familial atmosphere to be dysfunctional and overly familiar. There is a lack of defined structure surrounding how benefits and salary increases are doled out to employees. Overall, if you are looking for a position where you can simply perform a job function with little to no managerial oversight, this is an excellent work environment for you. However, if you are striving to advance in your career or rely on benefits through your employment, you may be better suited looking for an opportunity elsewhere. This is a perfect ending company for those nearing retirement or simply looking for a job over a career.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Save yourself the stress

    Jul 9, 2021 - Engineer in Linthicum, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company has some good benefits

    Cons

    Hostile work environment Mentally unstable C-level Blatant racism Run by someone who thinks they are a mobster and acts like it

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Small, but not too small

    Oct 9, 2019 - Software Engineer in Linthicum, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoy working for my immediate supervisor. I truly believe this person has my best interest at heart and wants to see me succeed. I feel like a valued member of the team with valued input. The upper management is accessible to me, although, I have not had a need to do so. The Company Culture is one of a company which is small enough to still care about the individual, but large enough to absorb the periods between contracts to a large extent. Another aspect I really enjoy is the implementation of the Monthly Utilization Bonus: if you meet all your hours, you get a small monetary “thank you” each month. All in all, a company I would recommend to someone.

    Cons

    Information needs to be disseminated more effectively. Important information can, at times, be slow to be perpetuated on down. I believe upper management feels they are protecting us, but this can have the opposite effect: the absence of information can lead people to speculate the “worst case scenario”. Conversely, events which have yet to materialize, should be released more conservatively: people tend to become desensitized.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Wouldn't want to work anywhere else

    Oct 10, 2019 - Senior Software Engineer in Linthicum, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been a part of The Exceptional Software Strategies family for over 8 years. I have worked for both large and small companies prior to this one, and I don’t plan to ever need to go to another company at this point. Straight out, ESS takes care of their people. We are one of the few companies that has a “bench” which is a great feeling of security if your contract ends. They give monthly utilization bonuses as well as a monetarily rewarded Employee Of The Month program. I personally know of multiple situations where the CEO helped employees with issues outside of the company purview. Sometimes using his own time and resources.

    Cons

    There was a bit of a rough spot where we were bumping heads with recruiting, and it was causing bad feelings even within the company, but thankfully, ESS hired a professional recruiting company and we can already see the fruition.

    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Employee focused company

    Oct 10, 2019 - Principal Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    ESS looks out for its employees, from providing some of the best health insurance of similar companies to being committed to retaining employees through career advancement programs and keeping people "on the bench" between contracts. If you are looking for a place to put down some roots and make a career, this is it.

    Cons

    Overall communication can be improved. They do have a Section Manager structure for the "care and feeding" of employees that does pretty well in communicating out to the employees, but there is always room for improvement.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Worth Staying

    Oct 9, 2019 - Systems Engineer in Linthicum Heights, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exceptional is a company that cares for the people. Not as employees but as family. Even when a contract ends, ESS works diligently to find another position to fit your skill set no matter how long it takes. I never fear sitting on the bench because I know eventually a job will come through. ESS takes care of their family.

    Cons

    So many exciting projects going on, I can't work them all!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Do Not Apply Here!

    Mar 18, 2020 - Software Developer in Fort George G Meade, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are really not any pros at this company. Most everything is a false promise.

    Cons

    Between the CEO, CFO, and BD staff you will get nothing but lies. Jonathan and Paul will screw you out of a paycheck. They do not pay on time or pay for travel on time.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Family oriented organization focused on growth and employee advancement

    May 30, 2017 - Software Engineer in Linthicum, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Focused on the employee, and provides multiple opportunities to advance through their online learning and reimbursement programs. ESS is a family environment that truly looks out for the interest of their employees. Benefits are great, and they have an open door policy that starts with the owner of the company. Many additional benefits include clothing allowance, gym reimbursement and paid children savings bonds. Employees are knowledgeable, experienced, and always willing to collectively resolve issues.

    Cons

    Communication can be delayed when decisions come down from management. This has been improving, and it can be a challenge with employees in several locations to know the state of the company. While the company continues to grow in contracts/work, there is a shortage in the skilled workforce and that can leave positions unfilled.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

Popular Careers with Exceptional Software Strategies Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Exceptional Software Strategies? Share Your Experiences

or

Exceptional Software Strategies Photos

+ Add Photo
Exceptional Software Strategies photo of: ESS Headquarters
Exceptional Software Strategies photo of: Monthly Birthday Celebrations!
Exceptional Software Strategies photo of: Potlucks!!
Exceptional Software Strategies photo of: Lots of Potlucks
Exceptional Software Strategies photo of: Annual Walk MS
Exceptional Software Strategies photo of: Annual Adopt A Family Program
Exceptional Software Strategies photo of: Annual Food Drive
See All Photos