Exel Transportation Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Exel Transportation Services Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Exel Transportation Services CEO John Gilbert
John Gilbert
6 Ratings
  1. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Mount Vernon, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exel Transportation Services for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment and gets Work done

    Cons

    It ia a good work environment

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Exel Transportation Services2017-10-25
  2. "Forklift Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Forklift Operator in Cape Girardeau, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exel Transportation Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of work and working at the P & G Manufacturing Plant outside of Cape Girardeau, MO. was one heck of a challenge and an experience. The plant was 5 million square feet in size and was the biggest warehouse I've ever drove at and almost the biggest I've seen.

    Cons

    At first I thought I'll never figure it out and not get lost. But after a while it was just a BIG rectangle. Quite challenging and fast-paced operation.

    Advice to Management

    Hire me back

    Exel Transportation Services2017-12-05
  3. "Friendly atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Exel Transportation Services

    Pros

    Friendly Fair Decent pay Training Advancement Training was always frequent and they provided lunch. Everyone was friendly and there wasn't really office drama.

    Cons

    Some long hours for those in the warehouse Locations are dependent on customers housing their materials there.

    Advice to Management

    Communication is key! Happy employees = happy management. Exel was great to me. Towards the end when the location was shut down, I would have appreciated more communication as to when my position was ending.

    Exel Transportation Services2016-11-03
  4. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Certified Forklift Operator in East Point, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exel Transportation Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company, great pay, looking for more good workers and they appreciate the good workers

    Cons

    Working extensive hours so you really don't have time to take care of business or personally idea outside of work

    Advice to Management

    The workers ate people too, not robots or pieces of machinery, life happens so everyone deserves a chance

    Exel Transportation Services2016-06-15
  5. "Love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operation Supervisor in Streetsboro, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exel Transportation Services for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, good people, good management and a better company. I love working here. Department heads are very helpful and willing to do the dirty work

    Cons

    None. You work on strategic plans daily and have a great team to bounce ideas off of

    Exel Transportation Services2016-03-31
  6. "Nice place to work. Lots of over time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forklift Operator in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Exel Transportation Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you put in the hours the pay is good with over time, plus good benefit package, in addition they are fair in their treatment of the employees.

    Cons

    Work and life balance is heavily tilted to work. In the busy seasons there will be a mandatory 7 days 10 hours a day.

    Advice to Management

    If you have a better base pay and give your employees a better work / life balance you would attract and retain quality workers.

    Exel Transportation Services2016-03-22
  7. "Job description"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fork Lift Operator in Portage, IN

    I have been working at Exel Transportation Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good hours no weekends and over time

    Cons

    Not enough pay and no opportunity for growth

    Advice to Management

    Treat workers better and promote healthy work atmosphere

    Exel Transportation Services2016-03-16
  8. "Operation Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Operations Manager in Sylvester, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Exel Transportation Services for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good benefits .good 401k retirement

    Cons

    poor communication. work a lots hrs 65 -70 hrs a week

    Advice to Management

    communication is the key to success.

    Exel Transportation Services2016-03-13
  9. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Memphis, TN

    I worked at Exel Transportation Services for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits. Great corporate infrastructure. Upper management was typically very good at selecting local warehouse management, which is key for the 3PL industry.

    Cons

    Small IT project implementation could be slow at times, but due to the number of startups that took priority, this would be lower priorities.

    Exel Transportation Services2016-01-13
  10. "Labor share opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Inventory Analyst/Supervisor in McDonough, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exel Transportation Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company utilizes labor share which not only helps the company but also allows opportunities for the associates.

    Cons

    Job postings are not easily accessible to all associates this may be due to not having an onsite HR rep at our site.

    Advice to Management

    Every site should have an onsite Rep

    Exel Transportation Services2015-11-15
Found 23 reviews