Exelis "good pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Exelis Employee Reviews about "good pay"

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Exelis President & CEO David F. Melcher
David F. Melcher
199 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good benefits, work life balance was good untIl schedule changed to 6 days a week(in 29 reviews)

  • "Company Events, Smart & Friendly People, Good Benefits(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Difficult to move up - upper management is aloof(in 37 reviews)

  • "Company was sold to Harris Corp(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good company, gone now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Clifton, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Exelis full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people, dedicated to producing superior products. Flexible working conditions, good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Bought by Harris. Still a good company but not Exelis any more. Any negative ratings below simply reflect the fact that the company doesn't exist any more.

    Advice to Management

    Enjoy the $35 Million Dave.

    Exelis2015-10-17
  2. "Slow and Steady"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Buyer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits package

    Cons

    Job Security, a lot of "right sizing" ahead of the merger with Harris.

    Exelis2019-06-17
  3. "UUV OPERATOR SAN DIEGO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Exelis

    Pros

    Great atmosphere. Good pay.

    Cons

    Chaos and not being paid for hours earned. I was not being paid for hours I worked. We were made to log our hours but they were always the same and there was no OT. There were times were were on the water for 8+ hours plus UUV prep, washdown, download and charge.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to your employees. I know your are making money hand over fist but ensure you are paying people and listening to their concerns.

    Exelis2017-02-24
  4. "Training manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelis

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, work life balance was good untIl schedule changed to 6 days a week

    Cons

    Job was overseas and its hard being so far away from family

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.l, but rethink the 6 days a week

    Exelis2016-05-27
  5. "pissed Ex Employee because the whole ordeal was nothing but lies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Security Investigator in Lexington, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Exelis for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits, some good people, great vacation schedule for working overseas, great vacation pay to help with expenses while on vacation.

    Cons

    Don't trust Human Resources, they will lie to you to save themselves

    Advice to Management

    Don't trust and believe everything someone tells you conduct your on independent investigation. Do not be afraid to tell the US Military to backoff until you have completed your own unbiased investigation unless they are willing to give you a get out of jail free card and will take on financial liability ( law suits, slander, defamation of character) these kind of things And I am speaking from personal experience with this company believe in your own company Culture and Values and be prepared to stand behind them

    Show More
    Exelis2016-02-05
  6. "No Growth unless they love you and your the right color."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelis

    Pros

    Great Benefits, time off and vacation. Decent Insurance and good pay. There are other companies that pay more and give you bonus and per diem, where as Exelis does not.

    Cons

    Promotion is based on who you know and not your talents. I remember someone coming to work at the Cyber center in Kuwait, who quit their job at Kmart because they knew someone. Another person was a dump truck operator and working in Kuwait as a Network Analyst. If your not the right color you maybe put on 3rd shift whey they don't have to deal with you.

    Advice to Management

    - get rid of the "good ole boy "hiring practice - quit keeping people just because you need to fill a chair for the contract

    Exelis2015-12-28
  7. "Nice work if you can get it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelis

    Pros

    Good pay. Ok benefits. Room to advance.

    Cons

    High stress. No room for error.

    Advice to Management

    Don't sell to Harris.

    Exelis2015-10-13
  8. "Sr. Mechanical Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Mechanical Engineer in Roanoke, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Exelis

    Pros

    Benefits. Co-workers (non-management). Good pay.

    Cons

    Management was very selective with their favorites. Favoritism was based upon who will work extra hours for free, those with no family life. Life/Work balance was not greatly supported.

    Advice to Management

    Evaluate beyond your favorites. There are good workers that deserve opportunity that can be achieved in a 40-45 hour work week.

    Exelis2015-06-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Never Again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay, Benefits lacking, Time off (If they allow you to take it) decent

    Cons

    Management from Middle to corporate will NOT stand behind their engineers. Management will take credit for accomplishments and hang you out to dry when THEIR plan fails.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to those who are doing the impossible and give them credit for all the work they accomplish. Stand behind the employees. DO NOT allow politics to determine careers.

    Exelis2014-09-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Falling Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exelis

    Pros

    Excelis (formally ITT) provided good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Poor corporate planing with plant closings

    Advice to Management

    Too late now. Excelis is headed towards extinction

    Exelis2014-04-08
Found 29 reviews