Exelis "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Exelis Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 21, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Exelis President & CEO David F. Melcher
David F. Melcher
199 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, good benefits, work life balance was good untIl schedule changed to 6 days a week(in 29 reviews)

  • "Company Events, Smart & Friendly People, Good Benefits(in 26 reviews)

Cons
  • "Difficult to move up - upper management is aloof(in 37 reviews)

  • "Company was sold to Harris Corp(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great people, lofty goals."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in Herndon, VA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people working there. Good benefits, and good opportunity to contribute. Most people are eager to help each other in any way they can.

    Cons

    Not enough systems development. Upper management not in tune with the current operating environment. Too much management by spreadsheet as opposed to actual leadership.

    Continue reading
    Exelis2014-09-04
  2. "Separation Pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelis full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Well paid for defense engineering

    Cons

    Only way to land an upper management job is to be ex-military, and most of the management team in Advanced Information Systems are not leaders. Coming out of the recession we needed good change management skills, and no one in AIS had that skill set.

    Continue reading
    Exelis2016-02-03
  3. "Think long and hard before working for a bully!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Finance/Accounting in Boulder, CO
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Exelis for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great 401(k) with other benefits that are decent. However, HQ has screwed with the benefits to where employees are charged more for less, and have to pay 401(k) monthly fees. My peers were absolutely awesome, I couldn’t have asked for a better team!

    Cons

    About eight months ago I realized I reported to an insecure, high-school bully. I believe the insecurity was driven by not knowing how to fulfill their position well, and not being able to communicate with HQ to figure out their priority on reports/tasks. However, upper management doesn’t want to see this issue, or deal with this bully, therefore they continue to have a revolving door in the department. Before I left, HQ was starting to implement an Emotional Intelligence training for management. This could force these bullies out of a management position if HQ will follow through with this implementation. Also, Harris Corp just purchased Exelis and have already reduced the incompetency headcount be several people – ones that Exelis should have removed, or rather, should not have even hired and/or promoted. I would think for a long time before accepting a position with VIS currently. My suggestion would be to give Harris some time to get out to VIS, clean up the incompetency, and get rid of the bully(ies), before accepting a position.

    Continue reading
    Exelis2015-06-03
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Supervisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Exelis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good training for better companies, lots of exposure, decent opportunity to grow within the company with hard work

    Cons

    Horrible upper management, incredibly under paid, lack of resources, overall immature company in terms of making appropriate business decisions, mandatory overtime every week on almost every program.

    Continue reading
    Exelis2015-05-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Unfair Termination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Engineer in Bohemia, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The coffee is free but the milk is for the coffee only. You get promise things to make you feel good and then they never happen. You get promised to be hired six months after you start For two and half years as a temp still and get terminated

    Cons

    Management upper and lower are a bunch of brown nosers. Some upper management needs to be let go.

    Continue reading
    Exelis2015-05-18
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Pockets of greatness, overall disjointed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exelis

    Pros

    Good corporate atmosphere. Pay is decent.

    Cons

    Difficult to move up - upper management is aloof.

    Continue reading
    Exelis2015-03-18
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Steer clear of this place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Exelis

    Pros

    Good people who want to do good work. Location.

    Cons

    Management is scared of their own shadows and are woefully under-trained, the sure sign of weak HR and poor upper-management. The engineering group pays lip service to Agile and Scrum, but practice command and control management. You do what they say, when they say it and you do everything their way. No creativity or innovation allowed. Under pain of termination. The developer ranks have been decimated by layoffs, firings, and resignations. This place will be a nonfactor in the geospatial world inside of 3 years.

    Continue reading
    Exelis2015-03-12
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Annapolis Junction, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a few good people. They cater breakfast once a month (used to be every Friday),

    Cons

    Most of the employees there are very curmudgeon... They don't enjoy going to work every day and it reflects poorly on the overall atmosphere. Some of the offices are very set in their ways (Annapolis Junction cough cough).. Some of them can be very unfriendly to new employees coming in the door and can make it extremely uncomfortable for anyone. I would compare it to High school drama or Mean Girls if anyone has seen it (there are about 4-5 in the office who make life miserable for everyone if you're not liked by them). Led by HR (which is the most unprofessional out of the entire bunch), they gossip about current and past employees which can make the atmosphere unpleasant for anyone. They are in tight with upper management and seem virtually untouchable, considering everything unprofessional they have done is known fact and yet they all still have a job...............

    Continue reading
    Exelis2015-01-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Difficult place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exelis

    Pros

    The best part of working for Exelis is that the mission of protecting our country MATTERS. There are a lot of smart people who work here, and it is great to work with many bright, hard-working, retired military who add their valuable skills to the company.

    Cons

    Tremendous amount of cronyism. Ineffective people continue to work here because of who they know. My experience has been that despite what upper management encourages, no one should expect to bring fresh ideas that middle management will actually implement. Pretty much you're expected to do what you're told without question. Also, very little useful training. It doesn't help to have training programs in place, but people teaching who can't communicate the concepts. Finally, the compensation is among the lowest in Colorado Springs for government work.

    Continue reading
    Exelis2015-02-27
  10. "Work experience was good in the beginning, but projects and funding have been cut and work is getting stale."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelis full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Most of the people are good people to work with and are helpful. Vacation policy is great! It's one of the few reasons that keep me here.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is not good. Upper management does a poor job managing time and set unrealistic deadlines. Many times we have to work weekends and holidays (esp. around Christmas and New Years). HR is incompetent and needs to go. They can't answer any simple or complex questions.

    Continue reading
    Exelis2015-02-06
Found 37 reviews