Exelon Reviews in Oswego, NY | Glassdoor

Exelon Oswego Reviews

Updated August 30, 2017
8 reviews

Filter

Filter

Oswego, NY

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Exelon President & CEO Christopher M. Crane
Christopher M. Crane
2 Ratings

8 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work load and hours can be very demanding at times but there are opportunities for work life balance (in 57 reviews)

  • Expect occasional long hours and a collateral duty emergency response role (in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "systems engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Oswego, NY
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Oswego, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    money ,security, good people to work with

    Cons

    lack of real engineering work

    Exelon Response

    Mar 29, 2017 – Sr. Recruiting Programs Specialist

    Thank you for posting a review of your experience at Exelon. We are always looking for innovative new solutions to support the work that we do and would encourage you to work with your management... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Buttom line is all about Exelon's Profit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reactor Operator in Oswego, NY
    Current Employee - Reactor Operator in Oswego, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Pays well, benifits are avg. Discount on exelon Stock. If you want money they pay big for SRO positions (with bonus 170-200k per year)

    Cons

    They demand that their employees to support the company. They want work done, it will happen at the cost of your family, friends, life style. They will change your work-life to only benifit their business model. No doubt that is one of the main reason most of the site has been through a divorce(Or many). They have the reputation in the industry of being the evil empire.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Exelon refers to engineers as free labor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Oswego, NY
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Oswego, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Engineering is the worst thing you could ever do to yourself at Exelon Nuclear. Stick with operations and your life will be much better.

    Cons

    Exelon expects senior level output from first year employees without any guidance from management or senior level workers. Its a "teach yourself" type of job. Additionally you will have no sense of self worth in Nuclear because its 90% administrative burden and about 10% engineering. Additionally you work on-call often and expected to work 80 plus hours a week during forced plant shutdowns or plant emergency with no additional pay.

    Advice to Management

    Stop using engineering as a dumping ground for non-engineering related work.

    Exelon Response

    Jul 26, 2017 – Talent Acquisition

    We take pride in our strategic performance development programs for our employees and it is deeply unfortunate that you had this experience. Our leaders are specifically trained to coach and support... More


  4. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reactor Operator in Oswego, NY
    Current Employee - Reactor Operator in Oswego, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good Benefits, upward mobility. Good salary. Long hours (Shift work). Lots of politics, but that is due to being nuclear.

    Cons

    In New York State. Can't stand the politics or the taxes. Don't go to Oswego NY unless you really like the cold and snow.

    Advice to Management

    Since the take over from Constellation, you guys have really improved the station. Keep up the good work.

    Exelon Response

    Jan 5, 2017 – Recruiting Programs Specialist

    Thank you for your post! We appreciate your kind words and value your feedback. Thanks again!


  5. "Safety Conscious Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Chemist in Oswego, NY
    Current Employee - Associate Chemist in Oswego, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Safety of employees is first and foremost. Great compensation. Good work/life balance. Continued training/improvement is very beneficial. Employees are recognized for hard work.

    Cons

    Closure of some nuclear plants in the US is a source of stress. Many people at the site I work at (Nine Mile Point) have worked here for a long time and can struggle explaining things to people who are new to the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Provide clear performance expectations upon hiring. Placing a greater emphasis on the mentoring program could help new hires transition into their positions quicker and more effectively.

    Exelon Response

    Apr 14, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

    Thank you for your comment! Safety is Exelon's top concern. We appreciate your feedback and advice. Thanks again!


  6. "Great work environment and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instrumentation and Controls/Nuclear in Oswego, NY
    Current Employee - Instrumentation and Controls/Nuclear in Oswego, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    This is one of the best companies I have ever worked for. Training has been some of the best I have ever received. I had benefits from day one. There is a lot of integrity among the workers.

    Cons

    There are many company procedures to familiarize.

    Exelon Response

    Sep 22, 2015 – Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you for your post! It's amazing to hear that Exelon is one of the best companies you have ever been employed with. We appreciate your feedback!


  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Equipment Operator in Oswego, NY
    Current Employee - Equipment Operator in Oswego, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits

    Significant advancement opportunities

    Positive Work environment

    Management for the most part is competent and very supportive of hard workers trying to advance their careers

    Cons

    Work life balance is not the best but that's the case any equipment operator position.

    Exelon Response

    Jun 5, 2015 – Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    We are very happy to hear that you find management supportive! Exelon values each and every employee. Thank you very much for your post!

  8. "position did not present any challanges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nuclear Security Officer in Oswego, NY
    Current Employee - Nuclear Security Officer in Oswego, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    pay, pay, pay, pay and pay

    Cons

    long hours, unsatisfying job, not mentally challanging

    Exelon Response

    Jun 17, 2014 – Sr Analyst, National and Strategic Programs

    Thank you very much for taking the time to provide this feedback. We greatly appreciate your input, and we would love to hear more about your experience. If you would be willing to provide any... More


Showing 8 of 513 reviews
Reset Filters