Exelon Reviews in Philadelphia, PA | Glassdoor

Exelon Philadelphia Reviews

Updated April 29, 2017
29 reviews

Filter

Filter

Philadelphia, PA Area

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Exelon President & CEO Christopher M. Crane
Christopher M. Crane
13 Ratings

29 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work load and hours can be very demanding at times but there are opportunities for work life balance (in 58 reviews)

  • Expect occasional long hours and a collateral duty emergency response role (in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to start your next career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Controls in Philadelphia, PA
    Current Employee - Senior Project Controls in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Exelon is a fortune 100 company offering an absolutely Awesome culture, best and most comprehensive benefits. I can honestly say I love my job, and our workgroup all the way from our VP down thru the Directors, Managers, Supervisor and our workgroup

    If you want a career where you are appreciated, valued and want to make a difference... Exelon is the place for you. My only regret is that I didn't' jump from my former employer and go to Exelon sooner!

    The workplace is great, fun people encouraging work life balance. Leadership not only listens to employees they actively solicited input, support creativity, nurture innovation, career development and advancement. Employees are easy to work with and very talented. Teamwork and collaboration drive our success. Everyone is passionate, down to earth

    Exelon is community focused, encourages and actively enables employees to give back to our communities and puts its money where it mouth is. As employees volunteer time and money Exelon gives additional bonuses to that company.

    Finally, the on-boarding is very comprehensive and implemented well! Everything from HR thru your new job duties, goals, roles, responsibilities, procedures, and work flow are documented, easy to follow and easy to find. Exelon has an awesome company and employee portal!

    Cons

    (While this may be a con for the employee... it is a big pro for our customers)
    Expect occasional long hours and an emergency response role. Work load and hours can be very demanding at times but there are opportunities for work life balance.

    We often have meetings and work thru lunch, however our management team appreciates our hard work and extra efforts by providing great meals

    I work in downtown Philadelphia. And I dreaded considering a long commute into the city. It was the primary reason I didn't consider an Exelon career sooner. Now that I have been working here for just under a year. I have come to appreciate the flexibility our management team provides. They offer state of the are video conferencing tools and are very understanding and supportive with flexible schedules and reporting locations.

    I can honestly say the pros far out weigh the cons!

    Advice to Management

    Continue the great work already being done. A sincere thank you to our leadership... I know you are listening. You many want to think about a program to encourage employees to help recruit other employees from their previous work life. It is easy to sell the benefits of working for Exelon and it might help spark additional innovation

    Exelon Response

    May 1, 2017 – Sr. Recruiting Programs Specialist

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and perspectives with the Glassdoor community! We are thrilled to hear about the great experiences you have already had and that you are... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Phila, PA
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great work/life balance! Benefit package is great! Ability to focus on and finish tasks with reasonable completion timelines and focus on becoming an "expert" in role.

    Cons

    So far I have not noticed any cons yet

    Exelon Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

    Thanks for your post! We appreciate your kind words and are thrilled you have no cons to mention. Thank you!

  3. Helpful (4)

    "I'm leaving for greener pastures"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Very accepting of the LGBTQ community
    Invests in new technology

    Cons

    Throws tons of money away on worthless software packages that everyone knew would be a money pit
    Spends billions buying another energy company and building a new building in Baltimore and then says they are too broke to give you a proper raise
    Worst HR department I have ever experienced in my life uninformed and unprofessional
    They act like they are the only game in town, but I have two interviews later this month with other Fortune 100 companies

    Advice to Management

    Invest in the people you pretend to care so much about and then you won't have to wonder why we are leaving. It's unacceptable to pay the CEO millions and millions and waste money by the hundreds of thousands of dollars and then say you are too broke to pay your employees fairly. Stop acting like we are possessions and not employees.

    Exelon Response

    Nov 29, 2016 – Recruiting Programs Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your honest feedback. If you would like to provide additional information about your experiences at Exelon, please email... More


  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phila, PA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Amazingly friendly colleagues who all genuinely enjoy the work that they do for the company

    Cons

    None observed so far here.

    Exelon Response

    Aug 11, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

    Thank you for your review! It's great to hear how you feel about your colleagues. Thanks again!


  5. "New employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Philadelphia, PA
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time

    Pros

    They are about making decisions and not going through paralysis by analysis.

    Cons

    Need a better onboarding system. They need to create an all inclusive line by line single checklist to cover all benefits, my development, Etalent, PIP, health rewards etc. No info given on how, when and where this info is and how to complete. Also don't understand why salaried employees enter daily work hours. Have never worked anywhere that this was done

    Advice to Management

    See Cons section. Recommend that each checklist item that needs to be complete have a working link to take you to the appropriate page to complete.

    Exelon Response

    Jul 12, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

    Thanks for your review! We appreciate your mention of onboarding and are aware that we need to make some changes! Exelon has assembled an onboarding team for this very task and are working hard to... More


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Slow-moving company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Business Analyst in Philadelphia, PA
    Former Employee - IT Business Analyst in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Repetitive daily tasks if you do not like changes or challenges
    Low pressure at work
    Great place for people who are looking for retirement.

    Cons

    The relatively high review scores and extremely good reviews on glassdoor.com were most likely caused by some internal HR campaign. these are not reflecting what the real company is.

    The HR policy and the company culture make promotions are extremely difficult.

    Work life balance is difficult. You were required to work overtime without getting paid.

    Managers are out of reach and do not know what the daily operations are, only showing up in office once every two weeks.

    Technology used is very old and out of dated.

    Benefits are not great for new employees.

    The company asks employees to donate a lot of money to local charity every year, which is supposed to be a good thing. But the company does not match employees' donation, and the percentage of each department's donation becomes a KPI for managers, so every employee got pressure from managers to donate no matter what. Ethical?


  7. Helpful (9)

    "Workplace discrimination against Asians/Indians"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Philadelphia, PA
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    Pros

    Great benefits package and off-site cooperate training opportunities

    Cons

    Communication from management is minimal at best, the delegation and follow-through of projects lack focus and organization. Complaints and obvious problems are ignored creating low morale and the loss of good employees to other groups or new companies. The company comes up short with minority employee numbers, while the mass majority remains of the Caucasian race. As an Asian/Indian the discrimination has been shown through being passed over for promotions and positions to less experienced and educated colleagues... It is an obvious perception at my workplace that the Indian in the room is really smart, is a very hard worker - BUT, is probably a better sort of technical or behind-the-scenes thinker and not leader. When approaching management of these issues, the fact that I have an accent is given as their reasoning...because, obviously having an accent would effect my social skills or elevated technical skills developed through past experience and a Masters Degree earned at a highly esteemed American University!?!?!?

    Advice to Management

    Manage your groups, don't just loosely delegate projects. Follow through on employee reviews, and promote achievements. Don't hide behind the four walls and closed door surrounding your office. Try passing off some of the more technically difficult projects to the over-paid/over-appreciated yet under-educated/experienced "American" and see just how that works out for you.

    Exelon Response

    May 4, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to creating a respectful and inclusive workplace where every employee has the opportunity to grow and contribute at her or his... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best and most exciting employers I ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Utility Technician in Pottstown, PA
    Current Employee - Utility Technician in Pottstown, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Diversity in qualified people, team work, regulatory compliance beyond other industries, perks, great cafeteria and gym onsite, exposure to the best people in their respective fields from all walks of life and all over the world. No cut corners. World leader in the industry. Always proud to say I work for Exelon

    Cons

    Nepotism and favoritism still exists. No program to utilize talented people who for one reason or another can no longer perform tasks of original position. As a world leader in the nuclear industry there is plenty lacking in getting those on LTD and the like retrained and retained. Many like me would love to still be productive and learn new skills versus becoming a number of the undesirables and the forgotten

    Advice to Management

    Establish a program to utilize your most important capital in new ways, i.e. Loyal employees who have given all for the company. We are more than numbers and have plenty to give back to one of the best employers out there. One should never have to resign to apply and be considered for new position in company.

    Exelon Response

    Jan 11, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

    Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comment! Your review was very insightful and we greatly appreciate your kind words and feedback. Thanks again!


  9. "Senior Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Philadelphia, PA
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great Pay and Benefits, also the location in Philadelphia was very easy to commute to via train.

    Cons

    Too much office politics. Very little chance for promotion.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on employee engagement. Staff often had great ideas which were brushed aside by upper management.

    Exelon Response

    Jan 25, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We value your feedback and are happy to hear you had a nice commute. Thanks again!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "IT Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Wilmington, DE
    Current Employee - IT Project Manager in Wilmington, DE

    I have been working at Exelon (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Employees are empowered to manage projects with minimal micro managing

    Cons

    Don't really know as a contractor

    Exelon Response

    Dec 28, 2015 – Talent Acquisition Programs Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We appreciate your input and value your feedback. Thanks again!


Showing 29 of 509 reviews
Reset Filters