Exelon Reviews | Glassdoor

Exelon Reviews

Updated May 25, 2017
420 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

420 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Work load and hours can be very demanding at times but there are opportunities for work life balance (in 57 reviews)

  • Expect occasional long hours and an emergency response role (in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    - Dynamic work environment
    - Challenging work assignments
    - Travel opportunities
    - Mentor opportunities
    - Benefits package
    - Job postings across multiple OpCos in multiple cities

    Cons

    - Rapid pace of change due to utility alignment efforts

    Exelon Response

    Apr 6, 2017 – Sr. Recruiting Programs Specialist

    Thank you for your comment! We take pride in offering our employees career growth opportunities across the entire corporation so they can have a career that meets their needs!


  2. "Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The company pays very well and people are given chances to work in different areas of the company.

    Cons

    Everyone works very hard at there job.

    Advice to Management

    Management need to fill the openings faster.

    Exelon Response

    Apr 14, 2017 – Sr. Recruiting Programs Specialist

    Thank you for posting a review of your experience at Exelon. Our Talent Acquisition Teams are always working to streamline the hiring process and bring in the best talent in the industry as we know ... More


  3. "Racial discrimination"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits

    Cons

    Widespread practice of racial discrimination when I was there. Highly qualified minorities are not promoted to management positions. The company tries to get around this by promoting white females in order to tout its diversity. If you are Asian or African American it's going to be hard for you to get a management role.

    Advice to Management

    Clean up your act. There have been a number of racial discrimination suits against Exelon in the past and I almost filed one myself.

    Exelon Response

    May 8, 2017 – Sr. Recruiting Programs Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We take issues of diversity and inclusion very seriously and strongly encourage you to email CorporateTalentAcquisition@exeloncorp.com with ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "systems engineer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Oswego, NY
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Oswego, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    money ,security, good people to work with

    Cons

    lack of real engineering work

    Exelon Response

    Mar 29, 2017 – Sr. Recruiting Programs Specialist

    Thank you for posting a review of your experience at Exelon. We are always looking for innovative new solutions to support the work that we do and would encourage you to work with your management ... More


  6. "Good company...needs improvement"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Administrative Coordinator in Louisville, KY
    Former Employee - Executive Administrative Coordinator in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    There is a great opportunity to learn a lot. Things are constantly changing.

    Cons

    Not a lot of diversity in Leadership or management roles

    Exelon Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Recruiting Programs Specialist

    Thanks for your comment! We appreciate your feedback and value your insight.


  7. "Great Job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nuclear Security Officer in California, MD
    Current Employee - Nuclear Security Officer in California, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Salary,Benefits,Professionalism Exelon is a top notch company to have the chance to work for. The people in the Security organization at Calvert are great and professional.

    Cons

    There is nothing I can say that is a con for Exelon. I enjoy going to work everyday. My organization strives for excellence.

    Exelon Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Recruiting Programs Specialist

    Thanks for your comment! We appreciate your feedback and enthusiasm about your role and the company - Thanks again!


  8. "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Radiation Protection in Clinton, IL
    Current Employee - Radiation Protection in Clinton, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time

    Pros

    Great people, best plant in the fleet, industry leader in all aspects. Plant leads nation in dose, contamination events, and outage duration.

    Cons

    Plant is located in a small town, but the town has more things to do when compared to other plants.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing; people are happy with the plants long term outlook. Hiring new staff is important to continued plant performance.

    Exelon Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Recruiting Programs Specialist

    Thank you for your comment! We appreciate you feedback and willingness to share your experience with others!


  9. "Excellent Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This is an excellent company to work for

    Cons

    At the time I was a temp and there were no full time potions available at that time in my field.

    Exelon Response

    Mar 13, 2017 – Recruiting Programs Specialist

    Thank you for your comment! We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and insight!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Exelon Hates Women"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Exelon full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    the catered lunches can be really good, which helps, considering women in the company have to watch every penny

    Cons

    Women make a lot less than men. The company throws around a lot of smoke and mirrors and claim that women make 98% of what a man does, but it's not anywhere near the truth. Any woman down in the ranks can tell you they are doing a man's job for a lot less and still being treated like an admin. The company talks about how much money it saves by cutting back on various expenditures, but they are saving the most money by paying women less than a man. Parking in the new BHQ building is now up to over $200/month! Who can afford to pay that when are cost of living expenses aren't even enough for a tank of gas every month.

    Advice to Management

    Don't think that we don't notice and that there isn't a lot of dissention within the female ranks. Start paying attention to us or we're only going to start getting louder. Stop paying the (male) CEO millions and millions per year while we women are trying to raise kids or just live. We're spreading the word that Exelon isn't the place to be for women. Don't think we are buying into the lie that we are making anywhere near what a man makes. We talk about salaries and we know the real deal. Stop trying to just look good from a PR angle as it's not working. Show us real respect and not lip service.

    Exelon Response

    Mar 29, 2017 – Sr. Recruiting Programs Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We take issues of diversity and inclusion very seriously and strongly encourage you to email CorporateTalentAcquisition@exeloncorp.com with ... More


  11. "Great Place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Exelon full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good pay and good benefits

    Cons

    Culture was a bit competitive

    Advice to Management

    none

    Exelon Response

    Jan 30, 2017 – Recruiting Programs Specialist

    Thank you for your post! We value your opinion and appreciate your feedback. Thanks again!


Showing 420 of 486 reviews
Reset Filters