Expedia Group Program Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Expedia Group Program Manager Reviews

Updated 24 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Expedia Group CEO Mark Okerstrom
Mark Okerstrom
8 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Compliance Program Manager 

    I worked at Expedia Group full-time

    Pros

    Travel Discounts on Hotels all over the world

    Cons

    Work life balance needs to improve

    Expedia Group2019-07-09
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, great employees, great culture

    Cons

    Middle level leaders (directors) are not qualified and does not have vision or know how to define vision for many departments.

    Advice to Management

    Review director levels

    Expedia Group2019-08-16
  3. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Program Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Get back time in your personal life for less salary than the other top tier employers in the Puget Sound region

    Cons

    Equity sharing is not on par with the local market for a lot of the staff employed here

    Advice to Management

    Give equity to everyone to make them feel invested and rewarded for company performance

    Expedia Group2018-11-16
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Company in Transition; Things change but stay the same"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company continues to transform and implement change Some really sharp coworkers Solid work life balance Competitive Salaries

    Cons

    Some changes are unshepherded and really need to be Company is not exactly nimble Still has a bit of an identity crisis, tech company or travel company?

    Advice to Management

    We look to you to define who we are, pick an identity and stick with it. Maybe the name change will help. Change the culture of brand competition, it's not bringing us together, we just end up with redundant tools.

    Expedia Group2018-03-27
  5. "Senior technical program manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Program Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Expedia is good and good work life balance, lot of learning opportunity

    Cons

    Global team is difficult to manage, I think rest everything is good

    Expedia Group2017-12-23
  6. "Friendly environment, but a bit undisciplined"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Program Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Expedia Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Compared to Amazon or Microsoft, Expedia is much less stressful and intra-competitive. It's a people-oriented culture.

    Cons

    Expedia lacks the execution discipline of Amazon and Microsoft. I witnessed some spectacular failures that would not happen in well-run organizations.

    Advice to Management

    Some of the leadership has changed, which is good, but there really needs to be a culture of accountability. People seem to be OK with making mistakes or letting bad things happen.

    Expedia Group2016-12-30
  7. "Dont just leave , run away as fast as you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Program Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Expedia Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Travel benefits Slacking is encouraged,so that way great work life balance, if you know how to play

    Cons

    rampant cronyism poor growth opportunities low pay

    Expedia Group2017-01-18
  8. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Program Manager II in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Incredible work/life balance - People are fun

    Cons

    - Standards for quality of work need to improve (i.e. bar is too low)

    Expedia Group2016-12-14
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Technical Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager II in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Good team Good salary

    Cons

    Nepotism to advance (family or friends or favoritism of the ladies) Lack of Transparency at the top. Do as I say, not as I do. Corporate speak of inclusion but reality not

    Advice to Management

    Allow teams to really contribute and not just say you do to meet goals. Advance people based upon achievement and not friendships and backroom deals.

    Expedia Group2016-11-23
  10. "Excellent Company & Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Program Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Expedia Group

    Pros

    - Above industry average compensation & benefits - Mature management that believes in enabling & empowering employees - Commitment to organizational & technical excellence, and budgets to back it up - Understands & encourages work/life balance

    Cons

    - Not much negative to report. There are some issues that go along with a large company/many teams, such with one team not knowing what the other is doing or communications breakdown for cross-functional projects. - There is a fair amount of bureaucracy around gaining access to all the necessary systems & tools, it would be helpful to have that process unified & streamlined.

    Advice to Management

    Kudos on the transparency to the ground troupes on company status & direction, keep up the good work!

    Expedia Group2016-09-13

    Expedia Group Response

    October 19, 2016Manager, Talent Acquisition

    So glad to hear that you are enjoying Life at Expedia!

Found 74 reviews