Expedia Group Program Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Expedia Group Program Manager Reviews

Updated 24 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Expedia Group CEO Mark Okerstrom
Mark Okerstrom
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Enjoy working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Program Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance. Great company for learning and growing. Very knowledgeable technical team. Fun events and great events. Great benefits. Some technical leadership that are talented and ambitious.

    Cons

    Manager quality varies greatly. Not an industry leader in technology because product org has all the power. Test and learn philosophy infringes on quality. Hard to want to stay when HR pay scale limits career advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Some managers are very poor. Some are rock stars. Some, even some that have been at the company for years, continue to be bad at being a manager.

    Expedia Group2016-07-11
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Working at Expedia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Expedia Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with across the organizations and brands. Career opportunities abound, so great to network inside, once inside. Compensation and benefits are great. Employee engagement with events is awesome.

    Cons

    Commute depending on where you live and having to pay for parking. Too fast paced at time and opportunities are missed or overlooked. More reactive than proactive at times.

    Expedia Group2016-06-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A lot of potential."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice, smart engaged people. Everyone genuinely wants to do the right thing.

    Cons

    Tech debt lengthens the runway on some things that should be easy. Hard to change the culture of well fix it later.

    Advice to Management

    Change is hard, reassure people that they have value. Make your plans and vision known so we can get behind it.

    Expedia Group2016-05-09
  4. "Good & Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in Shoreline, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Expedia Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Loved working there, people are great, the product is great.

    Cons

    3 complete turnover of leadership in the 5 years I worked there.

    Expedia Group2016-05-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not a Pleasant Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Program Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Expedia Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Coffee shop in the lobby

    Cons

    The client was in another state and provided little to no guidance. Like a popular online retailer, it depends on the team when it comes to satisfaction. The team I worked with appeared to be of the variety who started at an entry level then moved up. The issue in this scenario is they had amassed a great deal of tribal knowledge yet are unwilling to share as that would compromise their position on the team. I also... noticed a very..VERY lax and unprofessional dress code.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Break up the fiefdoms and foster an environment of open, honest communication as opposed to working in cliques and engaging in gossip.

    Expedia Group2016-04-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good tech company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Principal Program Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Expedia Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Tech drives travel business. Strong customer orientation.

    Cons

    Avoid Agent Tools division; the rest of Expedia is fine.

    Expedia Group2016-03-02
  7. "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Program Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Expedia Group

    Pros

    Great culture, awesome people, terrific vision!

    Cons

    Commute is hard, can't wait til they move to Seattle!

    Expedia Group2015-12-01
  8. "Sr Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Program Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, many of them are former Microsoft employees which bring a lot of great attitude and culture to the entering working environment. People help each others. Managers care employees. Very good company.

    Cons

    Sometimes too many meetings but depends on team and situation.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what're you doing.

    Expedia Group2015-05-22
  9. "Love the company, its culture and its growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    i'm very happy to be with Expedia. The role and responsibilities I take on every day is very challenging and very rewarding. It's my choice where I want to go in the company. Lots of opportunities as there's many Expedia brands to choose from: Hotwire, Car rentals.com and more

    Cons

    Not sure if this is a con but to succeed in this company and likely others you must be able to get along with your peers, have great communication skills, and be able to multitask.

    Expedia Group2015-01-25
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Really nice people, messed up management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone I've met here is sincerely nice. They help one another instead of throwing them under buses. I've not heard people complain about one another behind each other's backs either, even people who have been let go. The bar is set realistically on performance. You can choose to bust your bottom for a promo and be rewarded, or you can put in moderate effort and still get by OK. Projects are not thrust upon you,... you are allowed to push back and have some autonomy. They are dedicated to charity in a very deep way. It's really impressive how much time and energy is devoted to non profit and charity events.

    Show More

    Cons

    They haven't really decided if they are a tech company or a travel company. Hence, tech people may not be used to the politics of cross-brand initiatives. They are NOT customer centric in the least. Nor are they developer centric. They seem to be lost in the weeds, but have been addressing this lately with the ouster of the previous CTO. They seem to want to be more customer centric, and Dara proclaimed that Expedia... is a travel company at the last all hands, so I guess that's the goal.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to be less top-down and homogenous white male. You have a lot of valuable women in this organization that are being passed over time and time again in favor of promoting white middle aged heterosexual Christian males. It's tired. Get over the frat house sausage fest.

    Expedia Group2014-11-06
Found 74 reviews