Expedia Group Software Development Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Expedia Group Software Development Engineer () Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Expedia Group CEO Mark Okerstrom
Mark Okerstrom
27 Ratings
  1. "Relaxed work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    relaxed work environment, culture, tech office vibe

    Cons

    travel benefits could be better, but still better than most companies

    Expedia Group2019-08-15
  2. "Nice Mid-size company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer In Test in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends

    I worked at Expedia Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for. Have a work-life balance and good commuter / gym benefits. Also Health insurance is at par or better than other companies.Good time Off policy .

    Cons

    Need for upper management to improve on their vision.

    Expedia Group2019-09-11
  3. "Reward for tenure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Good work life balance -Opportunities everywhere to make small impact -Good Benefits

    Cons

    -little big to make big impact -influencing so many teams is a challenge, if you could do it you will be in the top -Senior is like a plateau after which you should fight for good opportunities and network to be become principal (most cream projects are filtered at Head quarters). You can't excel in what you do and become a Principal

    Expedia Group2019-06-13
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Average place for engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Expedia Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance and easy work

    Cons

    Below average pay Sub-par tech Average coworkers and management No clear path to promotion Not a good place to learn

    Advice to Management

    Improve compensation and career growth. Need more technical strong people in management. Don’t over statff and underpay. Move to better teach stack in all the orgs.

    Expedia Group2019-04-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Average place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Software Development Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Expedia Group full-time

    Pros

    Great compensation and benefits are given.

    Cons

    Very fast paced culture with bad middle managers.

    Expedia Group2019-04-04
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Working hard doesn't pay off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Development Engineer in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * large scope for projects

    Cons

    * low total compensation relative to companies in the area * managers are hesitant to let go of the low performers

    Advice to Management

    Recognize the high performers, not just with lip service, but with compensation. You are losing some of your best and brightest to the competition and refilling the ranks with junior engineers who have not learned the fundamentals to good large scale architecture.

    Expedia Group2019-03-11
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn Great culture

    Cons

    Doesn't pay at top of market, but decently competitive

    Expedia Group2019-03-05
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Varies from team to team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer-II in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Expedia Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee, carrots, eggs, and soda

    Cons

    Very high pressure in some areas, management constantly shouting at engineers about everything in those instances. Newer developers with life ahead of them leaving left and right.

    Expedia Group2019-03-06
  9. Helpful (3)

    "SDE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Software Development Engineer in Bellevue, WA

    I worked at Expedia Group for more than a year

    Pros

    The work was not terribly demanding. E.g., they didn't even track performance metrics for any of the services I worked on. The office is comfortable with some decent perks.

    Cons

    Very political. I've seen projects that I would consider a failure, only to have the leader declare victory and sometimes even get a promotion. But if you're good at self-promotion, that shouldn't be a problem.

    Expedia Group2018-11-23
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Software Development Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer in Bellevue, WA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Expedia Group full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are competitive Some of the work is interesting (but you have to be "in" with management to get to work on it)

    Cons

    Don't go looking for professionalism here. This is one of the most dramatic work places I've ever worked in. Constantly walking around on eggshells. It was like being in High School. It felt like working in high school. People are always talking behind each other's backs, forming cliques, and even actually screaming at each other. This isn't even just personal stuff, but about work things too! ... Everything was an us vs them argument. The entire place is a hivemind that convinces you that the horrible culture is worth it. That going into work and planning on this person hating you today while you fix this thing and then by fixing it it'll make this person angry because you helped that person before you helped them is normal. I literally developed an anxiety disorder thanks to this job. This place is toxic. In the time I was there I saw everyone on my team leave, except 3 people who are officially just there to retire now. There's a reason their turnover is so high.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Radically change the culture. Hold managers to a higher standard, not a lower one. Employees may want video games in the break room in the short term, but in the long term they want to feel valued and safe in their workplace.

    Expedia Group2018-10-23
Found 151 reviews